Skip to main content
 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Online Databases and Resources Recommended by Librarians

Search Results

Didn't find what you needed? Try our free Online Chat or Ask a Librarian email.

Databases for Articles

Databases are collections of magazine, newspaper and journal articles. Many of these databases will give you the full text of an article. Mizzou purchases the databases with the Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri icon through subscriptions and access is restricted to students, faculty, and staff of the University of Missouri.

Databases :
Associated Press Multimedia Archive Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Also Known as: AccuNet/AP Photo Archive

Associated Press Multimedia Archive provides access to photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text spanning 160 years of history. [more]
Birds of North America Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Birds of North America is a comprehensive reference covering the life histories of North American birds. Includes audio, video and extensive references. [more]
MU Academic Support Center Media Catalog

Describes over 5000 videos and films available for rental from the University of Missouri- Columiba's Academic Support Center. Formerly published in print under the title Educational Video Catalog. [more]

Other Databases to try:
Academic OneFile Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Academic OneFile is a multidisciplinary database indexing over 13,000 titles. Full-text is available for over 5,000 titles. Access provided by MOREnet. MP3 audio versions of journal articles can be downloaded from the "Tools" box. Articles can also be translated into Arabic, Simplified Chinese, French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Russian, or Spanish.
AIDSinfo Drug Database

A dictionary of over 240 chemical and biological agents. Each entry includes pharmacologic action, adverse reactions, chemical and trade names, contraindications, physical/chemical properties, and manufacturers' names. A service of the Dept. of Health and Human Services.
Biblioteca Virtual de Ciencias Sociales de América Latina y el Caribe

The Latin American and Caribbean social science virtual library provides access to over 7000 full text documents, a databases of publications and research projects, a directory of researchers, and a collection of multimedia resources--video, audio, and images.
BioethicsLine

The BioethicsLine database closed in 2000. It has been succeeded by several databases from the Kennedy Institute of Ethics and the National Library of Medicine. Published annually as the Bibliography of Bioethics. [more]
Daniel Boone Regional Library Catalog

Search library materials in the public libraries in Columbia, Fulton, and Ashland. Those with borrowers cards can place holds and renew material online.
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. [more]
GenETHX Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Searches literature on the ethical, legal, and social implications of genetic and genomic research and its applications from many disciplines and publication types including journals, newspapers, books, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and audiovisuals. [more]
LOCATORplus

Search the library collection of the National Library of Medicine. [more]
MOBIUS - Missouri Bibliographic Information User System Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Search the collections of over 70 college and university libraries throughout Missouri. Books can be ordered at no cost using your employee or student ID, and can picked up at a nearby MOBIUS library of your choice. [more]
National Autistic Society Autism Database

From the UK National Autistic Society, National Autistic Society Autism Database provides access to search journal and magazine articles, pamphlets, reports, videos and books on autism. [more]
NLM Gateway Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

A single portal for searching National Library of Medicine collections and databases, including MEDLINE/PubMed, OLDMEDLINE, LOCATORplus, AIDS Meetings, HSR Meetings, MEDLINEplus, HISTLINE, AIDSLINE, SPACELINE, HSRPROJ and DIRLINE. [more]
NORINA

NORINA is an English-language database containing information on over 3,800 audiovisual aids that may be used as alternatives or supplements to the use of animals in teaching. 
OTSearch Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Maintained by the AOTA, this is the premier source for access to the literature of occupational therapy. Formerly known as OTBibSys. [more]
REHABDATA

Literature on physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. Produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center. [more]

eBooks / Books

The books below does not include all the books available at the MU Library, rather a select few noted by Librarians as noteworthy in a particular subject field. To search for more books please visit MERLIN, the MU Libraries Catalog.

eBooks and Reference Books :
Gale Encyclopedia of Cancer Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The text can be translated into Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, or Korean. English language MP3 audiofiles are also available from the Tools menu.

Other eBooks and Reference Books to try:
Gale Encyclopedia of Children's Health Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The text can be translated into Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, or Korean. English language MP3 audiofiles are also available from the Tools menu.
Gale Encyclopedia of Genetic Disorders Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The text can be translated into Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, or Korean. English language MP3 audiofiles are also available from the Tools menu.
Gale Encyclopedia of Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The text can be translated into Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, or Korean. English language MP3 audiofiles are also available from the Tools menu.
Gale Encyclopedia of Mental Disorders Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The text can be translated into Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, or Korean. English language MP3 audiofiles are also available from the Tools menu.
Gale Encyclopedia of Neurological Disorders Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The text can be translated into Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, or Korean. English language MP3 audiofiles are also available from the Tools menu.
Gale Encyclopedia of Psychology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The text can be translated into Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, or Korean. English language MP3 audiofiles are also available from the Tools menu.
Gale Encyclopedia of Surgery Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The text can be translated into Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, or Korean. English language MP3 audiofiles are also available from the Tools menu.

Resources Online

Resources Online :
Free Medical Podcasts
Also Known as: freemedicalpodcasts

Links to MP3s and transcripts (where available) for leading medical and scientific journals, and leading medical organizations such as the FDA, the Center for Disease Control, the American Heart Association, and more. Sign up for their mailing list to receive alerts. [more]

Other Resources to try:
PracticingSpanish.com - Medical Spanish for Healthcare Providers
Also Known as: practicing;spanish;health care providers

Word lists, cultural information, and practice dialogs to assist health professionals in communicating with Latino patients.

By Subject

Browse online resources - article databases, catalogs, reference books, web sites - organized by subject. These resources were selected by the librarians responsible for the areas of study listed below.

Trials

Use and evaluate databases available on a trial basis at the University of Missouri Libraries. Suggestions and comments are welcome.
Databases :
AAS Historical Periodicals Collection (1691-1820) - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri [please give feedback here]

A digital collection of American magazines and journals from the American Antiquarian Society, a specialized library documenting American life from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. The trial is of the materials from 1691 to 1820. Trial ends November 6, 2009.
Early English Books Online - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri [please give feedback here]

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Trial ends November 15, 2009.
Newsbank Research Collection - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri [please give feedback here]

This beta test offers access to over 2000 domestic newspaper titles, web content, TV transcripts, video sources and over 1600 sources for international content in the enhanced NewsBank interface. Trial ends December 31, 2009. [more]

Help

Don't know where to start? Try one of these databases:
Academic Search Premier Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Academic Search Premier provides full-text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,300 journals in the collection. [more]
CQ Researcher Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
CQ Researcher is a complete source for in-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. Focusing on one topic, each weekly CQ Researcher provides extensive background information and discussion of the pro’s and con’s. [more]
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
This set of reference sources contains, among other things, Governments of the World: A Global Guide to Citizen's Rights and Responsibilities and the Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations. You can search within a single source, or across many sources. [more]
Lexis Nexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Lexis Nexis Academic offers access to the full-text of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the full-text of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). [more]