Databases for Journalism Studies
Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the
icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
Academic Search Complete
|
|
|
|
Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 8,600 periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals.
[more]
|
Communication and Mass Media Complete
|
|
|
|
Communication and Mass Media Complete is comprised of two databases, CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index and indexes journals, encyclopedias and handbooks in the area of communication studies.
[more]
|
NewsBank
|
|
|
|
Newsbank includes digital editions of the Kansas City Star and St. Louis Post Dispatch. It also includes Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876); U. S. Congressional Serial Set and Serial Set Maps (1817-1980); Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, (1639-1800); Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, (1801-1819); American State Papers, (1789-1838); World Newspaper Archive, which includes America's Historical Newspapers and African Newspapers.
[more]
|
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times
|
|
|
|
ProQuest Historical Newspapers digitally reproduces every issue of the New York Times (1851-2008) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and full-text searching of the newspaper.
[more]
|
America History and Life
|
|
|
|
America History and Life contains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,000 journals published worldwide. Covers all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present.
[more]
|
American Periodical Series Online
|
|
|
|
American Periodical Series Online is full-text collection of over 1,100 magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1900.
[more]
|
American State Papers, 1789-1838
|
|
|
|
American State Papers, 1789-1838, features not only new bibliographic records for every one of its 6,354 publications, but also
superior images created by digitizing every page of every publication from the print volumes issued between 1832 and 1861. Unlike the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, the publications in the American State Papers are not divided into reports and documents and do not include House and Senate journals. Approximately two-thirds of the publications cover the first 14 Congresses (1789-1817), whereas the remaining third chronologically overlap with the Serial Set from 1817-1838.
[more]
|
ArchiveGrid
|
|
|
|
ArchiveGrid is a resource for searching through nearly a million collection descriptions from thousands of libraries, museums, and archives.
[more]
|
Archives USA
|
|
|
|
Archives USA is a current directory of 5,596 repositories and 154,678 collections of primary source material across the United States. Using Archives USA, researchers can read descriptions of holdings of repositories to determine whether a collection contains material relevant to their work as well as find the information they need to contact the repository directly. C19 Index contains 61,647 records detailing the collections and repositories in the United States that hold 19th century research materials. Part of C19 database. No full text.
[more]
|
Associated Press Multimedia Archive
|
|
|
|
Associated Press Multimedia Archive provides access to photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text spanning 160 years of history.
[more]
|
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
|
|
|
|
C19 Index provides access to nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives.
[more]
|
Dissertation Abstracts
|
|
|
|
Dissertation Abstracts is the subject, title and author guide to virtually every American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions. It also includes many Canadian dissertations as well as dissertations form Europe and abstracts from Masters Abstracts.
[more]
|
HAPI - Hispanic American Periodicals Index
|
|
|
|
HAPI - Hispanic American Periodicals Index indexes articles from over 575 journals on all aspects of life in Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean and Hispanics in the United States.
[more]
|
Historical Abstracts
|
|
|
|
Secondary sources (journal articles, dissertations, some books) on the history of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Africa, with some links to full text.
[more]
|
Historical Statistics of the United States
|
|
|
|
Historical Statistics of the United States presents the numerical history of the United States. It contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history, all from the earliest times to the present.
[more]
|
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines
|
|
|
|
Contains 65,000 pages with articles, illustrations, cartoons and maps drawn from 49 periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers published from 1860 to 1865, from four viewpoints? Union, Confederate, Abolitionist, and British. Every page has been scanned to grayscale or color standards at up to 1200 dpi. The database also includes essays detailing the background and importance of each of the publications and on Civil War topics.
[more]
|
| In the First Person: An Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories and Personal Narratives | |
|
|
In the First Person is an in-depth index of more than 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world.
[more]
|
JSTOR
|
|
|
|
JSTOR is a full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Complement, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals from the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities.
[more]
|
MLA Directory of Periodicals
|
|
|
|
MLA Directory of Periodicals is a directory of over 3,700 periodicals in literature, language, linguistics, folklore.
[more]
|
Periodicals Index Online
|
|
|
|
Formerly known as Periodical Contents Index, Periodicals Index Online covers magazines and journals published worldwide from 1790 to 1919. Part of C19 database.
[more]
|
Project Muse
|
|
|
|
Project Muse provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics.
[more]
|
Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
|
|
|
|
Readers Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
[more]
|
U.S. Congressional Serial Set
|
|
|
|
The U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 is a vast primary source collection for U.S. political, social, cultural, military and ethnic history, as well as international relations, explorations, genealogy, commerce, industrial development and more.
[more]
|
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals
|
|
|
|
This database indexes British and American Periodicals from 1824-1900. Matches pseudonyms to actual authors. Part of C19 database. No full-text.
[more]
|