Skip to main content

Navigation

 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries
Name of Database:
A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Try First: Resources for Research
Didn't find what you needed? Try our Online Chat or Ask a Librarian email.

Databases starting with "S":
Safari Tech Books Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Provides full-text access to over 9,000 books online covering technology, digital media and business. [more]
Sage Encyclopedia of Qualitative Research Methods Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: encyclopedia of qualitative research methods

An interdisciplinary approach to the field of qualitative research, providing background information on concepts that inform qualitative research practices.
Sage Journals Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Sage Journals Online provides full-text access to over 485 journals in Business, Humanities, Social Sciences, Science, Technology, and Medicine from Sage. [more]
SAO/NASA Astrophysical Data System

SAO/NASA Astrophysical Data System consists of three bibliographic databases: Astronomy and Astrophysics, Physics and ArXiv e-prints that are maintained by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory and funded by NASA. [more]
Science (General) Databases


Science Accelerator

The Science Accelerator searches simultaneously across key Department of Energy resources, including the OSTI full-text DOE Information Bridge (1991), the E-Print Network, the EnergyFiles, and DOE Patents. Provided by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information. [more]
Science Magazine Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Science Magazine Online provides searchable full-text articles from Science Magazine from 1995 to present. [more]
Science of Synthesis Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Science of Synthesis provides comprehensive information on synthetic methods for all classes of organic compounds. It includes the complete backfiles of Houben Weyl Methods of Organic Chemistry with references dating back to 1835. [more]
Science Reference Center Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Science Reference Center contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife. Access provided by MOREnet.
ScienceDirect Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A search engine for journals published by Elsevier. Select Images to search over 15 million photos, tables, figures, graphs and videos in Elsevier journals. [more]
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

ScienceDirect Freedom Collection provides access to all live journals published by Elsevier; online book series and discontinued journals are not included. The publisher specializes in life science, physical science, and engineering. There are over 1,600 journals included in the trial, of which more than 1,100 are new to this campus. More than 200 of these new journals have impact factors equal to or greater than 2. [more]
Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Scientific and Technical Acronyms, Symbols and Abbreviations is a searchable, online resource providing over 200,000 entries covering the abbreviations, symbols and acronyms used in science and technology, coveirng such subjects as chemical symbols, scientific associations and societies, units of measure, and professional credentials. [more]
SciFinder Scholar - Registration Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

In order to use SciFinder Scholar, you must first register for an account using your MU email address.
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Chemical Abstracts

SciFinder Scholar contains a comprehensive database of chemical and chemical engineering literature including patents (1907 - date, with selected coverage back to 1878) and the CAS Registry with information on 18 million substances. Also useful for biotechnology, toxicology, environmental science, medicine, food science and nuclear science. Available via the web which requires registration using your MU e-mail address. [more]
Scirus

Scirus is a free search engine for scientific information on the web that covers journal articles, e-print archives, patents, technical reports and scientific web sites. [more]
SciTech Connect
Also Known as: Information Bridge; Energy Citations Database

Database of free, publicly-available DOE-sponsored R&D results including technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information. SciTech Connect is a consolidation of two core DOE search engines, the Information Bridge and the Energy Citations Database.
SciVerse Hub
Also Known as: SciVerse

Search engine for over 18 journal publishers including Elsevier, Sage and Springer. Also searches the full-text of both U.S. and international patents, the contents of repositories from around the world and academic and government websites.
Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, including open access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. [more]
Scopus PMID Cited Reference Search Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: PMID pubmed citation index search

Enter a PMID (PubMed Identifier) number to find times cited information in Scopus. PMIDs can be copied and pasted from UpToDate, AccessMedicine, and other online textbooks. Scopus includes cited references primarily for articles published after 1996. [more]
Scopus: Recent MU Faculty Publications Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Scopus MU authors

View the 2000 most recent articles by MU researchers added to the Scopus database. The page may take up to a minute to load.
Searchasaurus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Designed for users in elementary or middle schools. It is an animated interface with a dinosaur theme that encourages students to enhance and develop basic search methodologies. Searchasaurus offers Lexile limiters (reading level), making it easy for students to read and research only appropriately challenging materials.
Shakespeare Audio Plays Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Smith's Patient-Centered Interviewing: an Evidence-Based Method Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Patient-Centered Interviewing: an Evidence-Based Method


Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Rev. Ed.) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Smithsonian Physical Tables (9th Rev. Ed.) comprises 901 tables of common physical and chemical data. The information provided is broad in scope. It is of general interest to scientists and engineers, and of particular interest to those involved with physics in its larger sense. [more]
Smoking and Health Databases Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.

Literature on the scientific, medical, technical, policy, behavioral, legal, and historical aspects of smoking and tobacco use and its health effects. Includes abstracts of hard to find conference proceedings and government documents, many with historical significance. Although most items have been published since 1965, several records date back to the 1800s. From the Office of Smoking and Health, Centers for Disease Control. [more]
Social Services Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

CSA Social Services Abstracts provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. [more]
Social trends & indicators USA Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Provides in-depth statistics on social issues with expert analyses. Data is drawn from Federal agencies, newspapers and stock exchanges. Individual volumes are titled: 1. Work & Leisure; 2. Community & Education; 3. Health & Illness; and 4. Crime & Justice. 2003 edition.
Social Trends and Indicators Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Provides in-depth statistics on social issues with expert analyses. Data is drawn from Federal agencies, newspapers and stock exchanges. Individual volumes are titled: 1. Work & Leisure; 2. Community & Education; 3. Health & Illness; and 4. Crime & Justice. [more]
Social Work Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Social Work Abstracts contains more than 45,000 records from approximately 300 social work and other related journals, and social work dissertations. [more]
Social Work Databases


Sociological Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: sociology

CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. [more]
Sociology Databases


Soil Science Databases


SORA--Searchable Ornithological Research Archive

SORA,an open access electronic journal archive, is the product of a collaboration between the American Ornithologists Union, the Cooper Ornithological Society, the Association of Field Ornithologists, the Wilson Ornithological Society and the University of New Mexico libraries and IT department. This archive provides access to an extensive Ornithological literature of international scope, and detailed material documenting the history of Ornithology in North America over the last 120 years. [more]
Spanish Language and Literature Databases
Also Known as: Language and Literature, Spanish


SPIN Web Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: AIP Journals; Scitation

SPIN indexes AIP (physics) journals. SPIN database includes bibliographic records and abstracts for more than 1.5 million articles from major physical science journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the American Institute of Physics, its member societies, and other affiliated organizations.
SpringerLink Journals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Springer provides its electronic book and journal content on its SpringerLink site, which launched in 1996. SpringerLink is operated by MetaPress, a division of Ebsco.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

NetAdvantage provides information on companies, industries, stocks, mutual funds and the economy. Sources include Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Bond Reports and Corporation Records. The type of information includes, but is not limited to, financial statistics, commentary, and directory listings, e.g., security dealers. The Industry Surveys is an excellent resource to locate information on 53 industries. The Mutual Funds section provides a quote, name of fund manager, rate of return, and sector allocations. [more]
STAT!-REF Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

STAT!-REF is a library of textbooks and drug compendia. Drug information, psychiatry, and obstetrics are especially well represented. [more]
Statistical Abstract of the United States 1878-2012
Also Known as: Statistical Abstracts of the United States

As the National Data Book it contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Free access provided by the United States Census Bureau ended in 2012; subsequent editions have been issued by Proquest.
Statistical Abstract of the United States 2013 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Stat Abstract; statistical abstracts; statistical abstract of the US

The Statistical Abstract of the United States is a one-volume, comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. [more]
Statistics Databases


Student Research Center Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A search interface designed specifically for secondary school students, according to their needs and search abilities.
Subject Compilations of State Laws (Hein Online) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

[more]
Summon@MU
Also Known as: Summon ; Summons

Summon is a simple and fast search engine that helps you discover relevant information on any topic from the University of Missouri Library collections. It is the place to start your research in scholarly journals, books, videos, maps, manuscript collections, music scores and more. From your search results, it's one step to the full text of articles or you can see if a book is on the shelf. Summon is still growing. Features continue to improve, and more content is being added regularly.
Summon@MU - Book Reviews Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Search for book reviews through Summon@MU.
Symptom to Diagnosis: An Evidence-Based Guide Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Systematic Musculoskeletal Examinations Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Chat

Additional Options

Already have a citation?

Or
PMID
Or
DOI

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST
  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
You MUST NOT
  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources