Skip to main content

Navigation

 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Databases for Film

Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
Art Full Text Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Art Index provides citations to articles and book reviews in about 270 periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published primarily in the U.S. and Europe. Includes archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, film, industrial and interior design, and photography. [more]
FIAF Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

FIAF indexes the film and television literature from 300 periodicals. [more]
Film Literature Index

FLI indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television. The periodicals range from the scholarly to the popular. [more]
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance as well as full-text for over 140 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, etc. [more]
LION: Literature Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

LION: Literature Online provides access to English language literature in full-text, reference works, bibliographies, web pages and full-text journals. [more]
Academic Search Complete Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 8,600 periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. [more]
Communication and Mass Media Complete Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Communication and Mass Media Complete is comprised of two databases, CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index and indexes journals, encyclopedias and handbooks in the area of communication studies. [more]
Complete Index to World Film CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.

This catalog of over 300,000 films produced worldwide from 1890-2001 provides credits, production information, and references to reviews. [more]
Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Factiva contains business and financial data on companies from around the world. It also provides access to current issues and an archive of over 8,000 publications from around the globe. License terms restrict access to MU students, faculty, and staff only. [more]
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. [more]
Google Book Search

Google Books contains the full text of books and magazines provided by libraries and publishers. Materials that are out of copyright (generally pre-1925) can be viewed online. For more recent books, Google Book Search functions as a detailed index. Books identified may be available at MU, via MOBIUS, or may be requested through ILL@MU. [more]
JSTOR Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

JSTOR is a full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Complement, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals from the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities. [more]
LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Lexis Nexis Academic offers access to the full-text of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the full-text of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). [more]
Literary Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references more than 165,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 215,000 titles into one source. [more]
Movie Review Query Engine


New York Times Movie Reviews


Project Muse Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Project Muse provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics. [more]
Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Readers Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. [more]