Skip to main content
 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Online Databases and Resources Recommended by Librarians

Search Results

Didn't find what you needed? Try our free Online Chat or Ask a Librarian email.

Databases for Articles

Databases are collections of magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Many of these databases will give you the full text of an article. Mizzou purchases the databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon through subscriptions and access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Missouri.

Databases :
Books In Print Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Books In Print is a database of over 4,000,000 records of in-print, out-of-print, and forthcoming books. Subjects include fiction and non-fiction; reviews of fiction and non-fiction; and entries for publishers, distributors, and wholesalers. [more]
Daniel Boone Regional Library Catalog

Search library materials in the public libraries in Columbia, Fulton, and Ashland. Those with borrowers cards can place holds and renew material online.
MOBIUS - Missouri Bibliographic Information User System Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Search the collections of over 70 college and university libraries throughout Missouri. Books can be ordered at no cost using your employee or student ID, and can picked up at a nearby MOBIUS library of your choice. [more]
WorldCat Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: WorldCat OCLC Catalog

WorldCat is the OCLC Online Union Catalog containing over 95 million records catalogued by OCLC member libraries covering books and other materials held in libraries worldwide. [more]

Other Databases to try:
AAMI Standards Search
Also Known as: Association for the Advancement of Medical Instrumentation Standards Search; AAMI Database

Search the Association for Advancement of Medical Instrumentation database for books, reports, final and draft standards available for sale from AAMI. Also includes information about active ISO, IEC and AAMI standards projects and other technical committee news. [more]
AAPG Digital Library - American Association of Petroleum Geologists Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The AAPG Digital Library (American Association of Petroleum Geologists) consists of over 600,000 pages of petroleum, geology and geophysics information mainly from international, national and regional geological society publications and the AAPG. [more]
African Index Medicus

Focuses on sources not indexed in MEDLINE, including books, theses, and agency reports. From the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA) with the technical support of the World Health Organization [more]
Ageline

Ageline provides bibliographic coverage of social gerontology – the study of aging in social, psychological, health-related, and economic contexts as well as public policy. [more]
AGRICOLA Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

AGRICOLA is produced by the U.S. National Agricultural Library and provides access to worldwide periodical literature and USDA publications. Subject coverage includes plant and animal sciences, food and nutrition, agriculture, biotechnology, entomology, forestry, and wildlife. [more]
AIDSinfo Drug Database

A dictionary of over 240 chemical and biological agents. Each entry includes pharmacologic action, adverse reactions, chemical and trade names, contraindications, physical/chemical properties, and manufacturers' names. A service of the Dept. of Health and Human Services.
Analytical Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Analytical Abstracts indexes over 200 key international journals in chemistry. It also indexes technical reports and books. Coverage is 1980 to date. [more]
ASABE Technical Library

Search all recent technical documents published by the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers. Anyone can view the abstracts. Access to the full text is via ASABE membership or site license. [more]
BELIT - Bioethics Literature Database

Search over 300,000 English, German, and French journal articles, books, and more on bioethics. Developed by the German Reference Centre for Ethics in the Life Sciences (DRZE, Bonn) and operated in co-operation with the Information and Documentation Centre for Ethics in Medicine (IDEM, Goettingen), the Interdepartmental Centre for Ethics in the Sciences and Humanities (IZEW, Tuebingen), the Library and Information Services of the Kennedy Institute of Ethics (KIE, Washington, DC) and the Centre de documentation en ethique des sciences de la vie et de la sante, INSERM/CCNE (CDEI, Paris). [more]
Biblioteca Virtual de Ciencias Sociales de América Latina y el Caribe

The Latin American and Caribbean social science virtual library provides access to over 7000 full text documents, a databases of publications and research projects, a directory of researchers, and a collection of multimedia resources--video, audio, and images.
Business Source Premier Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Business Source Premier provides full-text for nearly 3,300 scholarly business journals, including full-text for more than 1000 peer-reviewed business publications. [more]
CABDirect Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: CAB Abstracts; CABI

Coverage includes plant and animal sciences, forestry, human health and nutrition, veterinary medicine, agricultural biotechnology economics and engineering, rural sociology, recreation, tourism, and leisure. Includes access to CAB Archives. [more]
Cochrane Methodology Register

With over 9000 references, the register aims to include all published reports of empirical methodological studies to support the work of the Cochrane review groups as they conduct systematic reviews of healthcare interventions.
CQ Researcher Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

CQ Researcher is a complete source for in-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. Focusing on one topic, each weekly CQ Researcher provides extensive background information and discussion of the pro’s and con’s. [more]
dialnet

Dialnet searches for articles, books, and theses in all subject areas. It provides access to some articles in full text.
EconLit Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

EconLit provides coverage of the worldwide literature on economics. Subject coverage includes accounting, domestic monetary theory, health economics, labor, quantitative economic methods, urban and regional economics, and welfare programs. Coverage is 1969 to date. [more]
Education Full Text Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Education Full Text provides full-text for over 133 periodicals since 1994 together with indexing and abstracting of records going back to 1983 for the 478 periodicals covered in the Education Index. [more]
GenETHX Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Searches literature on the ethical, legal, and social implications of genetic and genomic research and its applications from many disciplines and publication types including journals, newspapers, books, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and audiovisuals. [more]
GreenFILE

Free EBSCO database focusing on the relationship between human beings and the environment; Information on topics ranging from global warming to recycling to alternate fuel sources and beyond. Includes Scholarly and general interest titles.
HISTLINE

The HISTLINE history of medicine database is no longer available. Historical journal articles can be searched in PubMed; the books and book chapters formerly found in HISTLINE have been moved to LocatorPlus. All books, book chapters, and journal articles from 1964-1993 formerly found in HISTLINE can also be found in the print resource, Bibliography of the History of Medicine, in the reference collection at the Health Sciences Library. [more]
Historical Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Secondary sources (journal articles, dissertations, some books) on the history of Europe, Asia, Latin America and Africa, with some links to full text. [more]
Index-Catalogue of the Library of the Surgeon General's Office

Includes more than 3.7 million references to books (250,000 items), dissertations (300,000 items), analytics [e.g., journal articles, newspaper articles, obituaries, and letters] (2.5 million items) and portraits (4,400 items) found in the 61 volume set of the same name. The Library of the Surgeon General's Office was the precursor to today's National Library of Medicine. Even though the series began publication in 1880, older items can be found here as well. [more]
INSPEC Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

INSPEC is a major source of information for physics, electrical engineering, computer science, information science and technology, communications, control engineering, manufacturing and mechanical engineering. In addition there is significant coverage of areas such as operations research, material science, oceanography, engineering mathematics, nuclear engineering, environmental science, geophysics, nanotechnology, biomedical technology and biophysics. [more]
International Veterinary Information Services (IVIS)

Provides access to electronic books, veterinary meeting proceedings, continuing education, international calendar of veterinary events, and image collections. Free registration required.
Library Literature and Information Science Full Text Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Library Literature and Information Science Full Text is an index of library and information science periodicals. [more]
Library of Congress Catalog Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Lists English language books 1968+, books in all languages 1980+, and microforms 1984+ in the Library of Congress collection. [more]
Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

LISTA indexes more than 600 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. [more]
LILACS Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The Latin American equivalent of MEDLINE, covering 669 journals in Portuguese, Spanish & English. Although the majority of articles indexed are in Portuguese or Spanish, it's possible to search using English keywords. [more]
LOCATORplus

Search the library collection of the National Library of Medicine. [more]
Materials Science Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Brings together materials science databases, covering materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications, including the use of materials in orthopedics and dentistry. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding, and fabrication to end use, corrosion, performance, and recycling is covered in for all metals, polymers, ceramics, and composites. The collection comprises several databases which may be searched individually or all together. The databases included in the collection are: Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Business File, Mechanical Engineering Abstracts, METADEX, MicroPatent Materials Patents, and WELDASEARCH. [more]
National Autistic Society Autism Database

From the UK National Autistic Society, National Autistic Society Autism Database provides access to search journal and magazine articles, pamphlets, reports, videos and books on autism. [more]
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Also Known as: NCJRS

(NCJRS) contains summaries of over 180,000 criminal justice publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles and unpublished research. This is a good source for statistics and it links to the full-text NCJRS Virtual Library. [more]
Native Health Research Database

Indexes health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. Can search by tribe, state, region/province in addition to MeSH subject searches. Older literature (back to 1652) can be found in the Native Health History Database. [more]
NLM Gateway Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A single portal for searching National Library of Medicine collections and databases, including MEDLINE/PubMed, OLDMEDLINE, LOCATORplus, AIDS Meetings, HSR Meetings, MEDLINEplus, HISTLINE, AIDSLINE, SPACELINE, HSRPROJ and DIRLINE. [more]
NSSN Standards Search Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A central portal for searching for standards information from many organizations, including the American Society for Testing Materials (ASTM), the International Standards Organization (ISO), the National Committee for Information Technology Standards, the Society for Automotive Engineers (SAE), and more. From the American National Standards Institute (ANSI).
NTIS Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

NTIS on Ovid (National Technical Information Service) is the major resource for locating U.S. Government sponsored research in the physical sciences, technology, engineering, biological sciences, medicine and health sciences, agriculture and social sciences. [more]
OTSearch Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Maintained by the AOTA, this is the premier source for access to the literature of occupational therapy. Formerly known as OTBibSys. [more]
PAIS Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

PAIS covers the range of the social sciences, with emphasis on national and international economic, political and public policy issues. [more]
Philosopher's Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

This database is an index to articles on philosophy and related fields from 1940 to the present. [more]
POPLINE Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Provides worldwide coverage of population, family planning, and related health issues, including family planning technology and programs, fertility, and population law and policy. In addition, POPLINE focuses on particular developing-country issues including demography, AIDS and other sexually transmitted diseases, maternal and child health, primary health care communication, and population and environment. POPLINE citations are searchable with POPLINE keywords as well as MeSH headings. The file is produced by the Population Information Program at the Johns Hopkins School of Public Health. The database is funded primarily by the United States Agency of International Development. [more]
Population Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Provides a searchable index to the entire Population Index database for 1986-2000 (Volumes 52-66), plus annual Geographic Indexes. This bibliography is designed to cover the world's demographic and population literature. [more]
REHABDATA

Literature on physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. Produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center. [more]
Smoking and Health Databases Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.

Literature on the scientific, medical, technical, policy, behavioral, legal, and historical aspects of smoking and tobacco use and its health effects. Includes abstracts of hard to find conference proceedings and government documents, many with historical significance. Although most items have been published since 1965, several records date back to the 1800s. From the Office of Smoking and Health, Centers for Disease Control. [more]
Sociological Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. [more]
Technology Research Database (TRD) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX, CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, and the CSA Engineering Research Database.

TRD indexes over 4000 periodicals, conference proceedings, and technical reports. It is comprised of: CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX; Ceramic Abstracts; Advanced Polymer Abstracts; Aerospace & High Technology Database; Aluminum Industry Abstracts; Composites Industry Abstracts; Computer and Information Systems Abstracts; Copper Data Center Database; Corrosion Abstracts; Earthquake Engineering Abstracts; Electronics and Communications Abstracts; Engineered Materials Abstracts; Environmental Engineering Abstracts; Materials Business File; Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts; Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts; WELDASEARCH [more]
VetMed Resource Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Contains the Veterinary Science Database, a subset of CAB Abstracts covering all aspects of veterinary medicine. Coverage includes companion animals, equines, food animals, aquaculture species, zoo animals, and wild animals. Also contains CAB Reviews; In Brief and In Depth articles; the Animal Health and Production Compendium; and a Calendar focused on veterinary conferences and other events worldwide. Geared toward those working in the field of veterinary medicine and animal health. [more]
World Health Organization Library Database (WHOLIS)

Indexes all World Health Organization publications from 1948 to date, plus articles from WHO-produced journals and technical documents since 1985. [more]
Zoological Record/Biological Abstracts Combined Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Biological Abstracts indexes and abstracts journal literature in the life sciences. Zoological Record indexes and abstracts zoological literature including journals, conference proceedings and books. See the entries for each individual database for more information. [more]

eBooks / Books

The books below does not include all the books available at the MU Library, rather a select few noted by Librarians as noteworthy in a particular subject field. To search for more books please visit MERLIN, the MU Libraries Catalog.

eBooks and Reference Books :
Google Book Search

Google Books contains the full text of books provided by libraries and publishers. Materials that are out of copyright (generally pre-1925) can be viewed online. For more recent books, Google Book Search functions as a detailed index. Books identified may be available at MU, via MOBIUS, or may be requested through ILL@MU. [more]

Other eBooks and Reference Books to try:
AAFP Conditions A to Z Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Albright's Chemical Engineering Handbook Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Explains essential principles, calculations, and issues relating to topics including reaction engineering, process control and design, waste disposal, and electrochemical and biochemical engineering. The final chapters cover aspects of patents and intellectual property, practical communication, and ethical considerations.
Atlas of Emergency Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Basic and Clinical Pharmacology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Bible in English Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Bible in English is a collection of 20 different versions of the English Bible from the tenth to the twentieth century, including 12 full Bibles, 5 New Testament texts, 2 versions of the Gospels only, and translations by William Tyndale of the Pentateuch, Jonah and the New Testament. [more]
Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Child Development Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Current Diagnosis & Treatment of Sexually Transmitted Diseases Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Dictionary of Old English Corpus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Dictionary of Old English Corpus is a complete record of surviving old English except for some variant manuscripts of individual texts. [more]
Digital South Asia Library

Contains digital materials for reference and research on South Asia. Contributors to the Digital South Asia Library include leading U.S. universities, the Center for Research Libraries, the South Asia Microform Project, the Committee on South Asian Libraries and Documentation, the Association for Asian Studies, the Library of Congress, the Asia Society, the British Library, the University of Oxford, the University of Cambridge, MOZHI in India, the Sundarayya Vignana Kendram in India, Madan Puraskar Pustakalaya in Nepal, and other institutions in South Asia. [more]
Early American Imprints Series I Evans (1639-1800) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Searchable pdf's of material published in Colonial America and the early U.S. In addition to searching, the collection may be browsed by topic (e.g., Genre: Songs, Economics: Liquor Traffic, History: Louisiana Purchase) [more]
Early American Imprints Series II Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Searchable pdf's of material published in the U.S. in the early 19th Century. In addition to searching, the collection may be browsed by topic (e.g., Genre: Satires, Peoples: Illinois Indians, Government: Church and State) [more]
ECCO - Eighteenth Century Collections Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Based on the English Short Title Catalogue, nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 will be made available online over the course of the next two years. [more]
Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science / editor-in-chief, Lynn Nadel.

v. 1. Academic achievement-environmental psychology -- v. 2. Epilepsy-mental imagery, philosophical issues about -- v. 3. Mental models-signal detection theory -- v. 4. Similarity-zombies. This four-volume set brings together the ... various disciplines that contribute to the study of minds and brains, whether human, animal, or artificial. The approximately 700 articles cover the core disciplines of psychology, philosophy, linguistics, computer science, and neuroscience, as well as related areas in education, economics, evolutionary biology, and anthropology. Suitable for undergraduates and up, the articles are written on different levels depending on the topic, ranging from introductory overviews to in-depth, technical material. The pieces are well organized and scholarly, with numerous references and suggestions for further reading. The last volume contains a 40-page glossary and an extensive subject index. Like The MIT Encyclopedia of the Cognitive Sciences, this set fills a nee
Encyclopedia of Gerontology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Encyclopedia of Nursing and Allied Health Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Encyclopedia of Public Health Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Encyclopedia of Religion and Society

Online version of the book edited by William H. Swatnos, Jr., and published by AltaMira Press. The encyclopedia explores religious subject matter from the perspectives of anthropology, psychology and sociology.
Epidemiology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Fitzpatrick's Dermatology in General Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Goodman & Gilman's The Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Goodman & Gilman's Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics

The complete text, including tables, charts and diagrams, of Goodman & Gilman's Pharmacological Basis of Therapeutics. G&G aims to be a working text on the understanding of how and why drugs work as well as a daily reference to rational clinical use of drugs.
Handbook of Death and Dying Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Handbook of Transportation Engineering Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

"... a practical reference for the transportation engineer who is seeking to solve a problem, reduce cost, or improve a system or facility. ... Its chapters offer design techniques, illustrate successful applications, or provide guidelines to improving the performance, the life expectancy, the effectiveness,or the usefulness, of systems, infrastructure, and facilities. The intent is to show the reader what options are available in a particular situation and which option he or she might choose to solve the problem at hand."
Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Principles of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology


Healthcare Standards Directory Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Health Care Standards Directory


Heat Transfer Textbook, 3rd Edition

An introduction to heat and mass transfer available for free download.
Henry's Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory Methods Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Clinical Diagnosis and Management by Laboratory Methods


Highway Design and Traffic Safety Engineering Handbook Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

"The aim of this book is to provide a comprehensive presentation about the interrelationships between highway design, driving behavior, driving dynamics, and traffic safety. To do this, recent knowledge and practical experience had to be collected, classified, and arranged to permit practical application in all relevant fields of highway design and traffic safety."
Highway Engineering Handbook Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

"The Highway Engineering Handbook has been developed by knowledgeable engineers to serve as a comprehensive reference source for those involved in highway design. This handbook is broad in scope, presenting information on topics ranging from environmental issues to value engineering, from the design of culverts, lighting, and noise walls to thedesign of safety systems, retaining walls, and bridges. In addition, such fundamental subjects as location and pavement design are fully discussed."
Imperialism: A Study, by John Atkinson Hobson

[more]
Integrative Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Internet Sacred Text Archive
Also Known as: ISTA

Site description: "This site is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, where possible, in the original language."
King James Bible Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Knovel Steam Tables Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

This title provides a full implementation of equations for the properties of water and steam published by The International Association for the Properties of Water and Steam (IAPWS). It includes interactive tables, each accompanied by a calculator, live graphs, and a power cycle efficiency calculator.
Lange Case Files Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Case Files Emergency Medicine ; Case Files Anatomy ; Case Files Microbiology ; Case Files Pharmacology ; Case Files Physiology


Medical Epidemiology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: Greenberg's Medical Epidemiology


Middle English Compendium Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The Middle English Compendium provides interlinked access to several resources: the online Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, with links to associated online resources. [more]
Nineteenth Century Microfiche Project Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

This index covers 19th century books from the British Library that were reproduced on microfiche due to deterioriation of wood pulp papers. In addition to the General Collection, topic areas of collection strength include Women Writers, Art and Architecture, Economics, Childrens Literature, British Colonization, Ireland, China, Linguistics, Publishing and Bookselling and Evolution and Creation. Part of C19 database. No full text. [more]
Otolaryngology: Head and Neck Surgery Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Jump to fulltext from the table of contents or the index. Resource brought to you by the MAHEC Digital Library. These links take up to a minute to load. Please logout when finished.
Principles of Critical Care Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Psychiatric Secrets Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Quick Answers to Medical Diagnosis and Treatment Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Review of Medical Microbiology and Immunology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Schwartz's Principles of Surgery Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Small Business Start Up Kit

This handbook is located in the Law Library.
The European Library

[more]
Williams' Gynecology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Williams Obstetrics Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Wright American Fiction

Wright American Fiction offers full-text of American novels published from 1851-1875. [more]

Resources Online

Resources Online :
Liberty Library of Constitutional Classics

[more]

Other Resources to try:
National Transportation Library

The NTL maintains a collection of statistical and other information needed for transportation decision-making at the Federal, State, and local levels. Includes access to the NTL Integrated Search System, which searches the NTL Digital Repository, TRIS Online, and records for other web accessible transportation resources, including research and policy sites of the State DOT and University Transportation Centers' research publications and document repositories.
Thomas Jefferson Digital Archive (University of Virginia)


By Subject

Browse online resources - article databases, catalogs, reference books, web sites - organized by subject. These resources were selected by the librarians responsible for the areas of study listed below.

Trials

Use and evaluate databases available on a trial basis at the University of Missouri Libraries. Suggestions and comments are welcome.
Databases :
AAS Historical Periodicals Collection (1691-1820) - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri [please give feedback here]

A digital collection of American magazines and journals from the American Antiquarian Society, a specialized library documenting American life from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. The trial is of the materials from 1691 to 1820. Trial ends November 6, 2009.
Early English Books Online - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri [please give feedback here]

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Trial ends November 15, 2009.
Newsbank Research Collection - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri [please give feedback here]

This beta test offers access to over 2000 domestic newspaper titles, web content, TV transcripts, video sources and over 1600 sources for international content in the enhanced NewsBank interface. Trial ends December 31, 2009. [more]

Help

Don't know where to start? Try one of these databases:
Academic Search Premier Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Academic Search Premier provides full-text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,300 journals in the collection. [more]
CQ Researcher Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
CQ Researcher is a complete source for in-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. Focusing on one topic, each weekly CQ Researcher provides extensive background information and discussion of the pro’s and con’s. [more]
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
This set of reference sources contains, among other things, Governments of the World: A Global Guide to Citizen's Rights and Responsibilities and the Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations. You can search within a single source, or across many sources. [more]
Lexis Nexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Lexis Nexis Academic offers access to the full-text of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the full-text of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). [more]