Skip to main content
Navigation
Help
Summon@MU
Books
Journals
Databases
Libraries
Ellis Library
Engineering & Technology
Geological Sciences
Health Sciences
Journalism
Mathematical Sciences
Missourian Newspaper Library
University Archives
Veterinary Medical
MU Law Library
More...
Collections
MOspace: Institutional Repository
Digital Collections
Special Collections & Rare Books
Government Documents
State Historical Society
More...
Information for You
Undergraduates
Graduate Students
Faculty & Staff
Distance Learners
International Students
Alumni
Persons with Disabilities
Visiting Scholars
Visitors
More...
Homework & Research Help
Subject Guides
Course Guides
Research Assistance Program
Course Reserves (Print/ERes)
Classes & Tours
Request an Instruction Session
Tutorials & Videos
Writing & Citing
Writing Tutors
More...
Show Me How To
Find journal articles
Find books
Request books
Renew books
Find my ID #
Find citation guides
Find dissertations
Find DVDs
Avoid plagiarism
View library tutorials/videos
More...
Research Tools
LibX
EndNote
Zotero
Citation Builder
Research Guides
my Accounts
Renew a Book
Set up my Reading History
Reserve a Study Room
Track my ILL@MU requests
More...
MU Libraries
>
Search
> Resources by Type
Resources by Type: Newspaper Articles
Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the
icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
Factiva
Factiva contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. It also provides access to current issues and an archive of over 8,000 publications from around the globe. License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only.
[more]
LexisNexis Academic
Lexis Nexis Academic offers access to the full-text of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the full-text of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more).
[more]
NewsBank
Newsbank includes digital editions of the Kansas City Star and St. Louis Post Dispatch. It also includes Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876); U. S. Congressional Serial Set and Serial Set Maps (1817-1980); Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, (1639-1800); Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, (1801-1819); American State Papers, (1789-1838); World Newspaper Archive, which includes America's Historical Newspapers and African Newspapers.
[more]
PressDisplay
PressDisplay provides the original format, layout and pagination for over 200 newspapers from over 50 countries.
[more]
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times
Also Known as: New York Times;historical New York Times; NYT
ProQuest Historical Newspapers digitally reproduces every issue of the
New York Times
(1851-2008) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and full-text searching of the newspaper.
[more]
ProQuest Newsstand
ProQuest Newsstand contains over 850 newspapers with access to 575 full-text titles. With titles like the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and major regionals like the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post and the Boston Globe, users can also find access to international, national, and regional news. Coverage: 1980's to present.
[more]
Related resources:
Business Source Premier
Business Source Premier provides full-text for nearly 3,300 scholarly business journals, including full-text for more than 1000 peer-reviewed business publications.
[more]
Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Chronicling America provides a directory listing American newspapers published from 1690 to the present and identifying libraries that hold these papers. Images of some newspaper pages from 1890 to 1910 are available as a prototype of the National Digital Newspaper Project, which will eventually provide digital access to significant newspapers from 1836 to 1922.
Columbia Missourian
This database provides the electronic version of the Columbia Missourian.
[more]
Electronic Newspaper Resources (MU Libraries Special Collections)
A selection of U.S. and international newspapers available digitally. Primarily historical coverage.
Historic Missouri Newspaper Project
Historic Missouri Newspaper Project is a database of searchable full-image of some years from 14 Missouri newspapers.
[more]
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines
Contains 65,000 pages with articles, illustrations, cartoons and maps drawn from 49 periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers published from 1860 to 1865, from four viewpoints? Union, Confederate, Abolitionist, and British. Every page has been scanned to grayscale or color standards at up to 1200 dpi. The database also includes essays detailing the background and importance of each of the publications and on Civil War topics.
[more]
Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office
Includes more than 3.7 million references to books (250,000 items), dissertations (300,000 items), analytics [e.g., journal articles, newspaper articles, obituaries, and letters] (2.5 million items) and portraits (4,400 items) found in the 61 volume set of the same name. The Library of the Surgeon General's Office was the precursor to today's National Library of Medicine. Even though the series began publication in 1880, older items can be found here as well.
[more]
Missouri Newspaper Collection at the State Historical Society of Missouri
Includes the Missouri Digital Newspaper Project, Index to Selected Missouri Newspapers, 1808-1929 and a listing of Missouri newspapers on microfilm available at the State Historical Society of Missouri.
Newspapermap
Map showing locations and information on online newspapers around the world. Click on a marker to see information about the paper and a link to it. Each marker is a different color, indicating the language of the newspaper. The site will also automatically translate the text.
Newspapers on Microfilm in Special Collections (MU Libraries)
These newspapers can be browsed alphabetically, by geography or by time period.
[more]
Palmer's Index to the Times
This index covers the London Times newspaper from 1790-1905. Part of C19 database. The MU Libraries has the London Times on microfilm in the Special Collections department.
[more]
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Searchable full-image of the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975).
[more]
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender
The Chicago Defender (1910-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
[more]
Additional Options
Databases A-Z
Databases by Subject
Resources by Type
Journals
Subject Research Guides
Off-Campus Access
Trial Databases
Mobile Databases