Skip to main content
Navigation
Help
Summon@MU
Books
Journals
Databases
Libraries
Ellis Library
Engineering & Technology
Geological Sciences
Health Sciences
Journalism
Mathematical Sciences
Missourian Newspaper Library
University Archives
Veterinary Medical
MU Law Library
More...
Collections
MOspace: Institutional Repository
Digital Collections
Special Collections & Rare Books
Government Documents
State Historical Society
More...
Information for You
Undergraduates
Graduate Students
Faculty & Staff
Distance Learners
International Students
Alumni
Persons with Disabilities
Visiting Scholars
Visitors
More...
Homework & Research Help
Subject Guides
Course Guides
Research Assistance Program
Course Reserves (Print/ERes)
Classes & Tours
Request an Instruction Session
Tutorials & Videos
Writing & Citing
Writing Tutors
More...
Show Me How To
Find journal articles
Find books
Request books
Renew books
Find my ID #
Find citation guides
Find dissertations
Find DVDs
Avoid plagiarism
View library tutorials/videos
More...
Research Tools
LibX
EndNote
Zotero
Citation Builder
Research Guides
my Accounts
Renew a Book
Set up my Reading History
Reserve a Study Room
Track my ILL@MU requests
More...
MU Libraries
>
Search
> Resources by Type
Resources by Type: Encyclopedias
Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the
icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
[more]
Oxford Reference Online Premium
Oxford Reference Online Premium is a searchable database of over 100 reference works covering history, literature, art, religion, philosophy, law, science and many other areas.
[more]
Related resources:
Abbreviationes
Abbreviationes is a searchable database of 50,000 medieval Latin paleographic abbreviations. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library in the Reference area.
[more]
Animal Health and Production Compendium
Animal Health and Production Compendium focuses on all aspects of animal health and production, including diseases, nutrition, husbandry and breeding.
[more]
Encyclopedia of Computational Chemistry
ECC contains over 300 articles, all extensively cross-referenced. Technical terms are explained in short Definitions. Each year around 50 new and updated Articles will be added, so that the Encyclopedia will keep up-to-date with the development of computational chemistry.
[more]
Encyclopedia of Mammals
Covers the behaviour, diet, distribution, and evolution of every known living mammal in the world.
Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis
Also Known as: eEROS
Encyclopedia of Reagents for Organic Synthesis is a reference source for reagents used in organic synthesis which for each reagent includes uses and characteristics, examples of use, physical data, solubility, preparative methods and literature references.
[more]
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology is a comprehensive reference source for applied chemical science and industrial technology.
[more]
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians
Also Known as: Oxford Music Online
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians is the premier music encyclopedia. Includes the New Grove Dictionaries of Jazz and Opera and the Oxford Dictionary of Music.
[more]
Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online includes Grove Art Online, Oxford companion to Western art, Concise Oxford dictionary of art terms, and Encyclopedia of aesthetics. Grove Art Online provides access to over 45,000 signed articles, 21,000 biographies, and 5000 searchable and embedded images.
[more]
Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods
Also Known as: encyclopedia of qualitative research methods
An interdisciplinary approach to the field of qualitative research, providing background information on concepts that inform qualitative research practices.
Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations
Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations is a searchable, online resource providing over 200,000 entries covering the abbreviations, symbols and acronyms used in science and technology, coveirng such subjects as chemical symbols, scientific associations and societies, units of measure, and professional credentials.
[more]
Additional Options
Databases A-Z
Databases by Subject
Resources by Type
Journals
Subject Research Guides
Off-Campus Access
Trial Databases
Mobile Databases