Skip to main content

Navigation

 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Databases for Nineteenth Century Literature

Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

C19 Index provides access to nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. [more]
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers covers 1801-1919. Covers social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how British laws were created. [more]
Index to English Literary Periodicals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Index to English Literary Periodicals is an index to articles on all subjects in English periodicals from the 1680s to the 1860s. Cover literary, science, religion, philosophy, history, economics, political science, music, art and theater as well. [more]
Palmer's Index to the Times Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

This index covers the London Times newspaper from 1790-1905. Part of C19 database. The MU Libraries has the London Times on microfilm in the Special Collections department. [more]
Periodicals Index Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Formerly known as Periodical Contents Index, Periodicals Index Online covers magazines and journals published worldwide from 1790 to 1919. Part of C19 database. [more]
Romantic Age, The CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.

The Romantic Age includes 18 volumes of correspondence of significant British writers of the romantic era, such as Blake, Burns, Shelley, Maria Edgeworth, Jane Austen, Samuel Wesley. This CD-ROM is available at the Ellis Library Reference Workstation, in the SW corner of the Information Commons. [more]
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

This database indexes British and American Periodicals from 1824-1900. Matches pseudonyms to actual authors. Part of C19 database. No full-text. [more]