Skip to main content

Navigation

 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries
Name of Database:
A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Try First: Resources for Research
Didn't find what you needed? Try our Online Chat or Ask a Librarian email.

Databases starting with "N":
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)

NTRS provides access to approximately 500K aerospace related citations, 90K full-text online documents, and 111K images and videos. The type of information found in NTRS include: conference papers, images, journal articles, photos, meeting papers, movies, patents, research reports, and technical videos. [more]
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Also Known as: NCJRS

(NCJRS) contains summaries of over 180,000 criminal justice publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles and unpublished research. This is a good source for statistics and it links to the full-text NCJRS Virtual Library. [more]
National Drug Code Directory

Trade name, dosage form, National Drug Code, active ingredients, strength and packaging information for all commercially distributed presciption drugs, as well as a few selected OTC products. From the Food and Drug Administration. [more]
National Guideline Clearinghouse

National Guideline Clearinghouse is a public resource for evidence-based clinical practice guidelines. In addition to searching or browsing for guidelines, results can be displayed in tabular format to allow for comparison. [more]
National Health Service Economic Evaluation Database (EED)

With over 6000 abstracts of quality assessed economic evaluations, the database aims to assist decision-makers by systematically identifying and describing economic evaluations, appraising their quality and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses. Published by the Cochrane Collaboration with funding from the British National Health Service. Can be searched as part of EBMR Evidence Based Medicine Reviews. [more]
National Health Service Health Technology Assessment Database

Locate descriptions of systematic reviews, ongoing and completed trials assessing the impact of health technologies. Can be searched as part of EBMR - Evidence Based Medicine Reviews. From the INAHTA Secretariat, based at SBU, Sweden in conjunction with the Cochrane Collaboration. [more]
National Human Genome Research Institute Policy and Legislation Database

Locate federal and state laws/statutes, and federal legislative, administrative and executive materials related to genetic testing and its public policy implications. [more]
National Institutes of Health Office of Extramural Research

Information about federally funded research. Annual statistics showing amounts of NIH grant money received at higher education institutions, medical schools, and other health professional schools and nonprofits. Includes lists ranked by grant monies received. [more]
Native American Ethnobotany

A guide to plant derivatives used by Native Americans, including plants used for medicinal purposes. Search by plant name, tribe, or pharmacological action. Includes article references and links to the USDA Plants database. [more]
Native Health Research Database

Indexes health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. Can search by tribe, state, region/province in addition to MeSH subject searches. Older literature (back to 1652) can be found in the Native Health History Database. [more]
Natural Resources Databases


Natural Standard Herb and Supplement Information in MedlinePlus

Evidence based information on usage, indications, interactions and toxicity for over 100 herbals and supplements. From Natural Medicines Comprehensive Database. [more]
Nature journals CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.

Nature journals provides electronic access to the journal Nature and the 7 Nature research journals. [more]
Naxos Music Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Naxos Music Library provides online access to more than 34,000 CDs of western classical music , world music and jazz recordings. Every month approximately 500 new CDs are added. Tracks can be located by searching keyword searching or by browsing alphabetical lists. [more]
Naxos Video Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: NVL

A streaming video library of classical music performances, opera, ballet, live concerts, documentaries, and master classes. Over 555 videos and growing. [more]
NCBI Databases Site Map

A starting point for searching gene sequences and molecular biology information found in GenBank/Entrez, RefSeq, OMIM, LocusLink, and more. Use the Entrez Cross-database Search Page to do a global search across all Entrez resources. [more]
NCBI Images Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: pubmed images database ; pubmed central image database ; pubmed image database ; pubmed central images ; pmc images

The NCBI Images Database has now been folded into PubMed Central. To search for specific images on PubMed Central, go to the Advanced Search Page and search the [Figure/Table Caption] field. [more]
NCDC: National Climatic Data Center

Large archive of U.S. and world climatological data. Includes local climatological data. The University of Missouri-Columbia is considered an authorized user of this site so if you are affiliated with UMC, you can access the items online which have the notation "Free access by certain agencies and individuals (limited access only)".
NCJRS National Criminal Justice Reference Service Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: ncjrs

Covers over 189,000 criminal justice publications dating back to the 1970s. Subject areas include corrections, courts, drug abuse, law enforcement, juvenile justice, crime statistics, domestic preparedness, and victims. In addition to journal articles, federal, state, and local government reports, books, research reports, and unpublished research are also included. From the U.S. Department of Justice. [more]
NetAdvantage Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

NetAdvantage provides information on companies, industries, stocks, mutual funds and the economy. Sources include Industry Surveys, Stock Reports, Bond Reports and Corporation Records. [more]
NetLibrary - Electronic Books Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Provides access to over 50 full-text electronic books covering journalism, history and other topics.
Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations
Also Known as: NDLTD

The Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD) is an international organization dedicated to promoting the adoption, creation, use, dissemination and preservation of electronic analogues to the traditional paper-based theses and dissertations. [more]
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Oxford Music Online

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians is the premier music encyclopedia. Includes the New Grove Dictionaries of Jazz and Opera and the Oxford Dictionary of Music. [more]
New Medicines in Development

From the Pharmaceutical Research and Manufacturers of America. Contains information on pharmaceutical products in the research and testing phase, searchable by drug, disease,and indication. [more]
New York Times Movie Reviews
Also Known as: NTY Movie Reviews


NewsBank Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Newsbank includes digital editions of the Kansas City Star and St. Louis Post Dispatch. It also includes Early American Newspapers, Series 1 (1690-1876); U. S. Congressional Serial Set and Serial Set Maps (1817-1980); Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, (1639-1800); Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker, (1801-1819); American State Papers, (1789-1838); World Newspaper Archive, which includes America's Historical Newspapers and African Newspapers. [more]
Newspapermap

Map showing locations and information on online newspapers around the world. Click on a marker to see information about the paper and a link to it. Each marker is a different color, indicating the language of the newspaper. The site will also automatically translate the text.
Newspapers on Microfilm in Special Collections (MU Libraries)

These newspapers can be browsed alphabetically, by geography or by time period. [more]
NICE (National Institute for Clinical Excellence) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

From the National Health Service of England and Wales. Clinical practice guidelines, technology and interventional procedure appraisals on a variety of subjects.
NIH RePORTER (Formerly CRISP)
Also Known as: National Institutes of Health reporter ; crisp ; current review of scientific projects ; Research Portfolio Online Reporting Tool

Search federally funded biomedical research projects funded by the National Institutes of Health (NIH), Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services (SAMSHA), Health Resources and Services Administration (HRSA), Food and Drug Administration (FDA), Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDCP), Agency for Health Care Policy Research (AHCPR), and Office of Assistant Secretary of Health (OASH). Results can be exported to an Excel spreadsheet. View the amount of research funding for a given disease, or the success rates for different types of grants. In addition to project descriptions, NIH RePORTER now includes links to publications and patents arising from NIH funded research, with links to PubMed Central, PubMed, and the US Patent & Trademark Office databases. [more]
Nineteenth Century Literature Databases
Also Known as: Literature, Nineteenth Century


NLM Gateway Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A single portal for searching National Library of Medicine collections and databases, including MEDLINE/PubMed, OLDMEDLINE, LOCATORplus, AIDS Meetings, HSR Meetings, MEDLINEplus, HISTLINE, AIDSLINE, SPACELINE, HSRPROJ and DIRLINE. [more]
NORINA

NORINA is an English-language database containing information on over 3,800 audiovisual aids that may be used as alternatives or supplements to the use of animals in teaching.  [more]
North American Women's Letters and Diaries Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

North American Women's Letters and Diaries provides access to full-text letters & diaries by 687 North American women from colonial times to 1950. [more]
NSSN Standards Search Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

NO FULL TEXT. Search for standards information from many organizations, including the American Society for Testing Materials (ASTM), the International Standards Organization (ISO), the National Committee for Information Technology Standards, the Society for Automotive Engineers (SAE), and more. From the American National Standards Institute (ANSI). [more]
NTIS Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

NTIS (National Technical Information Service) is the major resource for locating U.S. Government sponsored research in the physical sciences, technology, engineering, biological sciences, medicine and health sciences, agriculture and social sciences. [more]
Nursing Databases


Nursing Home Compare

Database to compare nursing homes. Also includes links to Guide to Choosing a Nursing Home and Nursing Home Checklist.
Chat

Additional Options

Already have a citation?

Or
PMID
Or
DOI

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST
  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
You MUST NOT
  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources