Skip to main content
Navigation
Help
Summon@MU
Books
Journals
Databases
Libraries
Ellis Library
Engineering & Technology
Geological Sciences
Health Sciences
Journalism
Mathematical Sciences
Missourian Newspaper Library
University Archives
Veterinary Medical
MU Law Library
More...
Collections
MOspace: Institutional Repository
Digital Collections
Special Collections & Rare Books
Government Documents
State Historical Society
More...
Information for You
Undergraduates
Graduate Students
Faculty & Staff
Distance Learners
International Students
Alumni
Persons with Disabilities
Visiting Scholars
Visitors
More...
Homework & Research Help
Subject Guides
Course Guides
Research Assistance Program
Course Reserves (Print/ERes)
Classes & Tours
Request an Instruction Session
Tutorials & Videos
Writing & Citing
Writing Tutors
More...
Show Me How To
Find journal articles
Find books
Request books
Renew books
Find my ID #
Find citation guides
Find dissertations
Find DVDs
Avoid plagiarism
View library tutorials/videos
More...
Research Tools
LibX
EndNote
Zotero
Citation Builder
Research Guides
my Accounts
Renew a Book
Set up my Reading History
Reserve a Study Room
Track my ILL@MU requests
More...
MU Libraries
>
Search
> Resources by Type
Resources by Type: Books
Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the
icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
Daniel Boone Regional Library Catalog
Search library materials in the public libraries in Columbia, Fulton, and Ashland. Those with borrowers cards can place holds and renew material online.
Google Book Search
Google Books contains the full text of books and magazines provided by libraries and publishers. Materials that are out of copyright (generally pre-1925) can be viewed online. For more recent books, Google Book Search functions as a detailed index. Books identified may be available at MU, via MOBIUS, or may be requested through ILL@MU.
[more]
HathiTrust
Also Known as: Hathi Trust Hathi
The Hathi Trust Digital Library contains digital copies of more than 10 million volumes in over 400 languages, printed from 1500-present. Over 3 million volumes are in the public domain and can be viewed/printed/downloaded. Other volumes can be searched, but viewing is restricted. The Digital Library combines full-text searching with the traditional library catalog to facilitate sophisticated queries and easy browsing. MU users can also build private or shared collections within the Digital Library.
MOBIUS - Missouri Bibliographic Information User System
Search the collections of
over 70 college and university libraries throughout Missouri
. Books can be ordered at no cost using your
employee or student ID
, and can picked up at a nearby MOBIUS library of your choice.
[more]
WorldCat
Also Known as: WorldCat OCLC Catalog
WorldCat is the OCLC Online Union Catalog containing over 95 million records catalogued by OCLC member libraries covering books and other materials held in libraries worldwide.
[more]
Related resources:
AAMI Standards Search
Also Known as: Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation Standards Search; AAMI Database
Search the Association for Advancement of Medical Instrumentation database for books, reports, final and draft standards available for sale from AAMI. Also includes information about active ISO, IEC and AAMI standards projects and other technical committee news.
[more]
AAPG Digital Library - American Association of Petroleum Geologists
The AAPG Digital Library (American Association of Petroleum Geologists) consists of over 600,000 pages of petroleum, geology and geophysics information mainly from international, national and regional geological society publications and the AAPG.
[more]
African Index Medicus
Focuses on sources not indexed in MEDLINE, including books, theses, and agency reports. From the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA) with the technical support of the World Health Organization
[more]
AGRICOLA
AGRICOLA is produced by the U.S. National Agricultural Library and provides access to worldwide periodical literature and USDA publications. Subject coverage includes plant and animal sciences, food and nutrition, agriculture, biotechnology, entomology, forestry, and wildlife.
[more]
AIDSinfo Drug Database
A dictionary of over 240 chemical and biological agents. Each entry includes pharmacologic action, adverse reactions, chemical and trade names, contraindications, physical/chemical properties, and manufacturers' names. A service of the Dept. of Health and Human Services.
[more]
Analytical Abstracts
Analytical Abstracts indexes over 200 key international journals in chemistry. It also indexes technical reports and books. Coverage is 1980 to date.
[more]
ASABE Technical Library
Search all recent technical documents published by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. Anyone can view the abstracts. Access to the full text is via ASABE membership or site license.
[more]
ASCE Civil Engineering Database
Also Known as: ASCE CE Database
The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) is designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, and magazines,
[more]
Basic and Clinical Pharmacology
Recommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 1 & 2.
BELIT - Bioethics Literature Database
Search over 300,000 English, German, and French journal articles, books, and more on bioethics. Developed by the German Reference Centre for Ethics in the Life Sciences (DRZE, Bonn) and operated in co-operation with the Information and Documentation Centre for Ethics in Medicine (IDEM, Goettingen), the Interdepartmental Centre for Ethics in the Sciences and Humanities (IZEW, Tuebingen), the Library and Information Services of the Kennedy Institute of Ethics (KIE, Washington, DC) and the Centre de documentation en ethique des sciences de la vie et de la sante, INSERM/CCNE (CDEI, Paris).
[more]
Bible in English
Bible in English is a collection of 20 different versions of the English Bible from the tenth to the twentieth century, including 12 full Bibles, 5 New Testament texts, 2 versions of the Gospels only, and translations by William Tyndale of the Pentateuch, Jonah and the New Testament.
[more]
Biblioteca Virtual de Ciencias Sociales de América Latina y el Caribe
The Latin American and Caribbean social science virtual library provides access to over 7000 full text documents, a databases of publications and research projects, a directory of researchers, and a collection of multimedia resources--video, audio, and images.
[more]
Big Picture : Medical Biochemistry
Biochemistry for Dummies
Are you baffled by biochemistry? You’re not the first, and you won’t be the last. Here’s the good news — you don’t have to stay baffled! Biochemistry For Dummies shows you the fun and easy way to get a handle on biochemistry, apply the science, raise your grades, and prepare yourself to ace any standardized test. From water chemistry to protein synthesis Biochemistry For Dummies gives you the vital information, clear explanations, and important insights you need to increase your understanding and improve your performance on any biochemistry test.
Bradley's Neurology in Clinical Practice
Also Known as: Neurology in Clinical Practice
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier provides full-text for nearly 3,300 scholarly business journals, including full-text for more than 1000 peer-reviewed business publications.
[more]
CABDirect
Also Known as: CAB Abstracts; CABI
Coverage includes plant and animal sciences, forestry, human health and nutrition, veterinary medicine, agricultural biotechnology economics and engineering, rural sociology, recreation, tourism, and leisure. Includes access to CAB Archives.
[more]
Cochrane Methodology Register
With over 9000 references, the register aims to include all published reports of empirical methodological studies to support the work of the Cochrane review groups as they conduct systematic reviews of healthcare interventions.
[more]
CQ Researcher
CQ Researcher is a complete source for in-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. Focusing on one topic, each weekly CQ Researcher provides extensive background information and discussion of the pro’s and con’s.
[more]
dialnet
Dialnet searches for articles, books, and theses in all subject areas. It provides access to some articles in full text.
[more]
Dictionary of Old English Corpus
Dictionary of Old English Corpus is a complete record of surviving old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts.
[more]
Early American Imprints Series I Evans (1639-1800)
Searchable pdf's of material published in Colonial America and the early U.S. In addition to searching, the collection may be browsed by topic (e.g., Genre: Songs, Economics: Liquor Traffic, History: Louisiana Purchase)
[more]
Early American Imprints Series II Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
Searchable pdf's of material published in the U.S. in the early 19th Century. In addition to searching, the collection may be browsed by topic (e.g., Genre: Satires, Peoples: Illinois Indians, Government: Church and State)
[more]
ECCO - Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Based on the English Short Title Catalogue, nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 will be made available online over the course of the next two years.
[more]
EconLit
EconLit provides coverage of the worldwide literature on economics. Subject coverage includes accounting, domestic monetary theory, health economics, labor, quantitative economic methods, urban and regional economics, and welfare programs. Coverage is 1969 to date.
[more]
Education Full Text
Education Full Text provides full-text for over 133 periodicals since 1994 together with indexing and abstracting of records going back to 1983 for the 478 periodicals covered in the Education Index.
[more]
Epidemiology
Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics
Also Known as: Goodman & Gilman's Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics
The complete text, including tables, charts and diagrams, of Goodman & Gilman's Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics. G&G aims to be a working text on the understanding of how and why drugs work as well as a daily reference to rational clinical use of drugs. Recommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 1 and 2.
GreenFILE
Free EBSCO database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment; Information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Includes Scholarly and general interest titles.
[more]
HISTLINE
The HISTLINE history of medicine database is no longer available. Historical journal articles can be searched in
PubMed
; the books and book chapters formerly found in HISTLINE have been moved to
LocatorPlus
. All books, book chapters, and journal articles from 1964-1993 formerly found in HISTLINE can also be found in the print resource,
Bibliography of the History of Medicine
, in the reference collection at the Health Sciences Library.
[more]
Historical Abstracts
Secondary sources (journal articles, dissertations, some books) on the history of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Africa, with some links to full text.
[more]
Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office
Includes more than 3.7 million references to books (250,000 items), dissertations (300,000 items), analytics [e.g., journal articles, newspaper articles, obituaries, and letters] (2.5 million items) and portraits (4,400 items) found in the 61 volume set of the same name. The Library of the Surgeon General's Office was the precursor to today's National Library of Medicine. Even though the series began publication in 1880, older items can be found here as well.
[more]
International Veterinary Information Services (IVIS)
Provides access to electronic books, veterinary meeting proceedings, continuing education, international calendar of veterinary events, and image collections. Free registration required.
[more]
Library Literature and Information Science Full Text
Library Literature and Information Science Full Text is an index of library and information science periodicals.
[more]
Library of Congress Catalog
Lists English language books 1968+, books in all languages 1980+, and microforms 1984+ in the Library of Congress collection.
[more]
LILACS
The Latin American equivalent of MEDLINE, covering 669 journals in Portuguese, Spanish & English. Although the majority of articles indexed are in Portuguese or Spanish, it's possible to search using English keywords.
[more]
LOCATORplus
Search the library collection of the National Library of Medicine.
[more]
Materials Research Database with METADEX
Also Known as: Materials Science
Brings together materials science databases, covering materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications, including the use of materials in orthopedics and dentistry. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding, and fabrication to end use, corrosion, performance, and recycling is covered in for all metals, polymers, ceramics, and composites. The collection comprises several databases which may be searched individually or all together. The databases included in the collection are: Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Business File, Mechanical Engineering Abstracts, METADEX, MicroPatent Materials Patents, and WELDASEARCH.
[more]
MDConsult
Also Known as: MD Consult ; md-consult
Search a collection of over 50 books in clinical medicine and the basic sciences, including such popular texbooks as The Harriet Lane Handbook, Campbell's Operative Orthopaedics, Robbins and Cotran's Pathologic Basis of Disease, and Mettler's Essentials of Radiology. Also included are many of the Clinics of North America review series, plus a handful of other popular clinical journals from Elsevier. Includes patient education materials, including McKesson's Clinical Reference System. Drug information is provided by Gold Standard.
[more]
Middle English Compendium
The Middle English Compendium provides interlinked access to several resources: the online Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, with links to associated online resources.
[more]
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Also Known as: NCJRS
(NCJRS) contains summaries of over 180,000 criminal justice publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles and unpublished research. This is a good source for statistics and it links to the full-text NCJRS Virtual Library.
[more]
Native Health Research Database
Indexes health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. Can search by tribe, state, region/province in addition to MeSH subject searches. Older literature (back to 1652) can be found in the Native Health History Database.
[more]
NCJRS National Criminal Justice Reference Service Database
Also Known as: ncjrs
Covers over 189,000 criminal justice publications dating back to the 1970s. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drug abuse, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, and victims. In addition to journal articles, federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, and unpublished research are also included. From the U.S. Department of Justice.
[more]
NLM Gateway
A single portal for searching National Library of Medicine collections and databases, including MEDLINE/PubMed, OLDMEDLINE, LOCATORplus, AIDS Meetings, HSR Meetings, MEDLINEplus, HISTLINE, AIDSLINE, SPACELINE, HSRPROJ and DIRLINE.
[more]
NSSN Standards Search
NO FULL TEXT. Search for standards information from many organizations, including the American Society for Testing Materials (ASTM), the International Standards Organization (ISO), the National Committee for Information Technology Standards, the Society for Automotive Engineers (SAE), and more. From the American National Standards Institute (ANSI).
[more]
NTIS Database
NTIS (National Technical Information Service) is the major resource for locating U.S. Government sponsored research in the physical sciences, technology, engineering, biological sciences, medicine and health sciences, agriculture and social sciences.
[more]
OTSearch
Maintained by the AOTA, this is the premier source for access to the literature of occupational therapy. Formerly known as OTBibSys.
[more]
PAIS
PAIS covers the range of the social sciences, with emphasis on national and international economic, political and public policy issues.
[more]
Philosopher's Index
This database is an index to articles on philosophy and related fields from 1940 to the present.
[more]
PIER - Physicians' Information and Education Resource
Also Known as: physican information and education resource ; physican's information & education resource
Synthesizes and summarizes the best evidence on over 400 diseases, procedures, and more. From the American College of Physicians. Access provided by the MAHEC Digital Library.
Please logout when finished.
Population Index
Provides a searchable index to the entire Population Index database for 1986-2000 (Volumes 52-66), plus annual Geographic Indexes. This bibliography is designed to cover the world's demographic and population literature.
[more]
ProQuest Technology Collection
Also Known as: CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX, CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, and the CSA Engineering Research Database, TRD, Technology Research Database, ProQuest Technology Collection
ProQuest Technology Collection indexes over 16 million abstracts, over 7.7 million tables and figures, and includes over 2,700 full text journals. It is comprised of ProQuest Advanced Technologies with Aerospace Collection; ProQuest Materials Science Collection; ProQuest Engineering Collection; ProQuest Computer Science Collection; and ProQuest Illustrata: Technology. Coverage starts from 1962.
[more]
REHABDATA
Literature on physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. Produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center.
[more]
Smoking and Health Databases
Literature on the scientific, medical, technical, policy, behavioral, legal, and historical aspects of smoking and tobacco use and its health effects. Includes abstracts of hard to find conference proceedings and government documents, many with historical significance. Although most items have been published since 1965, several records date back to the 1800s. From the Office of Smoking and Health, Centers for Disease Control.
[more]
Social trends & indicators USA
Provides in-depth statistics on social issues with expert analyses. Data is drawn from Federal agencies, newspapers and stock exchanges. Individual volumes are titled: 1. Work & Leisure; 2. Community & Education; 3. Health & Illness; and 4. Crime & Justice. 2003 edition.
Sociological Abstracts
Also Known as: sociology
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
[more]
Textbook of Pediatric Care
Comprehensive pediatric textbook published by the American Academy of Pediatrics.
[more]
VetMed Resource
Contains the Veterinary Science Database, a subset of CAB Abstracts covering all aspects of veterinary medicine. Coverage includes companion animals, equines, food animals, aquaculture species, zoo animals, and wild animals. Also contains CAB Reviews; In Brief and In Depth articles; the Animal Health and Production Compendium; and a Calendar focused on veterinary conferences and other events worldwide. Geared toward those working in the field of veterinary medicine and animal health.
[more]
World Health Organization Library Database (WHOLIS)
Indexes all World Health Organization publications from 1948 to date, plus articles from WHO-produced journals and technical documents since 1985.
[more]
Wright American Fiction
Wright American Fiction offers full-text of American novels published from 1851-1875.
[more]
Zoological Record/Biological Abstracts Combined
Biological Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal literature in the life sciences. Zoological Record indexes and abstracts zoological literature including journals, conference proceedings and books. See the entries for each individual database for more information.
[more]
Additional Options
Databases A-Z
Databases by Subject
Resources by Type
Journals
Subject Research Guides
Off-Campus Access
Trial Databases
Mobile Databases