Skip to main content
Navigation
Help
Summon@MU
Books
Journals
Databases
Libraries
Ellis Library
Engineering & Technology
Geological Sciences
Health Sciences
Journalism
Mathematical Sciences
Missourian Newspaper Library
University Archives
Veterinary Medical
MU Law Library
More...
Collections
MOspace: Institutional Repository
Digital Collections
Special Collections & Rare Books
Government Documents
State Historical Society
More...
Information for You
Undergraduates
Graduate Students
Faculty & Staff
Distance Learners
International Students
Alumni
Persons with Disabilities
Visiting Scholars
Visitors
More...
Homework & Research Help
Subject Guides
Course Guides
Research Assistance Program
Course Reserves (Print/ERes)
Classes & Tours
Request an Instruction Session
Tutorials & Videos
Writing & Citing
Writing Tutors
More...
Show Me How To
Find journal articles
Find books
Request books
Renew books
Find my ID #
Find citation guides
Find dissertations
Find DVDs
Avoid plagiarism
View library tutorials/videos
More...
Research Tools
LibX
EndNote
Zotero
Citation Builder
Research Guides
my Accounts
Renew a Book
Set up my Reading History
Reserve a Study Room
Track my ILL@MU requests
More...
MU Libraries
>
Search
> Resources by Type
Resources by Type: Government Documents
Government databases index reports, analysis, intergovernmental communications, maps, statistics, guides and general works on virtually any topic addressed by government. Because the government publishes a wide variety of material, the intended audience for government publications can range from young to old, educated or uneducated. There are government publications targeted specifically to children, scientists, businessmen, immigrants, homeless people, lawyers, and more. And of course there is a great deal of documentation on statutes, regulations, and other processes involving the formation of laws. Most databases in this list are full-text searches of primary source documents. However, there are a some here which assist in the location of full-length government reports and articles written by employees of government agencies. For assistance using government databases, contact Marie Concannon, Government Documents Coordinator,
concannonm@missouri.edu
.
Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS)
ADAMS indexes the regulatory and technical documents of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), its contractors and licensees. Includes full-text from November 1, 1999, with bibliographic records going back to 1981. These earlier materials are available in the NUDOCS microfiche collection housed in the Engineering Library & Technology Commons.
[more]
American State Papers, 1789-1838
American State Papers, 1789-1838, features not only new bibliographic records for every one of its 6,354 publications, but also superior images created by digitizing every page of every publication from the print volumes issued between 1832 and 1861. Unlike the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, the publications in the American State Papers are not divided into reports and documents and do not include House and Senate journals. Approximately two-thirds of the publications cover the first 14 Congresses (1789-1817), whereas the remaining third chronologically overlap with the Serial Set from 1817-1838.
[more]
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Also Known as: CGP
The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications is the primary catalog for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government.
[more]
CQ Weekly
CQ Weekly provides the CQ Weekly Congressional Quarterly’s magazine on government, commerce and politics. Complete source for expert coverage of the U.S. Congress, including status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering.
[more]
Digital National Security Archive
The Digital National Security Archive is a comprehensive collection of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. The Archive is organized into dozens of topical collections, each containing government documents declassified under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA).
[more]
ECLAS (European Commission Libraries Catalogue)
ECLAS is the European Commission union catalog, representing the holdings of both the Central Library of the European Commission and some 25 smaller specialized libraries and documentation centers. Provides broad coverage of European Union official publications from 1978 to date, as well as publications about the Union from other intergovernmental organizations, commercial, academic and government presses. ECLAS also indexes selected periodical articles of lasting interest.
[more]
FDsys
FDsys is the single most comprehensive source for official publications from all three branches of the U.S. government, as well as independent agencies. Provides access to a broad array of full-text databases and finding aids.
[more]
FedStats
FedStats is a comprehensive web portal to statistics published by the U.S. Government. More than 100 federal agencies produce statistics. Includes subject and geographic indexes, mapping tools, a cross-agency search engine, and direct links to statistical agencies and data access tools.
[more]
Homeland Security Digital Library
Homeland Security Digital Library contains access to homeland security strategy, policy and research published by Federal, state and local government agencies, international governments and institutions, universities, and think tanks.
[more]
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers covers 1801-1919. Covers social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how British laws were created.
[more]
LexisNexis Academic
Lexis Nexis Academic offers access to the full-text of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the full-text of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more).
[more]
ProQuest Congressional
Also Known as: Lexis Nexis Congressional
ProQuest Congressional indexes congressional publications from 1789 to date and provides full text for much of it. This database also includes biographical, financial and voting information on current members of Congress.
[more]
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 is a vast primary source collection for U.S. political, social, cultural, military and ethnic history, as well as international relations, explorations, genealogy, commerce, industrial development and more.
[more]
U.S. Statutes at Large
U.S. Statutes at Large provides full-text access to the laws of the United States from 1789 to the present. Includes public laws, private laws, concurrent resolutions, presidential proclamations, treaties with foreign nations (through 1849) and all treaties with Native American tribes.
[more]
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978 contains nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978.
[more]
UNBISnet(United Nations Bibliographic Information System)
UNBISnet is the catalog for United Nations documents and publications. Also included are commercial publications and other non-UN sources held in the collection of the Dag Hammarskjöld Library. The coverage of UNBISnet is from 1979 onward, however, older documents are being added to the catalogue on a regular basis. UNBISnet also provides instant access to a growing number of full text resources in the six official languages of the UN (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish), including resolutions adopted by the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and the Security Council from 1946 onward.
[more]
United Nations Official Document System (ODS)
The United Nations Official Document System (ODS) provides full-text access to all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards.
[more]
Related resources:
Air Force History Index
The United States Air Force Historical Research Agency maintains hundreds of thousands of historically significant U.S. Air Force documents representing some 70 million pages. These include unit histories, special studies, personal papers, end-of-tour reports, oral histories, interview transcripts, and more.
[more]
American Law Institute Library Online
The archives of the American Law Institute (ALI) include editions of the Uniform Commercial Code, restatements of the law on a variety of topics, and special publications of the ALI including the ALI Reporter. Access provided to the campus by the MU Law Library.
[more]
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) - Public Technical Reports Collection
DTIC Online searches publicly accessible information sources. It includes report citations and many full-text reports.
[more]
Energy Citations Database
Energy Citations Database contains citations to energy and energy related technical reports, conference papers, and journal articles from U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessors ERDA and AEC. The microfiche collection is housed at the Engineering Library & Technology Commons.
[more]
Enviro-Health Links Hurricane Katrina Resource Page
Links to information on environmental cleanup, drinking water, mold, hazardous materials and more created to assist relief workers. Created by Specialized Information Services at the National Library of Medicine .
ETHXWeb
Journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics. Can search for literature which emphasizes a legal, religious, empirical, or popular approach. Contains some links to fulltext. From the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, which formerly produced Bioethicsline.
[more]
Geolytics' Neighborhood Change Database
Geolytics' Neighborhood Change Database contains nation-wide tract-level data from the 1970, 1980, 1990 and 2000 decennial censuses. Combines U.S. Bureau of the Census data into one product with variables and tract boundaries that are consistently defined across census years.
[more]
Government of Canada Publications
Government of Canada Publications is the principle database for finding publications of the Canadian federal government. Includes links to full-text when available.
[more]
Grey Literature Report - New York Academy of Medicine Library
Also Known as: nyam grey literature
Locate health policy documents from various health policy stakeholders, such as the Kaiser Foundation, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the RAND Corporation, the Guttmacher Institute, the World Health Organization, and
many more.
Compiled by the library of the New York Academy of Medicine. Bimonthly updates available.
[more]
HeinOnline
HeinOnline contains a number of components or "libaries," including the LAW JOURNAL LIBRARY containing more than 1,400 law and law-related periodicals, the FEDERAL REGISTER LIBRARY containing proposed regulations back to 1936, the CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS LIBRARY dating to 1938, and the UNITED STATE CODE LIBRARY which is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. Also included are the U.S. STATUTES AT LARGE LIBRARY showing all federal legislation as it appeared when originally passed, and the TREATIES AND AGREEMENTS LIBRARY which contains all U.S. treaties whether currently in-force, expired, or not-yet officially published.
[more]
Historical Statistics of the United States
Historical Statistics of the United States presents the numerical history of the United States. It contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history, all from the earliest times to the present.
[more]
Making of Modern Law - Legal Treatises 1800-1926
Making of Modern Law - Legal Treatises 1800-1926 provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Access provided to the campus by the MU Law Library.
[more]
MyiLibrary
MyiLibrary provides full-text access to over 1,200 electronic books from several international agencies, including the UN and others. Includes intergovernmental publications in the social sciences, medicine, and engineering. Also includes access to FactLab, a statistical database.
[more]
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)
NTRS provides access to approximately 500K aerospace related citations, 90K full-text online documents, and 111K images and videos. The type of information found in NTRS include: conference papers, images, journal articles, photos, meeting papers, movies, patents, research reports, and technical videos.
[more]
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Also Known as: NCJRS
(NCJRS) contains summaries of over 180,000 criminal justice publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles and unpublished research. This is a good source for statistics and it links to the full-text NCJRS Virtual Library.
[more]
National Human Genome Research Institute Policy and Legislation Database
Locate federal and state laws/statutes, and federal legislative, administrative and executive materials related to genetic testing and its public policy implications.
[more]
Native Health Research Database
Indexes health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. Can search by tribe, state, region/province in addition to MeSH subject searches. Older literature (back to 1652) can be found in the Native Health History Database.
[more]
NCJRS National Criminal Justice Reference Service Database
Also Known as: ncjrs
Covers over 189,000 criminal justice publications dating back to the 1970s. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drug abuse, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, and victims. In addition to journal articles, federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, and unpublished research are also included. From the U.S. Department of Justice.
[more]
NTIS Database
NTIS (National Technical Information Service) is the major resource for locating U.S. Government sponsored research in the physical sciences, technology, engineering, biological sciences, medicine and health sciences, agriculture and social sciences.
[more]
PAIS
PAIS covers the range of the social sciences, with emphasis on national and international economic, political and public policy issues.
[more]
PILOTS - Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress
Indexes world literature on traumatic stress disorder. Although it's created/maintained by the US Department of Veterans Affairs, it covers all types of traumatic stress, not just post-combat stress syndromes.
[more]
ProQuest Legislative Insight
A legislative history reveals the intent behind a specific law. Legislative histories are helpful to students preparing for careers in public health, education, business, or any other discipline subject to Federal regulation. This database provides searchable full text PDFs for Public Laws and for all versions of bills leading up to those laws. In addition, it presents just the relevant portions of the Congressional Record along with committee hearings, reports, and prints. Also included are Presidential signing statements, Congressional Research Service reports, and other congressional publications related to the law.
Science Accelerator
The Science Accelerator searches simultaneously across key Department of Energy resources, including the OSTI full-text DOE Information Bridge (1991), the E-Print Network, the EnergyFiles, and DOE Patents. Provided by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information.
[more]
SciVerse Hub
Also Known as: SciVerse
Search engine for over 18 journal publishers including Elsevier, Sage and Springer. Also searches the full-text of both U.S. and international patents, the contents of repositories from around the world and academic and government websites.
Smoking and Health Databases
Literature on the scientific, medical, technical, policy, behavioral, legal, and historical aspects of smoking and tobacco use and its health effects. Includes abstracts of hard to find conference proceedings and government documents, many with historical significance. Although most items have been published since 1965, several records date back to the 1800s. From the Office of Smoking and Health, Centers for Disease Control.
[more]
Additional Options
Databases A-Z
Databases by Subject
Resources by Type
Journals
Subject Research Guides
Off-Campus Access
Trial Databases
Mobile Databases