Skip to main content

Navigation

 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Databases for Physics

Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics is a major source of chemical and physical property data. It includes information on elements, inorganic compounds, organic compounds, physical constants, units and conversion factors, symbols, and nomenclature. [more]
Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, including open access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. [more]
arXiv

Index to over 500,000 e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. [more]
IOPScience Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

IOPscience is an online service for all journal content published by the Institute of Physics. It contains more than 300,000 articles, from 1874 to the present day. Also includes pre-prints from eprintweb.org (a free service, based on the arXiv.org at Cornell University), and editorial and news from IOP community websites. [more]
American Institute of Physics Journals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

American Institute of Physics Journals offers full-text coverage of most AIP journals. Coverage varies according to journal. [more]
Biological Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Biological Abstracts encompasses all disciplines of the life sciences. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. [more]
Compendex Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Compendex indexes technical and engineering journals, conference proceedings and papers, technical reports, and monographs. Subjects include all areas of engineering; transportation; management, mathematics, and physics; electronics and communications; computers and data processing, and instruments and measurements. [more]
IEEE Xplore Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Full-text access to IET/IEE (Institution of Engineering and Technology) Journals and IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) transactions, journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published since 1988 and all current IEEE standards. [more]
PMC - PubMed Central

The National Library of Medicine's digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, providing free access to the full text of articles. Includes a growing number of final, peer-reviewed author manuscripts by scientists who receive research funding from NIH and other funding agencies, in addition to articles from journals that deposit their content in the archive. Frequently confused with PubMed, a much larger database of close to 20 million journal article citations (some of which have full text links). [more]
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

SciFinder Scholar contains a comprehensive database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents (1907 - date, with selected coverage back to 1878) and the CAS Registry with information on 18 million substances. Also useful for biotechnology, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, food science and nuclear science. Available via the web which requires registration using your MU e-mail address. [more]
SciTech Connect

Database of free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information. SciTech Connect is a consolidation of two core DOE search engines, the Information Bridge and the Energy Citations Database.
Institute of Physics Journals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Institute of Physics Journals provides access to full-text coverage of approximately twenty journals from the Institute of Physics. [more]
SAO/NASA Astrophysical Data System

SAO/NASA Astrophysical Data System consists of three bibliographic databases: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics and ArXiv e-prints that are maintained by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory and funded by NASA. [more]