Skip to main content

Navigation

 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Resources by Type: Statistics

Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

American FactFinder

This site will guide to to data on your community. Choose: -"Fact Sheet" for quick access to basic demographic, social and economic data on your city, town, county or state or ZIP Code. -"People" to find more popular tables on a variety of topics (age, education, income, race and more) for your area. -"Housing" to find popular tables on home values, ownership, housing characteristics and mortgage. -"Business and Government" for data on housing starts, government finances, foreign trade and more. [more]
FedStats

FedStats is a comprehensive web portal to statistics published by the U.S. Government. More than 100 federal agencies produce statistics. Includes subject and geographic indexes, mapping tools, a cross-agency search engine, and direct links to statistical agencies and data access tools. [more]
Historical Statistics of the United States Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Historical Statistics of the United States presents the numerical history of the United States. It contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history, all from the earliest times to the present. [more]
International Financial Statistics (IFS) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

International Financial Statistics (IFS) is a database provided by the International Monetary Fund. It offers approximately 32,000 time series covering more than 200 countries, 1948 - present (data availability may vary by country and date). It includes exchange rates, fund accounts and main global and country economic indicators. [more]
ProQuest Statistical Data Sets Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: ProQuest Statistical Datasets; Pro quest

Provides data visualization for more than 500 datasets from government and private industry, both domestic and international. Emphasis is in 20th century U.S. economic data and includes diverse subjects such as health, politics, demographics, social services and environmental data. Time spans vary by topic. Charting, plotting and mapping options available. Export data into MS Excel, XML, PDF, or into shape files for GIS.
Statistical Abstract of the United States 1878-2012
Also Known as: Statistical Abstracts of the United States

As the National Data Book it contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Free access provided by the United States Census Bureau ended in 2012; subsequent editions have been issued by Proquest.
Statistical Abstract of the United States 2013 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Stat Abstract; statistical abstracts; statistical abstract of the US

The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. [more]

Related resources:
Dartmouth Atlas

The Dartmouth Atlas Project is run by the Center for Evaluative Clinical Sciences at Dartmouth Medical School. It's goal is to "accurately describe how medical resources are distributed and used in the United States." Using information compiled by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services, the data covers hospitalizations of people aged 65 to 99 in the traditional Medicare system who are free to select any participating physician or hospital. Data is available from 1994-2003. [more]
EuroStat Data Explorer

EuroStat Data Explorer provides access to statistical tables, data series and publications from Eurostat, the Statistical Office of the European Communities. [more]
FAOSTAT

Sponsored by the Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations. Covers international statistics in agriculture, nutrition, fisheries, forestry, food quality, and more. [more]
Geolytics' Neighborhood Change Database CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.

Geolytics' Neighborhood Change Database contains nation-wide tract-level data from the 1970, 1980, 1990 and 2000 decennial censuses. Combines U.S. Bureau of the Census data into one product with variables and tract boundaries that are consistently defined across census years. [more]
HCUPnet

An interactive tool for identifying, analyzing and comparing statistics on hospital inpatient care. Uses the data from the Nationwide Inpatient Sample (NIS) of over 1000 hospitals. Also includes data from the State Inpatient Database (SID), representing inpatient care in community hospitals in 36 states (including Missouri), which represents more than half of all U.S. hospital discharges. Create and export tables on costs, demographics, mortality, length of stay, and insurance coverage for diseases or medical procedures. From the U.S. Agency for Health Care Research and Quality. [more]
HSRR - Health Service and Sciences Research Resources

Contains information about research and statistical datasets, instruments/indices, and software used in Health Services Research and the Behavioral and Social Sciences . [more]
LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Lexis Nexis Academic offers access to the full-text of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the full-text of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). [more]
OECD Health Statistics Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: OECD ilibrary; OECD health data; SourceOECD; Source oecd

The demand for health-related data is high. One of the main obstacles limiting meaningful analysis of health care systems has always been, and still is, the lack of sufficient coverage and availability of health care statistics. The need for internationally-comparable data is on the rise as national administrations seek to evaluate their health care systems against those of other countries. OECD Health Data 2010 aims to address a sizeable part of these needs for Member countries. The database is designed to further the knowledge of health services inputs and throughputs, highlight differences in common medical practices, help quantify key non-medical health-related factors and, in a world of financial constraints, to describe key features of each system's financing and delivery mechanisms.
PAIS Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

PAIS covers the range of the social sciences, with emphasis on national and international economic, political and public policy issues. [more]
Social Trends and Indicators Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Provides in-depth statistics on social issues with expert analyses. Data is drawn from Federal agencies, newspapers and stock exchanges. Individual volumes are titled: 1. Work & Leisure; 2. Community & Education; 3. Health & Illness; and 4. Crime & Justice. [more]
World Almanac Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

World Almanac offers basic reference sources including 32,000 records of biographies, encyclopedia entries, facts, and statistics. Coverage is 1998 to date. [more]