Skip to main content
 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Online Databases and Resources Recommended by Librarians

Search Results

Didn't find what you needed? Try our free Online Chat or Ask a Librarian email.

Databases for Articles

Databases are collections of magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Many of these databases will give you the full text of an article. Mizzou purchases the databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon through subscriptions and access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Missouri.

Databases :
Marquis Who's Who on the Web Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Marquis Who's Who on the Web provides access to current biographies of all individuals who appeared in any one of over 20 Who's Who titles. [more]
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians is the premier music encyclopedia. Includes the New Grove Dictionaries of Jazz and Opera. [more]

Other Databases to try:
Discovering Collection Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Thousands of overview essays, critical analyses, biographies, primary sources, creative works and multimedia elements comprise the Discovering Collection comprehensive online reference resource. Access provided by MOREnet.
Grove Art Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Oxford Art Online includes Grove Art Online, Oxford companion to Western art, Concise Oxford dictionary of art terms, and Encyclopedia of aesthetics. Grove Art Online provides access to over 45,000 signed articles, 21,000 biographies, and 5000 searchable and embedded images. [more]
Literary Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Literary Index is a master index to the major literature products published by Gale. It combines and cross-references more than 165,000 author names, including pseudonyms and variant names, and listings for over 215,000 titles into one source. [more]

eBooks / Books

The books below does not include all the books available at the MU Library, rather a select few noted by Librarians as noteworthy in a particular subject field. To search for more books please visit MERLIN, the MU Libraries Catalog.

eBooks and Reference Books :
Dictionary of Political Biography Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Covers major figures in world politics of the twentieth century. Authoritative and wide-ranging, it describes and assesses the lives of more than 1000 men and women who have shaped political events across the world. Each entry includes an account of the background, career, and achievements of the individual concerned, balancing fact with critical appraisal. [more]
Kings and Queens of Britain Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

[more]
Oxford Encyclopedia of Women in World History Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri



Other eBooks and Reference Books to try:
American Women Writers: A Critical Reference Guide from Colonial Times to the Present Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A dictionary of about 1300 women writers of all types. Provides biographical information, overview of works, and selected bibliography. "The essays vary considerably in quality....now useful only for those few writers not profiled in other biographical dictionaries." (James L. Harner, The Literary Research Guide, 2008.)
An Era of Progress and Promise: Education and Religion in Post-Emancipation America

From 1901-1908, Mr. W.N. Hartshorn of Clifton, Massachusetts convened the Clifton Conference to discuss the educational and religious opportunities available to African Americans. An Era of Progress and Promise is a culmination of the Clifton conference findings, and provides a comprehensive portrait of early African-American schools, colleges, and churches as well as biographies of African-American educators, ministers, and influential businessmen. [more]
Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Covers 250,000 years of human history. Compiles knowledge from paleoanthropology, archaeology, geology, and geography. Emphasis on cultural contact and social change over time and place. Overviews of core topics. Extensive coverage of arts, literature, religion, and science. Biographies of 100 leaders who shaped world history.
Biography and genealogy master index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

"A consolidated index to more than 3,200,000 biographical sketches in over 350 current and retrospective biographical dictionaries." Updated by annual supplements and quinquenniel cumulations.
Dictionary of World History Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Includes biographies of key figures in world history, historical summaries for each country, and entries on religious and political movements, international organizations, and key battles and places. [more]
Eleanor Roosevelt Papers: The Human Rights Years, 1945-1948 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Covers Eleanor Roosevelt's post-White House years, the part of her life that has received the least attention from biographers and students of history, but which, in many ways, is the time when she wielded influence we are only now beginning to understand. It contains 410 documents selected from more than 90,000 documents the Papers staff has collected from 263 archives in fifty states and nine nations. The introduction contains several pages of political biography of Eleanor Roosevelt. [more]
Encyclopedia of India Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Entries cover the history, cultures, geography and religions of India from ancient times to the present day. [more]
National Cyclopedia of American Biography Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Published from 1894 to 1984, this large biographical dictionary lists many people not included in the DAB. Since it is not arranged alphabetically, the Index volume is essential. The contents are also indexed in the Biography and Genealogy Master Index.
Notable American Women 1607-1950: A Biographical Dictionary Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

"The most authoritative biographical dictionary of American women," according to James L. Harner, The Literary Research Guide, 2008. Over 2000 entries provide factual information, interpretation, and very useful lists of sources. A classified index lists occupations, interests, groups, etc.
Oxford Companion to Black British History Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri


Oxford Companion to World War II Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Written by contributors from Italy, Germany, and Japan, as well as the Allied nations, the Companion provides unique world-wide coverage of the subject. Every aspect of the war is covered including, detailed surveys of major countries; politics and grand strategy; domestic and economic issues; resistance and intelligence services; campaigns, battles, and military operations; warfare and weapons; wartime leaders and influential people; and slogans and phrases.
Oxford Encyclopedia of the Modern World Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

[more]

Resources Online

Resources Online :
Medical Register for the United Kingdom
Also Known as: London Medical Register; UK Medical Register; Great Britain Medical Register



Other Resources to try:
Thomas Jefferson Digital Archive (University of Virginia)


By Subject

Browse online resources - article databases, catalogs, reference books, web sites - organized by subject. These resources were selected by the librarians responsible for the areas of study listed below.

Trials

Use and evaluate databases available on a trial basis at the University of Missouri Libraries. Suggestions and comments are welcome.
Databases :
AAS Historical Periodicals Collection (1691-1820) - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri [please give feedback here]

A digital collection of American magazines and journals from the American Antiquarian Society, a specialized library documenting American life from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. The trial is of the materials from 1691 to 1820. Trial ends November 6, 2009.
Early English Books Online - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri [please give feedback here]

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Trial ends November 15, 2009.
Newsbank Research Collection - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri [please give feedback here]

This beta test offers access to over 2000 domestic newspaper titles, web content, TV transcripts, video sources and over 1600 sources for international content in the enhanced NewsBank interface. Trial ends December 31, 2009. [more]

Help

Don't know where to start? Try one of these databases:
Academic Search Premier Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Academic Search Premier provides full-text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,300 journals in the collection. [more]
CQ Researcher Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
CQ Researcher is a complete source for in-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. Focusing on one topic, each weekly CQ Researcher provides extensive background information and discussion of the pro’s and con’s. [more]
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
This set of reference sources contains, among other things, Governments of the World: A Global Guide to Citizen's Rights and Responsibilities and the Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations. You can search within a single source, or across many sources. [more]
Lexis Nexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Lexis Nexis Academic offers access to the full-text of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the full-text of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). [more]