Skip to main content

Navigation

 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries
Name of Database:
A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Try First: Resources for Research
Didn't find what you needed? Try our Online Chat or Ask a Librarian email.

Databases starting with "P":
PAIS Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

PAIS covers the range of the social sciences, with emphasis on national and international economic, political and public policy issues. [more]
Paley Center for Media iCollection - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri [please give feedback here]

The Paley Center for Media iCollection research database provides Internet streaming access to more than 20,000 TV shows and radio programs spanning nearly 100 years of broadcasting history. Microsoft's SilverLight plug-in must be installed. All users are required to register with an individual username/password to access. Trial ends May 31, 2013.
Palmer's Index to the Times Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

This index covers the London Times newspaper from 1790-1905. Part of C19 database. The MU Libraries has the London Times on microfilm in the Special Collections department. [more]
PAN Pesticides Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Search by active ingredient, (including CAS Registry Numbers) product name, or product category to discover uses, toxicity, and regulatory status of pesticides. From the Pesticides Action Network of North America. [more]
PapersFirst Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

PapersFirst contains citations to papers presented at congresses worldwide. [more]
Parks, Recreation, & Tourism


Pathology: the big picture Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Patient History: an Evidence-Based Approach to Differential Diagnosis Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


PDQ Clinical Trial Search Form

Provides a search of the web site for cancer clinical trials by diagnosis, phase, trial type, sponsorship, modality, drug and facility location. [more]
PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Clinical trials and systematic reviews on the effectiveness of physical therapy interventions published in peer reviewed journals. All items are scored on methodological quality, and search results are ranked by methodological score. From the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at the University of Sydney. [more]
Periodicals Index Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Formerly known as Periodical Contents Index, Periodicals Index Online covers magazines and journals published worldwide from 1790 to 1919. Part of C19 database. [more]
Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook (7th ed) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook (7th ed) is a user's guide and databook which examines every aspect - science, technology, engineering, properties, design, processing, and applications - of the continuing development and use of polypropylene. [more]
PERSEE

[more]
Pharmacology Databases


PharmacyChecker.com

Compare unit and total (including shipping) costs for drugs in the United States and Canada from pharmacies that sell online, via mail order or fax.
Philobiblon

Philobiblon is a portion of a union catalog of primary medieval materials in Romance languages of the Iberian peninsula and related secondary materials. Full database only accessible on CD-ROM within Ellis Library. [more]
Philosopher's Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

This database is an index to articles on philosophy and related fields from 1940 to the present. [more]
Philosophy Databases


Physical Education Databases


Physical Education Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Physical Education Index includes physical education, sports, dance, recreation, health education, physical therapy, and related subject areas. Coverage includes peer-reviewed journals, report literature, conference proceedings, trade magazines, patents, articles from the popular press, and many other publications. [more]
Physical Therapy Databases


Physics Databases


PIER - Physicians' Information and Education Resource Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: physican information and education resource ; physican's information & education resource

Synthesizes and summarizes the best evidence on over 400 diseases, procedures, and more. From the American College of Physicians. Access provided by the MAHEC Digital Library. Please logout when finished.
PILOTS - Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress

Indexes world literature on traumatic stress disorder. Although it's created/maintained by the US Department of Veterans Affairs, it covers all types of traumatic stress, not just post-combat stress syndromes. [more]
Plant Management Network

Plant Management Network provides access to fact sheets, newsletters, product listings, training resources and related information. [more]
Plant Sciences Databases


Plants Toxic to Animals

Information on identifying common plants toxic to animals. Search plants by common or scientific names. Produced by University of Illinois.
PMC - PubMed Central
Also Known as: pub med central ; pmc ; pubmedcentral

The National Library of Medicine's digital archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature, providing free access to the full text of articles. Includes a growing number of final, peer-reviewed author manuscripts by scientists who receive research funding from NIH and other funding agencies, in addition to articles from journals that deposit their content in the archive. Frequently confused with PubMed, a much larger database of close to 20 million journal article citations (some of which have full text links). [more]
POISINDEX Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.

The POISINDEX System identifies ingredients for over 1 million household, cosmetic, commercial, harmaceutical and biological products and chemicals. Each substance is linked to one or more management documents providing informationon clinical effects, range of toxicity and treatment protocals for exposures involving the substances. Only accessible at University of Missouri Health Care facilities. [more]
Poisonous Plants Informational Database

Botany, chemistry, toxicology, diagnosis, and prevention of poisoning of animals by plants and other natural flora. Includes plant images and images of affected animals. From Cornell University. [more]
Political Science Databases


Poole's Index to Periodical Literature Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature indexes British and American periodicals from 1824-1900. Matches pseudonyms to actual authors. Part of the C19 databases. No full-text. [more]
Population Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Provides a searchable index to the entire Population Index database for 1986-2000 (Volumes 52-66), plus annual Geographic Indexes. This bibliography is designed to cover the world's demographic and population literature. [more]
PORTAL: The British Academy's Online Directory of Research Resources in the Humanities and Social Sciences

PORTAL covers the whole spectrum of the humanities and social sciences from the history of art to geographical information systems, and from labor history to the indigenous languages of Latin America. [more]
Portuguese Language and Literature Databases
Also Known as: Language and Literature, Portuguese


Practice Guidelines: American Association for the Study of Liver Diseases
Also Known as: aasld guidelines ; liver guidelines

Recommended for PBL Block 7.
Practice Guidelines: American College of Gastroenterology
Also Known as: ACG guidelines

Recommended for PBL Block 7
Practice Guidelines: American Gastroenterological Association
Also Known as: AGA guidelines

Recommended for PBL Block 7
PreMEDLINE Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: MEDLINE In-Process & Other Non-Indexed Citations

PreMEDLINE provides basic citation information of articles currently being indexed for MEDLINE. [more]
PressDisplay Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

PressDisplay provides the original format, layout and pagination for over 200 newspapers from over 50 countries. [more]
Primary Search Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Primary Search provides searchable full-text of nearly 70 of the most popular K-12 magazines. Access provided by MOREnet. [more]
PrimateLit

Search for information on nonhuman primates in journal articles, books, meeting abstracts, technical reports, dissertations and book chapters. Covers a variety of subject areas, including behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography. Part of the University of Wisconsin's Primate Info Net (PIN). [more]
Principles and Practice of Hospital Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


ProceedingsFirst Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

ProceedingsFirst is an index of worldwide conference proceedings, as well as a list of papers presented at various meetings. [more]
Professional Development Collection Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals, including more than 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Access provided by MOREnet.
Project Muse Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Project Muse provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics. [more]
ProQuest Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Lexis Nexis Congressional

ProQuest Congressional indexes congressional publications from 1789 to date and provides full text for much of it. This database also includes biographical, financial and voting information on current members of Congress. [more]
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Searchable full-image of the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975). [more]
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The Chicago Defender (1910-1975) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue. [more]
ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: New York Times;historical New York Times; NYT

ProQuest Historical Newspapers digitally reproduces every issue of the New York Times (1851-2008) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and full-text searching of the newspaper. [more]
ProQuest Legislative Insight Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A legislative history reveals the intent behind a specific law. Legislative histories are helpful to students preparing for careers in public health, education, business, or any other discipline subject to Federal regulation. This database provides searchable full text PDFs for Public Laws and for all versions of bills leading up to those laws. In addition, it presents just the relevant portions of the Congressional Record along with committee hearings, reports, and prints. Also included are Presidential signing statements, Congressional Research Service reports, and other congressional publications related to the law.
ProQuest Newsstand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

ProQuest Newsstand contains over 850 newspapers with access to 575 full-text titles. With titles like the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and major regionals like the Los Angeles Times, Chicago Tribune, Washington Post and the Boston Globe, users can also find access to international, national, and regional news. Coverage: 1980's to present. [more]
ProQuest Statistical Data Sets Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: ProQuest Statistical Datasets; Pro quest

Provides data visualization for more than 500 datasets from government and private industry, both domestic and international. Emphasis is in 20th century U.S. economic data and includes diverse subjects such as health, politics, demographics, social services and environmental data. Time spans vary by topic. Charting, plotting and mapping options available. Export data into MS Excel, XML, PDF, or into shape files for GIS.
ProQuest Technology Collection Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX, CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, and the CSA Engineering Research Database, TRD, Technology Research Database, ProQuest Technology Collection

ProQuest Technology Collection indexes over 16 million abstracts, over 7.7 million tables and figures, and includes over 2,700 full text journals. It is comprised of ProQuest Advanced Technologies with Aerospace Collection; ProQuest Materials Science Collection; ProQuest Engineering Collection; ProQuest Computer Science Collection; and ProQuest Illustrata: Technology. Coverage starts from 1962. [more]
ProteinDBS

Search more than 50,000 chains of 3-D protein structures by ID or query by example to identify similar structures. [more]
PsycCRITIQUES - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri [please give feedback here]

A database of full-text book reviews featuring current scholarly and professional books in psychology. It also publishes reviews from a psychological perspective of popular films and trade books. Includes approximately 40,000 reviews dating back to 1956. Trial ends June 30, 2013. [more]
PsycEXTRA - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri [please give feedback here]

This database complements PsycINFO with extensive coverage of gray literature relating to psychology and the behavioral sciences; it contains around 200,000 records that are not indexed in any other APA database. The document types included in PsycEXTRA consist of technical, annual and government reports, conference papers, newsletters, magazines, newspapers, consumer brochures and more. Trial ends June 30, 2013. [more]
Psychology Databases


PsycINFO Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Psychological Abstracts

Locate articles in articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. From the American Psychological Association. Includes a feature to suggest productive search terms to guide users to relevant results. [more]
PsycINFO with PsycARTICLES Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: psychological abstracts

PsycINFO contains references to articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. With the inclusion of PsycARTICLES, over 149,000 full-text articles from more than 70 journals published by the American Psychological Association and participating publishers are provided. [more]
PubChem

Locate information on structure and biological activity of over 800,000 small organic molecules. Search by substance, bioassay or compound. Information is imported from 14 public sources, including ChemID plus. Structure and similarity searching are also supported. From the National Center for Biotechnology Information, it includes links to other Pubmed Entrez databases. [more]
PubGet Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: pub get

A search engine for pdfs in the sciences from PubMed, IEEE and arXiv. Search by topic or set up journal title alerts. Supported by advertising. [more]
Public Policy Databases


PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The National Library of Medicine free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
Chat

Additional Options

Already have a citation?

Or
PMID
Or
DOI

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST
  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
You MUST NOT
  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources