Skip to main content

Navigation

 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Databases for Religious Studies

Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
ATLA Religion Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

ATLA Religion Database contains citations from 3 print indexes published annually by ATLA (American Theological Library Association). Coverage is 1949 to date. [more]
JSTOR Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

JSTOR is a full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Complement, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals from the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities. [more]
Abbreviationes CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.

Abbreviationes is a searchable database of 50,000 medieval Latin paleographic abbreviations. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library in the Reference area. [more]
AnthroSource Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

AnthroSource covers current issues for 15 key American Anthropological Association publications, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly. Back issues of all AAA journals. [more]
Bible in English Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Bible in English is a collection of 20 different versions of the English Bible from the tenth to the twentieth century, including 12 full Bibles, 5 New Testament texts, 2 versions of the Gospels only, and translations by William Tyndale of the Pentateuch, Jonah and the New Testament. [more]
Bibliography of Asian Studies Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Bibliography of Asian Studies is an index to western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971. [more]
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. [more]
Human Relations Area File Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Human Relations Area File covers cultural anthropology, ethnographies of world cultures, especially developing countries and some U.S. immigrant groups. [more]
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

IMB covers all subjects pertaining to the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500. The database includes over 300,000 articles from about 4500 periodicals and 5000 volumes of conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues in many languages. [more]
Luther's Sermons CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.

Luther's Sermons offers searchable full-text of a collection of sermons of Martin Luther (1483-1546). Edited and translated by John Nicholas Lenker. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library. [more]
Luther's Works CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.

Luther's Works contains the translated works of Martin Luther in searchable, online full-text. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library. [more]
Online Medieval Sources Bibliography

This database provides a searchable bibliography of texts that were written in the Middle Ages and are now available in printed or online editions and translations. [more]
Oxford Reference Online Premium Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Oxford Reference Online Premium is a searchable database of over 100 reference works covering history, literature, art, religion, philosophy, law, science and many other areas. [more]
Philosopher's Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

This database is an index to articles on philosophy and related fields from 1940 to the present. [more]
PORTAL: The British Academy's Online Directory of Research Resources in the Humanities and Social Sciences

PORTAL covers the whole spectrum of the humanities and social sciences from the history of art to geographical information systems, and from labor history to the indigenous languages of Latin America. [more]
Project Muse Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Project Muse provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics. [more]