Skip to main content

Navigation

 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries
Name of Database:
A - B - C - D - E - F - G - H - I - J - K - L - M - N - O - P - Q - R - S - T - U - V - W - X - Y - Z

Databases index magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Purchased databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon are accessible only to MU users. Many databases will give you the full text of an article.

Try First: Resources for Research
Didn't find what you needed? Try our Online Chat or Ask a Librarian email.

Databases starting with "A":
AAMI Standards Search
Also Known as: Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation Standards Search; AAMI Database

Search the Association for Advancement of Medical Instrumentation database for books, reports, final and draft standards available for sale from AAMI. Also includes information about active ISO, IEC and AAMI standards projects and other technical committee news. [more]
AAPG Digital Library - American Association of Petroleum Geologists Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The AAPG Digital Library (American Association of Petroleum Geologists) consists of over 600,000 pages of petroleum, geology and geophysics information mainly from international, national and regional geological society publications and the AAPG. [more]
Abbreviationes CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.

Abbreviationes is a searchable database of 50,000 medieval Latin paleographic abbreviations. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library in the Reference area. [more]
ABELL Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature

ABELL lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctorial dissertations dealing with the study of literature and linguistic published anywhere in the world. Coverage is 1920 to date. [more]
ABI/Inform Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

ABI/Inform is the primary index to over 1,000 business journals. Includes access to ABI/Inform Global, ABI/Inform Dateline and ABI/Inform Trade & Industry. [more]
ABLEDATA

Premier source for information on assistive technology. [more]
Academic Search Complete Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Academic Search Complete provides full-text for more than 8,600 periodicals, including more than 7,500 peer-reviewed journals. It also offers indexing and abstracts for more than 12,500 journals. [more]
AccessMedicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Search a collection of over 50 books in clinical medicine and the basic sciences, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, Hurst's The Heart, and many more. Click on My AccessMedicine to register for a free password which entitles you to use the Lange self-assessment tool for board preparation, PDA chapter downloads, and podcasts. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. Please logout when finished searching. To locate more recent articles which cite a referenced article, enter the PMID article Identifier here.
Accounting Databases


ACM Digital Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

ACM Digital Library provides bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews and the full-text for articles published in ACM periodicals and proceedings since its founding in 1947. Also provides selected works published by affiliated organizations. [more]
AdAge Datacenter Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Advertising Age

To access the Datacenter, click the link on the left side of the Advertising Age homepage. The Datacenter includes profiles of advertisers and media companies and data on ad spending, agency rankings and markets.
Adforum Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

AdForum is an internationally focused database provides access to over 35,000 advertisements in all media, including audio and video. AdForum also provides access to advertising agency information, news, and other information related to the advertising industry. [more]
Advertising RedBooks.com Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Advertising RedBooks.com provides competitive intelligence and prospecting data on agencies and advertisers. Includes detailed profiles of over 14,000 US and international advertising agencies as well as information on nearly 21,000 US and international advertisers who each spend more than $200,000 annually on advertising. [more]
African Index Medicus

Focuses on sources not indexed in MEDLINE, including books, theses, and agency reports. From the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA) with the technical support of the World Health Organization [more]
Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS)

ADAMS indexes the regulatory and technical documents of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), its contractors and licensees. Includes full-text from November 1, 1999, with bibliographic records going back to 1981. These earlier materials are available in the NUDOCS microfiche collection housed in the Engineering Library & Technology Commons. [more]
AGRICOLA Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

AGRICOLA is produced by the U.S. National Agricultural Library and provides access to worldwide periodical literature and USDA publications. Subject coverage includes plant and animal sciences, food and nutrition, agriculture, biotechnology, entomology, forestry, and wildlife. [more]
Agricultural Economics Databases


Agriculture Databases


Agronomy Databases


AIDSinfo

Over 700 descriptions of current and closed clinical trials for AIDS. Also includes information on AIDS treatment guidelines, drugs and vaccines. [more]
AIDSinfo Drug Database

A dictionary of over 240 chemical and biological agents. Each entry includes pharmacologic action, adverse reactions, chemical and trade names, contraindications, physical/chemical properties, and manufacturers' names. A service of the Dept. of Health and Human Services. [more]
Air Force History Index

The United States Air Force Historical Research Agency maintains hundreds of thousands of historically significant U.S. Air Force documents representing some 70 million pages. These include unit histories, special studies, personal papers, end-of-tour reports, oral histories, interview transcripts, and more. [more]
Alliance for Audited Media Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: ABC; Audit Bureau of Circulation; AAM

Alliance for Audited Media (AAM) [formerly: Audit Bureau of Circulation (ABC)] provides circulation statistics for several thousand US and Canadian newspapers and periodical publications. Reports include statistics on paid and non-paid subscriptions, including digital subscriptions, home delivery and single-copy sales and are in PDF format. Yearly audit reports also include geographic breakdowns of circulation and some demographic information on readership. Search by title, periodical classification, market area, or circulation size.
ALTBIB: Bibliography on the use of live vertebrates in biomedical research and testing

A searchable bibliography of animal testing alternatives. Citations come from journal articles indexed in National Library of Medicine Databases. [more]
America History and Life Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

America History and Life contains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,000 journals published worldwide. Covers all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. [more]
American Chemical Society Journals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

This database indexes full-text journals from the American Chemical Society. [more]
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries offers full-text searchable letters and diaries of soldiers and noncombatants on both sides of the U.S. Civil War. The database can be searched and browsed in many ways, including by U.S. state, topics described, year of writers death, Union or Confederate loyalty, and other variables. [more]
American FactFinder

This site will guide to to data on your community. Choose: -"Fact Sheet" for quick access to basic demographic, social and economic data on your city, town, county or state or ZIP Code. -"People" to find more popular tables on a variety of topics (age, education, income, race and more) for your area. -"Housing" to find popular tables on home values, ownership, housing characteristics and mortgage. -"Business and Government" for data on housing starts, government finances, foreign trade and more. [more]
American Institute of Physics Journals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

American Institute of Physics Journals offers full-text coverage of most AIP journals. Coverage varies according to journal. [more]
American Law Institute Library Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The archives of the American Law Institute (ALI) include editions of the Uniform Commercial Code, restatements of the law on a variety of topics, and special publications of the ALI including the ALI Reporter. Access provided to the campus by the MU Law Library. [more]
American Literature Databases
Also Known as: Literature, American


American Memory

American Memory provides access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.
American Meterological Society Journals Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Full-text of AMS journals.
American National Biography Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: ANB

A biographical dictionary of about 17,500 individuals significant to American history, from the earliest recorded European exploration to the 21st century.
American Periodical Series Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

American Periodical Series Online is full-text collection of over 1,100 magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1900. [more]
American State Papers, 1789-1838 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

American State Papers, 1789-1838, features not only new bibliographic records for every one of its 6,354 publications, but also superior images created by digitizing every page of every publication from the print volumes issued between 1832 and 1861. Unlike the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, the publications in the American State Papers are not divided into reports and documents and do not include House and Senate journals. Approximately two-thirds of the publications cover the first 14 Congresses (1789-1817), whereas the remaining third chronologically overlap with the Serial Set from 1817-1838. [more]
American Veterinary Medical History Society (AVMHS)

The American Veterinary Medical History Society was formed by a group of interested veterinarians and friends to recall the past and relate it in an interesting fashion to their colleagues, and to collect and place in suitable archives a record of the "remembered" past from as many as possible. This group is made up of those interested in preserving books, photos, and artifacts of the past and present.
Analytical Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Analytical Abstracts indexes over 200 key international journals in chemistry. It also indexes technical reports and books. Coverage is 1980 to date. [more]
Animal Health and Production Compendium Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Animal Health and Production Compendium focuses on all aspects of animal health and production, including diseases, nutrition, husbandry and breeding. [more]
Animal Sciences Databases


Annual Reviews Online Index

Search the full-text of Annual Reviews: Anthropology, Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biophysics and Biomolecular Structure, Cell Developmental Biology, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Energy and the Environment, Fluid Mechanics, Genetics, Immunology, Materials Science, Medicine, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Nuclear and Particle Science, Nutrition, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Physical Chemistry, Physiology, Phytopathology, Plant Physiology, Psychology, Public Health, and Sociology. [more]
Anthropology Databases


AnthroSource Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

AnthroSource covers current issues for 15 key American Anthropological Association publications, including American Anthropologist, American Ethnologist, Anthropology and Education Quarterly, and Medical Anthropology Quarterly. Back issues of all AAA journals. [more]
AP Stylebook Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The Associated Press style manual online. [more]
Archaeology Databases


Architecture Databases


ArchiveGrid Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

ArchiveGrid is a resource for searching through nearly a million collection descriptions from thousands of libraries, museums, and archives. [more]
Archives USA Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Archives USA is a current directory of 5,596 repositories and 154,678 collections of primary source material across the United States. Using Archives USA, researchers can read descriptions of holdings of repositories to determine whether a collection contains material relevant to their work as well as find the information they need to contact the repository directly. C19 Index contains 61,647 records detailing the collections and repositories in the United States that hold 19th century research materials. Part of C19 database. No full text. [more]
Art & Art History Databases


Art Full Text Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Art Index provides citations to articles and book reviews in about 270 periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published primarily in the U.S. and Europe. Includes archaeology, architecture, art history, city planning, film, industrial and interior design, and photography. [more]
ARTFL Project Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

ARTFL Project is a collection of nearly 2000 texts, ranging from classic works of French literature to various kinds of non-fiction prose and technical writing from 13th through the 20th centuries. [more]
ArticleFirst Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

ArticleFirst is an OCLC index of articles from approximately 16,000 journals. Subjects covered include business, social science, science, technology, humanities, medicine, and culture. Coverage is 1990 to date. [more]
ARTStor Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

ARTstor is a digital library of approximately 550,000 images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes. Partial funding was provided by the Student Fee Capital Improvement Committee. [more]
arXiv

Index to over 500,000 e-prints in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics. [more]
ASABE Technical Library

Search all recent technical documents published by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. Anyone can view the abstracts. Access to the full text is via ASABE membership or site license. [more]
ASCE Civil Engineering Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: ASCE CE Database

The Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) is designed to provide easy bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, and magazines, [more]
ASCE Research Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The ASCE Research Library is a comprehensive online tool for locating articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering. The Research Library provides you with unprecedented access to more than 40,000 full-text papers from ASCE Journals and Proceedings published since 1995. That is over 400,000 pages. Approximately 4,000 new papers will be added each year. [more]
askHERMES
Also Known as: ask hermes ; medQA ; med Q A ; MedQ@A

An experimental search engine to mine PubMed/MEDLINE, eMedicine, and the National Guideline Clearinghouse for answers to clinical questions. Type in a specific question for best results. [more]
ASM Handbooks Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: ASM Materials Information

Complete content of twenty ASM Handbook volumes plus two ASM Desk Editions. Does NOT include full-text for the Alloy Center. 1990 edition also available in print: MU ENGINEERING REFERENCE, TA459 .A52 1990
ASME Digital Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: American Society of Mechanical Engineers Digital Library

The ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) Digital Library, is ASME's primary repository of current and archival literature featuring: Transaction Journals from 1990 to the present and Conference Proceedings from 2009 to the present. [more]
ASME Style Guide
Also Known as: MAE; Association of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering;

The ASME Citation Style is derived from http://www.asme.org/Publications/ConfProceedings/Author/References_2.cfm Created by S. N. Godavari, Donald W. Craik Engineering Library, University of Manitoba, Canada
ASME Transaction Journals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

ASME's Transaction Journals and Applied Mechanics Reviews from 1990 to the present.
Associated Press Multimedia Archive Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: AccuNet/AP Photo Archive

Associated Press Multimedia Archive provides access to photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text spanning 160 years of history. [more]
ASTM Standards Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

ASTM Standards is a collection of 9,100 standards for testing methods, definitions, practices and classifications, covering metals, construction, petroleum products, textiles, paints, plastics, rubber, electrical insulation and electronics, energy sources and medical devices. [more]
ATLA Religion Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

ATLA Religion Database contains citations from 3 print indexes published annually by ATLA (American Theological Library Association). Coverage is 1949 to date. [more]
Atmospheric Sciences Databases


Authoratory

Locate experts in various domains, or search for a particular author and view tables outlining their publications, grant funding, and more. The database was created by datamining PubMed. Registration is required to view some of the data, and is free for academic, noncommercial, and personal use. [more]
Avery Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Avery Index indexes more than 2,000 periodicals published worldwide on architecture, archaeology, city planning, interior design and historic preservation. Coverage is from the early 1930's to date. [more]
Chat

Additional Options

Already have a citation?

Or
PMID
Or
DOI

Conditions of Use

Electronic resources are available to University of Missouri (MU) students, faculty, staff, and library users in accordance with the publisher's license terms and conditions. Users have an obligation to read, be aware of, and observe the terms and conditions of use for all electronic resources. You MUST
  • Use the resources for personal, educational, or research purposes ONLY
  • Check the license terms on this website for permitted uses and prohibited uses
  • Comply with restrictions on use, copying, reproduction, distributions, and alteration
You MUST NOT
  • Systematically or programmatically or massively copy any of these resources
  • Sell or otherwise make commercial use of these resources