Online Databases and Resources Recommended by Librarians
Search Results
Didn't find what you needed? Try our free Online Chat or Ask a Librarian email.
Databases for Articles
Databases are collections of magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Many of these databases will give you the full text of an article. Mizzou purchases the databases with theicon through subscriptions and access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Missouri.
Databases : A & H Search ![]()
![]()
Also Known as: Arts and Humanities Citation Index; Arts & Humanities Search![]()
A & H Search is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. [more]
Other Databases to try:ABELL ![]()
![]()
Also Known as: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature![]()
ABELL lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctorial dissertations dealing with the study of literature and linguistic published anywhere in the world. Coverage is 1920 to date. [more]
African Index Medicus ![]()
![]()
Focuses on sources not indexed in MEDLINE, including books, theses, and agency reports. From the Association for Health Information and Libraries in Africa (AHILA) with the technical support of the World Health Organization [more]
Ageline ![]()
![]()
Ageline provides bibliographic coverage of social gerontology – the study of aging in social, psychological, health-related, and economic contexts as well as public policy. [more]
Annual Reviews Online Index ![]()
![]()
Search by article title through the following Annual Reviews books 1984-date: Anthropology, Astronomy, Biochemistry, Biophysics and Biomolecular Structure, Cell Developmental Biology, Earth and Planetary Sciences, Energy and the Environment, Fluid Mechanics, Genetics, Immunology, Materials Science, Medicine, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Nuclear and Particle Science, Nutrition, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Physical Chemistry, Physiology, Phytopathology, Plant Physiology, Psychology, Public Health, and Sociology.
BELIT - Bioethics Literature Database ![]()
![]()
Search over 300,000 English, German, and French journal articles, books, and more on bioethics. Developed by the German Reference Centre for Ethics in the Life Sciences (DRZE, Bonn) and operated in co-operation with the Information and Documentation Centre for Ethics in Medicine (IDEM, Goettingen), the Interdepartmental Centre for Ethics in the Sciences and Humanities (IZEW, Tuebingen), the Library and Information Services of the Kennedy Institute of Ethics (KIE, Washington, DC) and the Centre de documentation en ethique des sciences de la vie et de la sante, INSERM/CCNE (CDEI, Paris). [more]
Business Source Premier ![]()
![]()
![]()
Business Source Premier provides full-text for nearly 3,300 scholarly business journals, including full-text for more than 1000 peer-reviewed business publications. [more]
Cochrane Methodology Register ![]()
![]()
With over 9000 references, the register aims to include all published reports of empirical methodological studies to support the work of the Cochrane review groups as they conduct systematic reviews of healthcare interventions.
ETHXWeb ![]()
![]()
![]()
Journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics. Can search for literature which emphasizes a legal, religious, empirical, or popular approach. Contains some links to fulltext. From the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, which formerly produced Bioethicsline. [more]
GenETHX ![]()
![]()
![]()
Searches literature on the ethical, legal, and social implications of genetic and genomic research and its applications from many disciplines and publication types including journals, newspapers, books, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and audiovisuals. [more]
Library Literature and Information Science Full Text ![]()
![]()
![]()
Library Literature and Information Science Full Text is an index of library and information science periodicals. [more]
LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts ![]()
![]()
![]()
LLBA indexes over 1,500 journals and additional books, dissertations and other media covering all aspects of linguistics, speech, language and hearing pathology. [more]
Materials Science ![]()
![]()
![]()
Brings together materials science databases, covering materials science, metallurgy, ceramics, polymers, and composites used in engineering applications, including the use of materials in orthopedics and dentistry. Everything from raw materials and refining through processing, welding, and fabrication to end use, corrosion, performance, and recycling is covered in for all metals, polymers, ceramics, and composites. The collection comprises several databases which may be searched individually or all together. The databases included in the collection are: Aluminum Industry Abstracts, Ceramic Abstracts/World Ceramics Abstracts, Copper Data Center Database, Corrosion Abstracts, Engineered Materials Abstracts, Materials Business File, Mechanical Engineering Abstracts, METADEX, MicroPatent Materials Patents, and WELDASEARCH. [more]
National Autistic Society Autism Database ![]()
![]()
From the UK National Autistic Society, National Autistic Society Autism Database provides access to search journal and magazine articles, pamphlets, reports, videos and books on autism. [more]
Native Health Research Database ![]()
![]()
Indexes health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. Can search by tribe, state, region/province in addition to MeSH subject searches. Older literature (back to 1652) can be found in the Native Health History Database. [more]
PrimateLit ![]()
![]()
Search for information on nonhuman primates in journal articles, books, meeting abstracts, technical reports, dissertations and book chapters. Covers a variety of subject areas, including behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography. [more]
PsycINFO with PsycARTICLES ![]()
![]()
![]()
PsycINFO contains references to articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. With the inclusion of PsycARTICLES, over 44,000 full-text articles from more than 50 journals published by the American Psychological Association and participating publishers are provided. [more]
Smoking and Health Databases ![]()
![]()
![]()
Literature on the scientific, medical, technical, policy, behavioral, legal, and historical aspects of smoking and tobacco use and its health effects. Includes abstracts of hard to find conference proceedings and government documents, many with historical significance. Although most items have been published since 1965, several records date back to the 1800s. From the Office of Smoking and Health, Centers for Disease Control. [more]
Sociological Abstracts ![]()
![]()
![]()
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. [more]
Technology Research Database (TRD) ![]()
![]()
Also Known as: CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX, CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, and the CSA Engineering Research Database.![]()
TRD indexes over 4000 periodicals, conference proceedings, and technical reports. It is comprised of: CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX; Ceramic Abstracts; Advanced Polymer Abstracts; Aerospace & High Technology Database; Aluminum Industry Abstracts; Composites Industry Abstracts; Computer and Information Systems Abstracts; Copper Data Center Database; Corrosion Abstracts; Earthquake Engineering Abstracts; Electronics and Communications Abstracts; Engineered Materials Abstracts; Environmental Engineering Abstracts; Materials Business File; Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts; Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts; WELDASEARCH [more]
VetMed Resource ![]()
![]()
![]()
Contains the Veterinary Science Database, a subset of CAB Abstracts covering all aspects of veterinary medicine. Coverage includes companion animals, equines, food animals, aquaculture species, zoo animals, and wild animals. Also contains CAB Reviews; In Brief and In Depth articles; the Animal Health and Production Compendium; and a Calendar focused on veterinary conferences and other events worldwide. Geared toward those working in the field of veterinary medicine and animal health. [more]
eBooks / Books
The books below does not include all the books available at the MU Library, rather a select few noted by Librarians as noteworthy in a particular subject field. To search for more books please visit MERLIN, the MU Libraries Catalog.
eBooks and Reference Books : Google Book Search ![]()
![]()
Google Books contains the full text of books provided by libraries and publishers. Materials that are out of copyright (generally pre-1925) can be viewed online. For more recent books, Google Book Search functions as a detailed index. Books identified may be available at MU, via MOBIUS, or may be requested through ILL@MU. [more]
By Subject
Browse online resources - article databases, catalogs, reference books, web sites - organized by subject. These resources were selected by the librarians responsible for the areas of study listed below.By Type
Trials
Use and evaluate databases available on a trial basis at the University of Missouri Libraries. Suggestions and comments are welcome.| Databases : | ||
AAS Historical Periodicals Collection (1691-1820) - Trial
[please give feedback here]
|
||
|
|
A digital collection of American magazines and journals from the American Antiquarian Society, a specialized library documenting American life from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. The trial is of the materials from 1691 to 1820. Trial ends November 6, 2009.
|
|
Early English Books Online - Trial
[please give feedback here]
|
||
|
|
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Trial ends November 15, 2009.
|
|
Newsbank Research Collection - Trial
[please give feedback here]
|
||
|
|
This beta test offers access to over 2000 domestic newspaper titles, web content, TV transcripts, video sources and over 1600 sources for international content in the enhanced NewsBank interface. Trial ends December 31, 2009.
[more]
|
|
Help
- Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
Academic Search Premier
|
|
|
|
Academic Search Premier provides full-text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,300 journals in the collection. [more] |
CQ Researcher
|
|
|
|
CQ Researcher is a complete source for in-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. Focusing on one topic, each weekly CQ Researcher provides extensive background information and discussion of the pro’s and con’s. [more] |
Gale Virtual Reference Library
|
|
|
|
This set of reference sources contains, among other things, Governments of the World: A Global Guide to Citizen's Rights and Responsibilities and the Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations. You can search within a single source, or across many sources. [more] |
Lexis Nexis Academic
|
|
|
|
Lexis Nexis Academic offers access to the full-text of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the full-text of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). [more] |
icon through subscriptions and access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Missouri.