Skip to main content
 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Online Databases and Resources Recommended by Librarians

Search Results

Didn't find what you needed? Try our free Online Chat or Ask a Librarian email.

Databases for Articles

Databases are collections of magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Many of these databases will give you the full text of an article. Mizzou purchases the databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon through subscriptions and access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Missouri.

Databases :
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

EBM Reviews -- Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews includes the full-text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: includes both completed reviews and protocols for reviews in progress. [more]
EBM Reviews - ACP Journal Club Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

EBM Reviews - ACP Journal Club contains the complete text of ACP Journal Club (1991-date) and BMJ's Evidence Based Medicine (1995-1999), which contain reviews of the most methodologically sound, clinically relevant articles from the top internal medicine, pediatric, ob/gyn, ophthalmology, psychiatry, and surgery journals. [more]
Evidence Updates

A searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates.
IOPScience Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

IOPscience is an online service for all journal content published by the Institute of Physics. It contains more than 300,000 articles, from 1874 to the present day. Also includes pre-prints from eprintweb.org (a free service, based on the arXiv.org at Cornell University), and editorial and news from IOP community websites. [more]
Journal Watch Emergency Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Journal Watch editors scan the medical literature, select the most clinically significant articles each week, and write a brief summary and commentary for each. Scroll down to link to the original article. Note: To find the article, you may need to access the library's holdings via the Article Finder. [more]
Journal Watch General Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Journal Watch editors scan the medical literature, select the most clinically significant articles each week, and write a brief summary and commentary for each. Scroll down to link to the original article. Note: To find the article, you may need to access the library's holdings via the Article Finder. [more]
Journal Watch Pediatrics and Adolescent Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Journal Watch editors scan the medical literature, select the most clinically significant articles each week, and write a brief summary and commentary for each. Scroll down to link to the original article. Note: To find the article, you may need to access the library's holdings via the Article Finder. [more]
National Health Service Economic Evaluation Database (EED)

With over 6000 abstracts of quality assessed economic evaluations, the database aims to assist decision-makers by systematically identifying and describing economic evaluations, appraising their quality and highlighting their relative strengths and weaknesses. Published by the Cochrane Collaboration with funding from the British National Health Service. Can be searched as part of EBMR Evidence Based Medicine Reviews.
National Health Service Health Technology Assessment Database

Locate descriptions of systematic reviews, ongoing and completed trials assessing the impact of health technologies. Can be searched as part of EBMR - Evidence Based Medicine Reviews. From the INAHTA Secretariat, based at SBU, Sweden in conjunction with the Cochrane Collaboration.
NHS Economic Evaluation Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Structured abstracts of published studies comparing treatments not only on the basis of outcomes, but also oncost benefit, cost utility, or cost effectiveness. From the UK National Health Service. [more]
OvidSP Medical Search Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Click on the BASIC tab and type in a question or topic to see about the most relevant results in MEDLINE, CINAHL, Evidence-Based Medicine Reviews, PsycINFO, and Journals@Ovid. [more]
PEDro Physiotherapy Evidence Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Clinical trials and systematic reviews on the effectiveness of physical therapy interventions published in peer reviewed journals. All items are scored on methodological quality, and search results are ranked by methodological score. From the Centre for Evidence-Based Physiotherapy at the University of Sydney. [more]
PrimeEvidence
Also Known as: prime evidence

Search a variety of high quality evidence summaries, including Clinical Evidence, the AHRQ Evidence Reports, FPIN Clinical Inquiries, JAMA's Rational Clinical Exam series, NEJM Clinical Practice series, and more. From the University of Washington.
TRIP Database

Search evidence based medicial topics from 61 EBM sites around the world, including ACP Journal Club, POEMS, Bandolier, DARE, and others. From the Centre for Research Support in Wales. [more]

Other Databases to try:
OTSeeker Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Search for randomized controlled trials and systematic reviews relevant to occupational therapy. Studies are ranked using the same PEDro scale used in the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. [more]

Resources Online

Resources Online :
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change
Also Known as: IPCC

The IPCC is a scientific intergovernmental body set up by the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) and by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP). The IPCC's role is to assess the latest scientific, technical and socio-economic literature produced worldwide relevant to the understanding of the risk of human-induced climate change, its observed and projected impacts and options for adaptation and mitigation.

Other Resources to try:
MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters

Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]

By Subject

Browse online resources - article databases, catalogs, reference books, web sites - organized by subject. These resources were selected by the librarians responsible for the areas of study listed below.

Trials

Use and evaluate databases available on a trial basis at the University of Missouri Libraries. Suggestions and comments are welcome.
Databases :
AAS Historical Periodicals Collection (1691-1820) - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri [please give feedback here]

A digital collection of American magazines and journals from the American Antiquarian Society, a specialized library documenting American life from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. The trial is of the materials from 1691 to 1820. Trial ends November 6, 2009.
Early English Books Online - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri [please give feedback here]

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Trial ends November 15, 2009.
Newsbank Research Collection - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri [please give feedback here]

This beta test offers access to over 2000 domestic newspaper titles, web content, TV transcripts, video sources and over 1600 sources for international content in the enhanced NewsBank interface. Trial ends December 31, 2009. [more]

Help

Don't know where to start? Try one of these databases:
Academic Search Premier Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Academic Search Premier provides full-text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,300 journals in the collection. [more]
CQ Researcher Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
CQ Researcher is a complete source for in-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. Focusing on one topic, each weekly CQ Researcher provides extensive background information and discussion of the pro’s and con’s. [more]
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
This set of reference sources contains, among other things, Governments of the World: A Global Guide to Citizen's Rights and Responsibilities and the Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations. You can search within a single source, or across many sources. [more]
Lexis Nexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Lexis Nexis Academic offers access to the full-text of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the full-text of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). [more]