Skip to main content

Navigation

 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Databases for U.S. History (recent)

Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
Academic Search Complete Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 8,600 periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. [more]
America History and Life Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

America History and Life contains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,000 journals published worldwide. Covers all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. [more]
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. [more]
Google Book Search

Google Books contains the full text of books and magazines provided by libraries and publishers. Materials that are out of copyright (generally pre-1925) can be viewed online. For more recent books, Google Book Search functions as a detailed index. Books identified may be available at MU, via MOBIUS, or may be requested through ILL@MU. [more]
ProQuest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

ProQuest Congressional indexes congressional publications from 1789 to date and provides full text for much of it. This database also includes biographical, financial and voting information on current members of Congress. [more]
American Periodical Series Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

American Periodical Series Online is full-text collection of over 1,100 magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1900. [more]
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications

The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications is the primary catalog for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. [more]
CQ Weekly Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

CQ Weekly provides the CQ Weekly Congressional Quarterly’s magazine on government, commerce and politics. Complete source for expert coverage of the U.S. Congress, including status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering. [more]
Digital National Security Archive Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The Digital National Security Archive is a comprehensive collection of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. The Archive is organized into dozens of topical collections, each containing government documents declassified under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). [more]
Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Factiva contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. It also provides access to current issues and an archive of over 8,000 publications from around the globe. License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only. [more]
Geolytics' Neighborhood Change Database CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.

Geolytics' Neighborhood Change Database contains nation-wide tract-level data from the 1970, 1980, 1990 and 2000 decennial censuses. Combines U.S. Bureau of the Census data into one product with variables and tract boundaries that are consistently defined across census years. [more]
HeinOnline Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

HeinOnline contains a number of components or "libaries," including the LAW JOURNAL LIBRARY containing more than 1,400 law and law-related periodicals, the FEDERAL REGISTER LIBRARY containing proposed regulations back to 1936, the CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS LIBRARY dating to 1938, and the UNITED STATE CODE LIBRARY which is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. Also included are the U.S. STATUTES AT LARGE LIBRARY showing all federal legislation as it appeared when originally passed, and the TREATIES AND AGREEMENTS LIBRARY which contains all U.S. treaties whether currently in-force, expired, or not-yet officially published. [more]
Historic Missouri Newspaper Project

Historic Missouri Newspaper Project is a database of searchable full-image of some years from 14 Missouri newspapers. [more]
Historical Statistics of the United States Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Historical Statistics of the United States presents the numerical history of the United States. It contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history, all from the earliest times to the present. [more]
JSTOR Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

JSTOR is a full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Complement, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals from the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities. [more]
LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Lexis Nexis Academic offers access to the full-text of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the full-text of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). [more]
NewsBank Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Newsbank includes digital editions of the Kansas City Star and St. Louis Post Dispatch. It also includes Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876); U. S. Congressional Serial Set and Serial Set Maps (1817-1980); Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, (1639-1800); Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, (1801-1819); American State Papers, (1789-1838); World Newspaper Archive, which includes America's Historical Newspapers and African Newspapers. [more]
PressDisplay Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

PressDisplay provides the original format, layout and pagination for over 200 newspapers from over 50 countries. [more]
Project Muse Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Project Muse provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics. [more]
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

ProQuest Historical Newspapers digitally reproduces every issue of the New York Times (1851-2008) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and full-text searching of the newspaper. [more]
Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Readers Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. [more]
Vanderbilt Television News Archive Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The Vanderbilt Television News Archive includes over 835,000 records describing items of news content. Many of these records include video links for immediate viewing; the rest are available by loan. The core collection includes evening news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004). Special news broadcasts found in the Archive include political conventions, presidential speeches and press conferences, Watergate hearings, coverage of the Persian Gulf War, the events of September 11, 2001, the War in Afghanistan, and the War in Iraq. [more]