Skip to main content
Navigation
Help
Summon@MU
Books
Journals
Databases
Libraries
Ellis Library
Engineering & Technology
Geological Sciences
Health Sciences
Journalism
Mathematical Sciences
Missourian Newspaper Library
University Archives
Veterinary Medical
MU Law Library
More...
Collections
MOspace: Institutional Repository
Digital Collections
Special Collections & Rare Books
Government Documents
State Historical Society
More...
Information for You
Undergraduates
Graduate Students
Faculty & Staff
Distance Learners
International Students
Alumni
Persons with Disabilities
Visiting Scholars
Visitors
More...
Homework & Research Help
Subject Guides
Course Guides
Research Assistance Program
Course Reserves (Print/ERes)
Classes & Tours
Request an Instruction Session
Tutorials & Videos
Writing & Citing
Writing Tutors
More...
Show Me How To
Find journal articles
Find books
Request books
Renew books
Find my ID #
Find citation guides
Find dissertations
Find DVDs
Avoid plagiarism
View library tutorials/videos
More...
Research Tools
LibX
EndNote
Zotero
Citation Builder
Research Guides
my Accounts
Renew a Book
Set up my Reading History
Reserve a Study Room
Track my ILL@MU requests
More...
MU Libraries
>
Search
> Resources by Type
Resources by Type: Chemical Substances
Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the
icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
CCRIS- Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information
A scientifically evaluated and fully referenced databank developed and maintained by the National Cancer Institute (NCI). It contains carcinogenicity, tumor promotion, and utagenicity test results on over 7000 chemical compounds. To search, select CCRIS from the drop down search menu.
[more]
CHEMID
Chemical dictionary file for over 339,000 compounds of biomedical and regulatory interest. Includes chemical property and toxicity information. File locators lead users to additional information on other files such as HSDB, RTECS, TOXNET, and TOXLINE. In addition, SUPERLIST provides names and other data used to describe chemicals on over 30 key federal and state regulatory lists. Chemical structure searching is also supported.
[more]
Household Products Database
Links over 4,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS), including automotive, personal care, gardening, home care, and craft products. Search by product/ingredient, or browse by product category or manufacturer. Based on the Consumer Product Information Database ©2001 by DeLima Associates. From the National Library of Medicine.
[more]
Merck Index
The Merck Index provides authoritative information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals, including scientific significance, physical and toxicity data, therapeutic and commercial uses, caution and hazard information and key references in the literature.
[more]
PAN Pesticides Database
Search by active ingredient, (including CAS Registry Numbers) product name, or product category to discover uses, toxicity, and regulatory status of pesticides. From the Pesticides Action Network of North America.
[more]
PubChem
Locate information on structure and biological activity of over 800,000 small organic molecules. Search by substance, bioassay or compound. Information is imported from 14 public sources, including ChemID plus. Structure and similarity searching are also supported. From the National Center for Biotechnology Information, it includes links to other Pubmed Entrez databases.
[more]
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts)
Also Known as: Chemical Abstracts
SciFinder Scholar contains a comprehensive database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents (1907 - date, with selected coverage back to 1878) and the CAS Registry with information on 18 million substances. Also useful for biotechnology, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, food science and nuclear science. Available via the web which requires
registration
using your MU e-mail address.
[more]
Related resources:
Entrez Cross-Database Search Page from NCBI
Enter a search and see the number of hits in each of the 20+ databases from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), including Pubmed, OMIM, GenBank, and many more.
[more]
Haz-Map
Track occupational exposures by chemical, disorder, or occupation. Learn which occupations have a higher risk for which diseases, as well as the chemicals commonly encountered in different lines of work. From the Specialized Information Services branch of the National Library of Medicine.
[more]
Molecular Imaging and Contrast Agent Database
Information on structure, synthesis and uses of in vivo molecular agents developed for positron emission tomography (PET), single photon emission computed tomography (SPECT), magnetic resonance imaging (MRI), ultrasound (US), computed tomography (CT), optical imaging, and planar radiography, gamma imaging and other methods. Includes links to MEDLINE and other NIH and NCBI resources.
[more]
ProteinDBS
Search more than 50,000 chains of 3-D protein structures by ID or query by example to identify similar structures.
[more]
Additional Options
Databases A-Z
Databases by Subject
Resources by Type
Journals
Subject Research Guides
Off-Campus Access
Trial Databases
Mobile Databases