Skip to main content

Navigation

 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Databases for Biology

Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
Biological Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Biological Abstracts encompasses all disciplines of the life sciences. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. [more]
Biological Abstracts/Zoological Record Combined Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Biological Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal literature in the life sciences. Zoological Record indexes and abstracts zoological literature including journals, conference proceedings and books. See the entries for each individual database for more information. [more]
Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, including open access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. [more]
PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The National Library of Medicine free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
Environment Complete Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Environment Complete covers agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, environmental technology & law, urban planning and more. It includes full-text from over 920 journals and 190 monographs.
JSTOR Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

JSTOR is a full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Complement, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals from the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities. [more]
Ornithological Worldwide Literature

Citations and abstracts from the worldwide scientific literature that pertain to the science of ornithology. Includes journals, conference proceedings, reports and doctoral dissertations. Excludes domestic and pet birds.
BioOne Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

provides full-text access to over 80 bioscience journals published by small societies and noncommercial publishers. [more]
Fish, Fisheries and Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Provides citations and some abstracts on all aspects of ichthyology, fisheries, and related aspects of aquaculture. [more]
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

SciFinder Scholar contains a comprehensive database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents (1907 - date, with selected coverage back to 1878) and the CAS Registry with information on 18 million substances. Also useful for biotechnology, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, food science and nuclear science. Available via the web which requires registration using your MU e-mail address. [more]
SORA--Searchable Ornithological Research Archive

SORA,an open access electronic journal archive, is the product of a collaboration between the American Ornithologists Union, the Cooper Ornithological Society, the Association of Field Ornithologists, the Wilson Ornithological Society and the University of New Mexico libraries and IT department. This archive provides access to an extensive Ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of Ornithology in North America over the last 120 years. [more]
Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide indexes literature on wild mammals, birds, reptiles, and amphibians. All aspects of wildlife and wildlife management are covered. [more]
Zoological Record Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Zoological Record indexes and abstracts worldwide zoological literature. All major areas of zoology are represented, including: behavior, ecology, evolution, habitat, nutrition, parasitology, reproduction, taxonomy, and zoogeography. [more]