Online Databases and Resources Recommended by Librarians
Search Results
Didn't find what you needed? Try our free Online Chat or Ask a Librarian email.
eBooks / Books
The books below does not include all the books available at the MU Library, rather a select few noted by Librarians as noteworthy in a particular subject field. To search for more books please visit MERLIN, the MU Libraries Catalog.
eBooks and Reference Books : Early American Imprints Series I Evans (1639-1800) ![]()
![]()
![]()
Searchable pdf's of material published in Colonial America and the early U.S. In addition to searching, the collection may be browsed by topic (e.g., Genre: Songs, Economics: Liquor Traffic, History: Louisiana Purchase) [more]
Other eBooks and Reference Books to try:Early American Imprints Series II Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) ![]()
![]()
![]()
Searchable pdf's of material published in the U.S. in the early 19th Century. In addition to searching, the collection may be browsed by topic (e.g., Genre: Satires, Peoples: Illinois Indians, Government: Church and State) [more]
ECCO - Eighteenth Century Collections Online ![]()
![]()
![]()
Based on the English Short Title Catalogue, nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 will be made available online over the course of the next two years. [more]
English Short Title Catalogue ![]()
![]()
The ESTC lists works printed ca. 1473-1800 in the British Isles, Colonial America, United States, Canada, and other territories governed by Britain, regardless of language, and works in English and other British vernaculars printed elsewhere. [more]
Middle English Compendium ![]()
![]()
![]()
The Middle English Compendium provides interlinked access to several resources: the online Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, with links to associated online resources. [more]
Nineteenth Century Microfiche Project ![]()
![]()
![]()
This index covers 19th century books from the British Library that were reproduced on microfiche due to deterioriation of wood pulp papers. In addition to the General Collection, topic areas of collection strength include Women Writers, Art and Architecture, Economics, Childrens Literature, British Colonization, Ireland, China, Linguistics, Publishing and Bookselling and Evolution and Creation. Part of C19 database. No full text. [more]
The European Library ![]()
![]()
[more]
Resources Online
Resources Online : ThomasNet ![]()
Also Known as: Thomas Register![]()
From a single search box, users can search over 607,000 industrial suppliers, indexed by 70,000 product and service categories, and have access to thousands of industrial product catalogs and over 20 million CAD drawings.
By Subject
Browse online resources - article databases, catalogs, reference books, web sites - organized by subject. These resources were selected by the librarians responsible for the areas of study listed below.By Type
Trials
Use and evaluate databases available on a trial basis at the University of Missouri Libraries. Suggestions and comments are welcome.| Databases : | ||
AAS Historical Periodicals Collection (1691-1820) - Trial
[please give feedback here]
|
||
|
|
A digital collection of American magazines and journals from the American Antiquarian Society, a specialized library documenting American life from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. The trial is of the materials from 1691 to 1820. Trial ends November 6, 2009.
|
|
Early English Books Online - Trial
[please give feedback here]
|
||
|
|
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Trial ends November 15, 2009.
|
|
Newsbank Research Collection - Trial
[please give feedback here]
|
||
|
|
This beta test offers access to over 2000 domestic newspaper titles, web content, TV transcripts, video sources and over 1600 sources for international content in the enhanced NewsBank interface. Trial ends December 31, 2009.
[more]
|
|
Help
- Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
Academic Search Premier
|
|
|
|
Academic Search Premier provides full-text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,300 journals in the collection. [more] |
CQ Researcher
|
|
|
|
CQ Researcher is a complete source for in-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. Focusing on one topic, each weekly CQ Researcher provides extensive background information and discussion of the pro’s and con’s. [more] |
Gale Virtual Reference Library
|
|
|
|
This set of reference sources contains, among other things, Governments of the World: A Global Guide to Citizen's Rights and Responsibilities and the Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations. You can search within a single source, or across many sources. [more] |
Lexis Nexis Academic
|
|
|
|
Lexis Nexis Academic offers access to the full-text of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the full-text of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). [more] |