Skip to main content

Navigation

 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Databases for Art & Art History

Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
Art Full Text Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Art Index citations to articles and book reviews in about 270 periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published primarily in the U.S. and Europe. Includes archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, film, industrial and interior design, and photography. [more]
ARTStor Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Partial funding was provided by the Student Fee Capital Improvement Committee. [more]
Avery Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Avery Index indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design and historic preservation. Coverage is from the early 1930's to date. [more]
Bibliography of the History of Art Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Bibliography of the History of Art covers the current literature of European art from the 4th century to the present, and of North and South American art from the European discovery of the Americas to the present. Free access provided by The Getty. [more]
CAMIO Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

CAMIO offers art images that are rights-cleared for educational use. There are about 95,000 art images—photographs, paintings, sculpture, decorative and utilitarian objects, prints, drawings and watercolors, jewelry and costumes, textiles and architecture—plus audio, video and mixed media. [more]
International Bibliography of Art Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

IBA indexes scholarly literature on western art. Subject coverage includes fine arts, decorative arts, museum studies, archaeology, folk art, material culture, classical studies, antiques and architectural history. IBA is the successor to the Bibliography of the History of Art. [more]
JSTOR Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

JSTOR is a full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Complement, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals from the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities. [more]