Skip to main content

Navigation

 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries
Name of Database:
A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Try First: Resources for Research
Didn't find what you needed? Try our Online Chat or Ask a Librarian email.

Databases starting with "H":
Handbook of Mathematical Functions with Formulas, Graphs, and Mathematical Tables Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

This handbook has been designed to provide scientific investigators with a comprehensive and self-contained summary of the mathematical functions that arise in physical and engineering problems. [more]
HAPI - Hispanic American Periodicals Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

HAPI - Hispanic American Periodicals Index indexes articles from over 575 journals on all aspects of life in Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean and Hispanics in the United States. [more]
Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Harper's Biochemistry

Recommended for School of Medicine PBL Block 1.
Harriet Lane Handbook, The Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: harriet lane pediatrics


Harrisons Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine

Harrisons Online provides the complete text and illustrations of the 18th edition of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine textbook. [more]
HathiTrust
Also Known as: Hathi Trust Hathi

The Hathi Trust Digital Library contains digital copies of more than 10 million volumes in over 400 languages, printed from 1500-present. Over 3 million volumes are in the public domain and can be viewed/printed/downloaded. Other volumes can be searched, but viewing is restricted. The Digital Library combines full-text searching with the traditional library catalog to facilitate sophisticated queries and easy browsing. MU users can also build private or shared collections within the Digital Library.
Hazardous Substance Data Bank

Peer-reviewed information on over 4700 chemicals including information on poisoning, toxicity, environmental fate and exposure, chemical/physical properties, standards and regulations, monitoring and analysis, and safety and handling. A subset of 390 chemicals, WISER (Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders) is available for downloading to Palm OS PDAs. [more]
Haz-Map

Track occupational exposures by chemical, disorder, or occupation. Learn which occupations have a higher risk for which diseases, as well as the chemicals commonly encountered in different lines of work. From the Specialized Information Services branch of the National Library of Medicine. [more]
HCUPnet

An interactive tool for identifying, analyzing and comparing statistics on hospital inpatient care. Uses the data from the Nationwide Inpatient Sample (NIS) of over 1000 hospitals. Also includes data from the State Inpatient Database (SID), representing inpatient care in community hospitals in 36 states (including Missouri), which represents more than half of all U.S. hospital discharges. Create and export tables on costs, demographics, mortality, length of stay, and insurance coverage for diseases or medical procedures. From the U.S. Agency for Health Care Research and Quality. [more]
Health & Medical Subject Guides Databases


HeinOnline Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

HeinOnline contains a number of components or "libaries," including the LAW JOURNAL LIBRARY containing more than 1,400 law and law-related periodicals, the FEDERAL REGISTER LIBRARY containing proposed regulations back to 1936, the CODE OF FEDERAL REGULATIONS LIBRARY dating to 1938, and the UNITED STATE CODE LIBRARY which is the codification by subject matter of the general and permanent laws of the United States. Also included are the U.S. STATUTES AT LARGE LIBRARY showing all federal legislation as it appeared when originally passed, and the TREATIES AND AGREEMENTS LIBRARY which contains all U.S. treaties whether currently in-force, expired, or not-yet officially published. [more]
Highwire Press Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Search the full-text of almost 1 million articles hosted by Highwire Press; journals from major scientific societies like PNAS, American Journal of Physiology, Journal of Biological Chemistry are fully searchable back to their inception as early as 1899. [more]
HISTLINE

The HISTLINE history of medicine database is no longer available. Historical journal articles can be searched in PubMed; the books and book chapters formerly found in HISTLINE have been moved to LocatorPlus. All books, book chapters, and journal articles from 1964-1993 formerly found in HISTLINE can also be found in the print resource, Bibliography of the History of Medicine, in the reference collection at the Health Sciences Library. [more]
Historic Missouri Newspaper Project

Historic Missouri Newspaper Project is a database of searchable full-image of some years from 14 Missouri newspapers. [more]
Historical Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Secondary sources (journal articles, dissertations, some books) on the history of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Africa, with some links to full text. [more]
Historical Newspapers Databases


Historical Statistics of the United States Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Historical Statistics of the United States presents the numerical history of the United States. It contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history, all from the earliest times to the present. [more]
History (general) Databases


History of the British Empire Databases


History, 19th Century U.S. Databases


History, U.S. (recent) Databases


HLAS Online

HLAS Online is the Handbook of Latin American Studies. HLAS is a scholarly annotated bibliography to works in the field of Latin American studies. [more]
Homeland Security Digital Library

Homeland Security Digital Library contains access to homeland security strategy, policy and research published by Federal, state and local government agencies, international governments and institutions, universities, and think tanks. [more]
Hospitality and Tourism Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Hospitality and Tourism Index covers scholarly research and industry news relating to all areas of hospitality and tourism. Major coverage includes demographics and statistics, hotel management, food service and beverage management, travel and tourism, event management, gaming, international cuisine, law, market trends, research and more. [more]
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers covers 1801-1919. Covers social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how British laws were created. [more]
Household Products Database

Links over 4,000 consumer brands to health effects from Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS), including automotive, personal care, gardening, home care, and craft products. Search by product/ingredient, or browse by product category or manufacturer. Based on the Consumer Product Information Database ©2001 by DeLima Associates. From the National Library of Medicine. [more]
HSRProj (Health Services Research Projects in Progress)

Descriptions of research in progress funded by federal and private grants and contracts. Now searched as part of the NLM Gateway. [more]
HSRR - Health Service and Sciences Research Resources

Contains information about research and statistical datasets, instruments/indices, and software used in Health Services Research and the Behavioral and Social Sciences . [more]
HSTAT (AHCPR Supported Guidelines)

Lists the entire text of clinical practice guidelines developed by U.S. government entities such as the Agency for Health Care Policy Research and the National Institutes of Health. [more]
Human Relations Area File Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Human Relations Area File covers cultural anthropology, ethnographies of world cultures, especially developing countries and some U.S. immigrant groups. [more]
Chat

Additional Options

Already have a citation?

Or
PMID
Or
DOI

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST
  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
You MUST NOT
  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources