Health Sciences Library Health Sciences Library MU Libraries University of Missouri-Columbia

Databases by Subject: Consumer Health

Academic OneFile Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Academic OneFile is a multidisciplinary database indexing over 13,000 titles. Full-text is available for over 5,000 titles. Access provided by MOREnet. MP3 audio versions of journal articles can be downloaded from the "Tools" box. Articles can also be translated into Arabic, Simplified Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, or Spanish. [more]
ClinicalTrials.gov

A Sponsored by NIH and the National Library of Medicine, this site allows patients and health care providers to search for clinical trials by name of trial location, disease or condition, age group and treatment. [more]
Ebsco Host Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Indexes about 2600 popular magazines, with complete text available for about 1/3 of the titles. Coverage for most magazines begins with 1993. Of particular interest is the inclusion of the complete text for over 600 consumer health pamplets. Provided courtesy of MORENET. [more]
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. [more]
Genetics home Reference: Your Guide to Understanding Genetic Conditions

The National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes responsible for those conditions [more]
Health & Wellness Resource Center with Alternative Health Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Health & Wellness Resource Center covers a full-range of health information, from specific technical topics to general interest subjects. It indexes journals, pamphlets and medical encyclopedias. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]
MedlinePlus

The premier consumer health gateway from the National Library Medicine. Contents include a medical encyclopedia, drug information and links to evaluated health information. [more]
Nursing Home Compare

Database to compare nursing homes. Also includes links to Guide to Choosing a Nursing Home and Nursing Home Checklist. [more]

Alternative Medicine

Anatomy

Anesthesiology

Biomedical Informatics

Biochemistry

Cardiology/Vascular Disease

Communicable Diseases

Communication Disorders

Consumer Health

Dermatology

Education, Medical

Emergency Medicine

Endocrinology

Epidemiology

Ethics, Medical

Evidence Based Medicine

Family Practice

Gastroenterology

Genetics

Gerontology

Gynecology/Obstetrics

Health Care Management

Hematology

History of Medicine

Medicine

Microbiology & Immunology

Nephrology/Urology

Neurosciences

Nursing

Occupational Therapy

Oncology

Ophthalmology

Orthopedics

Otolaryngology

Pathology

Pediatrics

Pharmacology

Pharmacy

Physical Therapy

Physiology

Psychiatry

Public Health

Pulmonary Disease

Radiology

Rheumatology

Surgery

Tests/Lab Diagnosis

Toxicology

Veterinary Medicine