Skip to main content

Navigation

 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Databases for Genetics

Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
Entrez Cross-Database Search Page from NCBI Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Enter a search and see the number of hits in each of the 20+ databases from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), including Pubmed, OMIM, GenBank, and many more. [more]
PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The National Library of Medicine free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, including open access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. [more]
Annual Reviews Online Index

Search the full-text of Annual Reviews: Anthropology, Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biophysics and Biomolecular Structure, Cell Developmental Biology, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Energy and the Environment, Fluid Mechanics, Genetics, Immunology, Materials Science, Medicine, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Nuclear and Particle Science, Nutrition, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Physical Chemistry, Physiology, Phytopathology, Plant Physiology, Psychology, Public Health, and Sociology. [more]
Biological Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Biological Abstracts encompasses all disciplines of the life sciences. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. [more]
CSH Protocols Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A searchable, interactive collection of over 700 laboratory protocols, methods, and kits outlining new and classic research techniques in molecular and cellular biology, genetics, bioinformatics, protein science, and imaging. New submissions are welcomed. From the Cold Spring Harbor Laboratories.
DART Developmental and Reproductive Toxicology

Contains over 37,000 references to literature on agents that may cause birth defects. For references prior to 1989, search ETICBACK. [more]
DbGaP Genotype and Phenotype

Archives and distributes data from genome wide association (GWA) studies. GWA studies explore the association between specific genes (genotype information) and observable traits, such as blood pressure and weight, or the presence or absence of a disease or condition (phenotype information). Connecting phenotype and genotype data provides information about the genes that may be involved in a disease process or condition, which can be critical for better understanding the disease and for developing new diagnostic methods and treatments. From NCBI. [more]
GeneTests

A NIH-funded clinical information resource relating genetic testing to the diagnosis, management, and genetic counseling of individuals and families with specific inherited disorders. From the University of Washington - Seattle. Also available as part of the NCBI Bookshelf. [more]
Genetics home Reference: Your Guide to Understanding Genetic Conditions

The National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes responsible for those conditions [more]
GENE-TOX Genetic Toxicology Data Bank

Retrieve peer-reviewed mutagenicity data on over 2,000 chemicals. These expert reviews were themselves published in the Reviews in Genetic Toxicology section of MUTATION RESEARCH. The information for each test system includes species, sex, assay type, results, etc. and carries a **PEER REVIEWED** status tag. Each test system is referenced with a number identifying the study citation in the Environmental Mutagen Information Center file and a brief bibliographic citation for the original source paper and/or to the GENE-TOX panel report publication for the assay. To search, select GENE-TOX from the drop down search menu. [more]
Hedgehog

Locate resources on the Hedgehog Signaling Pathway, an essential cellular pathway required during embryogenesis of many organisms. Search by gene, disease, clinical trial, patent, and more. Find protocols, tissue cell lines, and reagents used by Hh pathway researchers. Produced by San Francisco State University. [more]
Jablonski's Multiple Congenital Anomaly/Mental Retardation (MCA/MR) Syndromes Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A dictionary of over 700 congenital syndromes and chromosomal aberrations which are associated with mental retardation, drawn from Stanley Jablonski's book, Dictionary of Syndromes and Eponymic Diseases. 2nd ed. Malabar, FL, Krieger, 1991. Includes bibliographies, and, where available, links to McKusick's Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man. As of 2004, no new updates are planned. [more]
MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
National Human Genome Research Institute Policy and Legislation Database

Locate federal and state laws/statutes, and federal legislative, administrative and executive materials related to genetic testing and its public policy implications. [more]
NCBI Databases Site Map

A starting point for searching gene sequences and molecular biology information found in GenBank/Entrez, RefSeq, OMIM, LocusLink, and more. Use the Entrez Cross-database Search Page to do a global search across all Entrez resources. [more]
OMIA: Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals

Database of genes, inherited disorders, and traits in more than 135 animal species other than human and mourse. Produced by University of Sydney.
Orphanet Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.

Lists information on orphan drugs in Europe, Japan, Australia, or the United States. Also includes descriptions of rare diseases, including current research projects. A diagnostic tool for 2300 dysmorphic syndromes allows searching by clinical findings. Maintained by a consortium of European partners. [more]