Skip to main content
Navigation
Help
Summon@MU
Books
Journals
Databases
Libraries
Ellis Library
Engineering & Technology
Geological Sciences
Health Sciences
Journalism
Mathematical Sciences
Missourian Newspaper Library
University Archives
Veterinary Medical
MU Law Library
More...
Collections
MOspace: Institutional Repository
Digital Collections
Special Collections & Rare Books
Government Documents
State Historical Society
More...
Information for You
Undergraduates
Graduate Students
Faculty & Staff
Distance Learners
International Students
Alumni
Persons with Disabilities
Visiting Scholars
Visitors
More...
Homework & Research Help
Subject Guides
Course Guides
Research Assistance Program
Course Reserves (Print/ERes)
Classes & Tours
Request an Instruction Session
Tutorials & Videos
Writing & Citing
Writing Tutors
More...
Show Me How To
Find journal articles
Find books
Request books
Renew books
Find my ID #
Find citation guides
Find dissertations
Find DVDs
Avoid plagiarism
View library tutorials/videos
More...
Research Tools
LibX
EndNote
Zotero
Citation Builder
Research Guides
my Accounts
Renew a Book
Set up my Reading History
Reserve a Study Room
Track my ILL@MU requests
More...
MU Libraries
>
Search
> Resources by Type
Resources by Type: Handbooks and Manuals
Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the
icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
AccessMedicine
Search a collection of over 50 books in clinical medicine and the basic sciences, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, Hurst's The Heart, and many more. Click on
My AccessMedicine
to register for a free password which entitles you to use the Lange self-assessment tool for board preparation, PDA chapter downloads, and podcasts. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU.
Please logout when finished searching.
To locate more recent articles which cite a referenced article, enter the PMID article Identifier
here.
ASCE Civil Engineering Database
Also Known as: ASCE CE Database
The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) is designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, and magazines,
[more]
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a major source of chemical and physical property data. It includes information on elements, inorganic compounds, organic compounds, physical constants, units and conversion factors, symbols, and nomenclature.
[more]
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
[more]
Knovel Books
Knovel Books is a collection of e-books and includes: ASM International Handbooks Online, Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, Mechanics & Mechanical Engineering, Promotional Titles, Sustainable Energy & Development and Transportation Engineering.
[more]
Related resources:
Consumer Health Complete
Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. It includes the Clinical Reference System (including McKesson's Health Advisor series), and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. Access provided by MOREnet.
Mergent Web Reports/Digitized Archive Manuals
Mergent WebReports/Digitized Archive Manuals: provides electronic access to all Moody's/Mergent manuals ever published dating back to 1909. (Municipal and Govt manual currently not available.) WebReports contain more than 180,000 documents covering over 100 countries and industries using an easy-to-navigate and reliable system.
[more]
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Online version of book on Ready Reference shelf, HF5381.A1O36. Front matter contains general information about jobs in high demand, sources of education, training and financial aid, and applying for jobs. Career information includes the nature of the work, training needed, advancement prospects, specialties, job outlook over the next decade, earnings, related occupations and sources of additional information.
[more]
PIER - Physicians' Information and Education Resource
Also Known as: physican information and education resource ; physican's information & education resource
Synthesizes and summarizes the best evidence on over 400 diseases, procedures, and more. From the American College of Physicians. Access provided by the MAHEC Digital Library.
Please logout when finished.
PILOTS - Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress
Indexes world literature on traumatic stress disorder. Although it's created/maintained by the US Department of Veterans Affairs, it covers all types of traumatic stress, not just post-combat stress syndromes.
[more]
Social Trends and Indicators
Provides in-depth statistics on social issues with expert analyses. Data is drawn from Federal agencies, newspapers and stock exchanges. Individual volumes are titled: 1. Work & Leisure; 2. Community & Education; 3. Health & Illness; and 4. Crime & Justice.
[more]
Additional Options
Databases A-Z
Databases by Subject
Resources by Type
Journals
Subject Research Guides
Off-Campus Access
Trial Databases
Mobile Databases