Skip to main content
 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Online Databases and Resources Recommended by Librarians

Search Results

Didn't find what you needed? Try our free Online Chat or Ask a Librarian email.

Databases for Articles

Databases are collections of magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Many of these databases will give you the full text of an article. Mizzou purchases the databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon through subscriptions and access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Missouri.

Databases for Primary Sources :
American Periodical Series Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

American Periodical Series Online is full-text collection of over 1,100 magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1900. [more]
Archives USA Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Archives USA is a current directory of 5,596 repositories and 154,678 collections of primary source material across the United States. Using Archives USA, researchers can read descriptions of holdings of repositories to determine whether a collection contains material relevant to their work as well as find the information they need to contact the repository directly. C19 Index contains 61,647 records detailing the collections and repositories in the United States that hold 19th century research materials. Part of C19 database. No full text. [more]
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

C19 Index provides access to nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. [more]
In the First Person: An Index to Letters, Diaries, Oral Histories and Personal Narratives

In the First Person is an in-depth index of more than 4,000 collections of personal narratives in English from around the world. [more]
North American Women's Letters and Diaries Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

North American Women's Letters and Diaries provides access to full-text letters & diaries by 687 North American women from colonial times to 1950. [more]
ProQuest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

ProQuest Historical Newspapers digitally reproduces every issue of the New York Times (1851-2005) and the Wall Street Journal (1889-1991) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and full-text searching of these newspapers. [more]
Reader's Guide Retrospective 1890-1982 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Readers Guide Retrospective is a database containing comprehensive indexing of the most popular general-interest periodicals published in the United States and reflects the history of 20th century America. [more]

Other Databases to try:
American Civil War: Letters and Diaries Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

American Civil War: Letters and Diaries offers full-text searchable letters and diaries of soldiers and noncombatants on both sides of the U.S. Civil War. The database can be searched and browsed in many ways, including by U.S. state, topics described, year of writers death, Union or Confederate loyalty, and other variables. [more]
British Periodicals Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

British Periodicals is an index that covers important 19th-century British magazines and journals from the late 18th century to 1900. Part of C19 database. No full-text. [more]
Discovering Collection Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Thousands of overview essays, critical analyses, biographies, primary sources, creative works and multimedia elements comprise the Discovering Collection comprehensive online reference resource. Access provided by MOREnet.
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers covers 1801-1919. Covers social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how British laws were created. [more]
Illustrated Civil War Newspapers and Magazines Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Contains 65,000 pages with articles, illustrations, cartoons and maps drawn from 49 periodicals, including 15 campaign newspapers published from 1860 to 1865, from four viewpoints? Union, Confederate, Abolitionist, and British. Every page has been scanned to grayscale or color standards at up to 1200 dpi. The database also includes essays detailing the background and importance of each of the publications and on Civil War topics. [more]
Index to House of Commons Parliamentary Papers CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.

Index to House of Commons Parliamentary Papers indexes all House of Commons Parliamentary Papers from 1801-1997. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library. [more]
Index to the Current House of Commons Parliamentary Papers CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.

Index to the Current House of Commons Parliamentary Papers indexes House of Commons Parliamentary Papers from 1996-present. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library. [more]
Luther's Sermons CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.

Luther's Sermons offers searchable full-text of a collection of sermons of Martin Luther (1483-1546). Edited and translated by John Nicholas Lenker. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library. [more]
Luther's Works CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.

Luther's Works contains the translated works of Martin Luther in searchable, online full-text. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library. [more]
Newsbank Research Collection - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri [please give feedback here]

This beta test offers access to over 2000 domestic newspaper titles, web content, TV transcripts, video sources and over 1600 sources for international content in the enhanced NewsBank interface. Trial ends December 31, 2009. [more]
Palmer's Index to the Times Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

This index covers the London Times newspaper from 1790-1905. Part of C19 database. The MU Libraries has the London Times on microfilm in the Special Collections department. [more]
Periodicals Index Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Formerly known as Periodical Contents Index, Periodicals Index Online covers magazines and journals published worlswide from 1790 to 1919. Part of C19 database. [more]
Poole's Index to Periodical Literature Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Poole's Index to Periodical Literature indexes British and American periodicals from 1824-1900. Matches pseudonyms to actual authors. Part of the C19 databases. No full-text. [more]
U.S. Congressional Serial Set Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 is a vast primary source collection for U.S. political, social, cultural, military and ethnic history, as well as international relations, explorations, genealogy, commerce, industrial development and more. [more]
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978 contains nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978. [more]

eBooks / Books

The books below does not include all the books available at the MU Library, rather a select few noted by Librarians as noteworthy in a particular subject field. To search for more books please visit MERLIN, the MU Libraries Catalog.

eBooks and Reference Books for Primary Sources :
Early American Imprints Series I Evans (1639-1800) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Searchable pdf's of material published in Colonial America and the early U.S. In addition to searching, the collection may be browsed by topic (e.g., Genre: Songs, Economics: Liquor Traffic, History: Louisiana Purchase) [more]
Early American Imprints Series II Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Searchable pdf's of material published in the U.S. in the early 19th Century. In addition to searching, the collection may be browsed by topic (e.g., Genre: Satires, Peoples: Illinois Indians, Government: Church and State) [more]
ECCO - Eighteenth Century Collections Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Based on the English Short Title Catalogue, nearly 150,000 English-language titles and editions published between 1701 and 1800 will be made available online over the course of the next two years. [more]

Other eBooks and Reference Books to try:
Digital South Asia Library

Contains digital materials for reference and research on South Asia. Contributors to the Digital South Asia Library include leading U.S. universities, the Center for Research Libraries, the South Asia Microform Project, the Committee on South Asian Libraries and Documentation, the Association for Asian Studies, the Library of Congress, the Asia Society, the British Library, the University of Oxford, the University of Cambridge, MOZHI in India, the Sundarayya Vignana Kendram in India, Madan Puraskar Pustakalaya in Nepal, and other institutions in South Asia. [more]
Eleanor Roosevelt Papers: The Human Rights Years, 1945-1948 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Covers Eleanor Roosevelt's post-White House years, the part of her life that has received the least attention from biographers and students of history, but which, in many ways, is the time when she wielded influence we are only now beginning to understand. It contains 410 documents selected from more than 90,000 documents the Papers staff has collected from 263 archives in fifty states and nine nations. The introduction contains several pages of political biography of Eleanor Roosevelt. [more]
Internet Sacred Text Archive
Also Known as: ISTA

Site description: "This site is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, where possible, in the original language."
Middle English Compendium Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The Middle English Compendium provides interlinked access to several resources: the online Middle English Dictionary, a HyperBibliography of Middle English prose and verse, and a Corpus of Middle English Prose and Verse, with links to associated online resources. [more]
Nineteenth Century Microfiche Project Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

This index covers 19th century books from the British Library that were reproduced on microfiche due to deterioriation of wood pulp papers. In addition to the General Collection, topic areas of collection strength include Women Writers, Art and Architecture, Economics, Childrens Literature, British Colonization, Ireland, China, Linguistics, Publishing and Bookselling and Evolution and Creation. Part of C19 database. No full text. [more]
Philobiblon

Philobiblon is a portion of a union catalog of primary medieval materials in Romance languages of the Iberian peninsula and related secondary materials. Full database only accessible on CD-ROM within Ellis Library. [more]
Romantic Age, The CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.

The Romantic Age includes 18 volumes of correspondence of significant British writers of the romantic era, such as Blake, Burns, Shelley, Maria Edgeworth, Jane Austen, Samuel Wesley. This CD-ROM is available at the Ellis Library Reference Workstation, in the SW corner of the Information Commons. [more]
The European Library

[more]
The Social and political status of women in Britain: radical and reforming periodicals for and by women

Eighteen journals chronicling the women's emancipation movement in England. Topics covered include the suffrage question, the position of women at work and in the home, education, temperance, social reform, birth control, and the role played by the churches as organizing bases for women's activities. A number of titles are devoted largely to single issues such as suffrage. Others provide an overall picture of women's issues. [more]

Resources Online

Resources Online for Primary Sources :
Primary Resources in History (MU Special Collections)

[more]

Other Resources to try:
Avalon Project - Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy (Yale)

Key historical documents in searchable full text, browseable by time period or by topic. Covers 2000 BCE to present. [more]
International Law Audiovisual Library
Also Known as: ILAL

[more]
Liberty Library of Constitutional Classics

[more]
National Library of Medicine History of Medicine Division Finding Aid
Also Known as: NLM HMD EAD collection

Browse and search the archives of the History of Medicine Division at the National Library of Medicine. [more]
Newspapers on Microfilm in Special Collections

[more]
Thomas Jefferson Digital Archive (University of Virginia)


By Subject

Browse online resources - article databases, catalogs, reference books, web sites - organized by subject. These resources were selected by the librarians responsible for the areas of study listed below.

Trials

Use and evaluate databases available on a trial basis at the University of Missouri Libraries. Suggestions and comments are welcome.
Databases :
AAS Historical Periodicals Collection (1691-1820) - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri [please give feedback here]

A digital collection of American magazines and journals from the American Antiquarian Society, a specialized library documenting American life from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. The trial is of the materials from 1691 to 1820. Trial ends November 6, 2009.
Early English Books Online - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri [please give feedback here]

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Trial ends November 15, 2009.
Newsbank Research Collection - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri [please give feedback here]

This beta test offers access to over 2000 domestic newspaper titles, web content, TV transcripts, video sources and over 1600 sources for international content in the enhanced NewsBank interface. Trial ends December 31, 2009. [more]

Help

Don't know where to start? Try one of these databases:
Academic Search Premier Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Academic Search Premier provides full-text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,300 journals in the collection. [more]
CQ Researcher Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
CQ Researcher is a complete source for in-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. Focusing on one topic, each weekly CQ Researcher provides extensive background information and discussion of the pro’s and con’s. [more]
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
This set of reference sources contains, among other things, Governments of the World: A Global Guide to Citizen's Rights and Responsibilities and the Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations. You can search within a single source, or across many sources. [more]
Lexis Nexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Lexis Nexis Academic offers access to the full-text of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the full-text of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). [more]