Skip to main content

Navigation

 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Databases for Consumer Health

Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
Consumer Health Complete Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Consumer Health Complete is a comprehensive resource for consumer-oriented health content. It provides content covering all areas of health and wellness from mainstream medicine to the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated medicine. It includes the Clinical Reference System (including McKesson's Health Advisor series), and the Lexi-PAL Drug Guide, which provides access to up-to-date, concise and clinically relevant drug monographs. Access provided by MOREnet.
Genetics home Reference: Your Guide to Understanding Genetic Conditions

The National Library of Medicine's web site for consumer information about genetic conditions and the genes responsible for those conditions [more]
MedlinePlus

The premier consumer health gateway from the National Library Medicine. Contents include a medical encyclopedia, drug information and links to evaluated health information. [more]
ClinicalTrials.gov

A Sponsored by NIH and the National Library of Medicine, this site allows patients and health care providers to search for clinical trials by name of trial location, disease or condition, age group and treatment. [more]
Ebsco Host Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Indexes about 2600 popular magazines, with complete text available for about 1/3 of the titles. Coverage for most magazines begins with 1993. Of particular interest is the inclusion of the complete text for over 600 consumer health pamplets. Provided courtesy of MORENET. [more]
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. [more]
Nursing Home Compare

Database to compare nursing homes. Also includes links to Guide to Choosing a Nursing Home and Nursing Home Checklist.