Databases for English Language & Literature
Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the
icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
ABELL
|
|
|
|
ABELL lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctorial dissertations dealing with the study of literature and linguistic published anywhere in the world. Coverage is 1920 to date.
[more]
|
LION: Literature Online
|
|
|
|
LION: Literature Online provides access to English language literature in full-text, reference works, bibliographies, web pages and full-text journals.
[more]
|
LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
|
|
|
|
LLBA indexes over 1,500 journals and additional books, dissertations and other media covering all aspects of linguistics, speech, language and hearing pathology.
[more]
|
MLA International Bibliography
|
|
|
|
MLA indexes critical scholarship in the modern languages, literatures, linguistics and folklore.
[more]
|
Oxford English Dictionary Online
|
|
|
|
Contains etymologies, definitions and usage of English worldwide, from 1150 to the present.
[more]
|
American Periodical Series Online
|
|
|
|
American Periodical Series Online is full-text collection of over 1,100 magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1900.
[more]
|
British Periodicals
|
|
|
|
Offers facsimile page images and searchable full text for nearly 500 British periodicals published from the 17th through the early 20th centuries.
[more]
|
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index
|
|
|
|
C19 Index provides access to nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives.
[more]
|
Communication and Mass Media Complete
|
|
|
|
Communication and Mass Media Complete is comprised of two databases, CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index and indexes journals, encyclopedias and handbooks in the area of communication studies.
[more]
|
Early American Imprints Series I Evans (1639-1800)
|
|
|
|
Searchable pdf's of material published in Colonial America and the early U.S. In addition to searching, the collection may be browsed by topic (e.g., Genre: Songs, Economics: Liquor Traffic, History: Louisiana Purchase)
[more]
|
Early American Imprints Series II Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819)
|
|
|
|
Searchable pdf's of material published in the U.S. in the early 19th Century. In addition to searching, the collection may be browsed by topic (e.g., Genre: Satires, Peoples: Illinois Indians, Government: Church and State)
[more]
|
Early American Newspapers. Series I, 1690-1876
|
|
|
|
This collection provides images and full-text content access to a selection of historic newspapers based on Clarence Brigham's authoritative bibliography, History and Bibliography of American Newspapers, 1690-1820 and additional subsequent bibliographies.
[more]
|
Early English Books Online
|
|
|
|
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Access provided through a partnership of the English Department, the College of Arts and Science and the MU Libraries.
[more]
|
ECCO - Eighteenth Century Collections Online
|
|
|
|
Based on the English Short Title Catalogue, nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 will be made available online over the course of the next two years.
[more]
|
Electronic Enlightenment
|
|
|
|
Electronic Enlightenment is a digital collection of over 58,000 letters and documents from over 7000 people, both “great men” and common people, from the 17th to mid-19th centuries from Europe, the Americas, and Asia. Biographical notes, annotations, and cross-reference links facilitate research on the exchange of information in this period.
[more]
|
| Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index | |
|
|
Feminae covers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages.
[more]
|
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text
|
|
|
|
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance as well as full-text for over 140 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, etc.
[more]
|
Literature Arts and Medicine Database
|
|
|
|
An database of prose, poetry, film and art works dealing with health and medicine. Searchable by medium, author/creator, title, era, and subject.
[more]
|
MasterPlots Complete
|
|
|
|
MasterPlots Complete contains plot summaries, brief critical essays, author biographies for fiction, non-fiction, poetry, drama worldwide. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library.
[more]
|
MLA Directory of Periodicals
|
|
|
|
MLA Directory of Periodicals is a directory of over 3,700 periodicals in literature, language, linguistics, folklore.
[more]
|
Oxford Reference Online Premium
|
|
|
|
Oxford Reference Online Premium is a searchable database of over 100 reference works covering history, literature, art, religion, philosophy, law, science and many other areas.
[more]
|
Palmer's Index to the Times
|
|
|
|
This index covers the London Times newspaper from 1790-1905. Part of C19 database. The MU Libraries has the London Times on microfilm in the Special Collections department.
[more]
|
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature
|
|
|
|
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature indexes British and American periodicals from 1824-1900. Matches pseudonyms to actual authors. Part of the C19 databases. No full-text.
[more]
|
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times
|
|
|
|
ProQuest Historical Newspapers digitally reproduces every issue of the New York Times (1851-2008) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and full-text searching of the newspaper.
[more]
|
Race Relations Abstracts
|
|
|
|
Indexes over 300 publications that deal with race and related topics worldwide.
[more]
|
Romantic Age, The
|
|
|
|
The Romantic Age includes 18 volumes of correspondence of significant British writers of the romantic era, such as Blake, Burns, Shelley, Maria Edgeworth, Jane Austen, Samuel Wesley. This CD-ROM is available at the Ellis Library Reference Workstation, in the SW corner of the Information Commons.
[more]
|
Wellesley Index to Victorian Periodicals
|
|
|
|
This database indexes British and American Periodicals from 1824-1900. Matches pseudonyms to actual authors. Part of C19 database. No full-text.
[more]
|
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
|
|
|
|
International in scope, The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online covers Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1961 and 2008. Publications range from 1961 to 2008.
[more]
|
Academic Search Complete
|
|
|
|
Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 8,600 periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals.
[more]
|
Bible in English
|
|
|
|
Bible in English is a collection of 20 different versions of the English Bible from the tenth to the twentieth century, including 12 full Bibles, 5 New Testament texts, 2 versions of the Gospels only, and translations by William Tyndale of the Pentateuch, Jonah and the New Testament.
[more]
|
Gale Virtual Reference Library
|
|
|
|
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research.
[more]
|
GenderWatch
|
|
|
|
GenderWatch is a database of periodicals and newsletters that focus on women and women's issues.
[more]
|
| Google Book Search | |
|
|
Google Books contains the full text of books and magazines provided by libraries and publishers. Materials that are out of copyright (generally pre-1925) can be viewed online. For more recent books, Google Book Search functions as a detailed index. Books identified may be available at MU, via MOBIUS, or may be requested through ILL@MU.
[more]
|
Google Scholar
|
|
|
|
Google Scholar Instructions are provided for setting up Find it at MU in your Google Scholar search. This will enable you to link from your Google search results to the full-text resources provided by the MU Libraries.
[more]
|
| In the First Person: An Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories and Personal Narratives | |
|
|
In the First Person is an in-depth index of more than 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world.
[more]
|
JSTOR
|
|
|
|
JSTOR is a full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Complement, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals from the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities.
[more]
|
Literary Index
|
|
|
|
Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references more than 165,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 215,000 titles into one source.
[more]
|
Project Muse
|
|
|
|
Project Muse provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics.
[more]
|
Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982
|
|
|
|
Readers Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America.
[more]
|
WorldCat
|
|
|
|
WorldCat is the OCLC Online Union Catalog containing over 95 million records catalogued by OCLC member libraries covering books and other materials held in libraries worldwide.
[more]
|