Skip to main content

Navigation

 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Databases for U.S. History (19th century)

Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.
Academic Search Complete Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 8,600 periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. [more]
America History and Life Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

America History and Life contains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,000 journals published worldwide. Covers all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. [more]
Early American Imprints Series II Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Searchable pdf's of material published in the U.S. in the early 19th Century. In addition to searching, the collection may be browsed by topic (e.g., Genre: Satires, Peoples: Illinois Indians, Government: Church and State) [more]
JSTOR Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

JSTOR is a full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Complement, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals from the sciences, social sciences and arts and humanities. [more]
Project Muse Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Project Muse provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics. [more]