Skip to main content
 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Online Databases and Resources Recommended by Librarians

Search Results

Didn't find what you needed? Try our free Online Chat or Ask a Librarian email.

Databases for Articles

Government databases index reports, analysis, intergovernmental communications, maps, statistics, guides and general works on virtually any topic addressed by government. Because the government publishes a wide variety of material, the intended audience for government publications can range from young to old, educated or uneducated. There are government publications targeted specifically to children, scientists, businessmen, immigrants, homeless people, lawyers, and more. And of course there is a great deal of documentation on statutes, regulations, and other processes involving the formation of laws. Most databases in this list are full-text searches of primary source documents. However, there are a some here which assist in the location of full-length government reports and articles written by employees of government agencies. For assistance using government databases, contact Marie Concannon, Government Documents Coordinator, concannonm@missouri.edu.

Databases for Government Documents :
Agencywide Documents Access and Management System (ADAMS)

ADAMS indexes the regulatory and technical documents of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), its contractors and licensees. Includes full-text from November 1, 1999, with bibliographic records going back to 1981. These earlier materials are available in the NUDOCS microfiche collection housed in the Engineering Library & Technology Commons. [more]
American State Papers, 1789-1838 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

American State Papers, 1789-1838, features not only new bibliographic records for every one of its 6,354 publications, but also superior images created by digitizing every page of every publication from the print volumes issued between 1832 and 1861. Unlike the U.S. Congressional Serial Set, the publications in the American State Papers are not divided into reports and documents and do not include House and Senate journals. Approximately two-thirds of the publications cover the first 14 Congresses (1789-1817), whereas the remaining third chronologically overlap with the Serial Set from 1817-1838. [more]
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
Also Known as: CGP

The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications is the primary catalog for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. [more]
CQ Weekly Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

CQ Weekly provides the CQ Weekly Congressional Quarterly’s magazine on government, commerce and politics. Complete source for expert coverage of the U.S. Congress, including status of bills, votes and amendments, floor and committee activity, and backroom maneuvering. [more]
Digital National Security Archive Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The Digital National Security Archive is a comprehensive collection of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. The Archive is organized into dozens of topical collections, each containing government documents declassified under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA). [more]
ECLAS (European Commission Libraries Catalogue)

ECLAS is the European Commission union catalog, representing the holdings of both the Central Library of the European Commission and some 25 smaller specialized libraries and documentation centers. Provides broad coverage of European Union official publications from 1978 to date, as well as publications about the Union from other intergovernmental organizations, commercial, academic and government presses. ECLAS also indexes selected periodical articles of lasting interest. [more]
GPO Access

GPO Access is the single most comprehensive source for official publications from all three branches of the U.S. government, as well as independent agencies. Provides access to a broad array of full-text databases and finding aids. [more]
Homeland Security Digital Library

Homeland Security Digital Library contains access to homeland security strategy, policy and research published by Federal, state and local government agencies, international governments and institutions, universities, and think tanks. [more]
House of Commons Parliamentary Papers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

House of Commons Parliamentary Papers covers 1801-1919. Covers social, political, economic and foreign policy, showing how British laws were created. [more]
Index to House of Commons Parliamentary Papers CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.

Index to House of Commons Parliamentary Papers indexes all House of Commons Parliamentary Papers from 1801-1997. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library. [more]
Index to the Current House of Commons Parliamentary Papers CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.

Index to the Current House of Commons Parliamentary Papers indexes House of Commons Parliamentary Papers from 1996-present. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library. [more]
Lexis Nexis Congressional Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Lexis Nexis Congressional indexes to congressional publications (1789-date), an extensive bill tracking service (1989-date), legislative histories (1969-date), floor votes (1989-date), public laws (1989-date), treaties with Indian tribes (1778-1874), treaties with foreign countries (1776-1949). In addition, full-text is available for the Congressional Record (1985-present), the Federal Register (1980-present), the Statutes at Large (1789-present), Congressional Research Service reports (1916-present) and Committee Prints (1830-present). This database also includes biographical, financial and voting information on current members of Congress. [more]
LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Lexis Nexis Academic offers access to the full-text of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the full-text of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). [more]
STAT-USA CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.

STAT-USA is a comprehensive source of economic, business and international trade information. Access only available within Ellis Library. [more]
U.S. Congressional Serial Set Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1980 is a vast primary source collection for U.S. political, social, cultural, military and ethnic history, as well as international relations, explorations, genealogy, commerce, industrial development and more. [more]
U.S. Statutes at Large Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

U.S. Statutes at Large provides full-text access to the laws of the United States from 1789 to the present. Includes public laws, private laws, concurrent resolutions, presidential proclamations, treaties with foreign nations (through 1849) and all treaties with Native American tribes. [more]
U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs 1832-1978 contains nearly 11 million pages of records and briefs brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978. [more]
UNBISnet(United Nations Bibliographic Information System)

UNBISnet is the catalog for United Nations documents and publications. Also included are commercial publications and other non-UN sources held in the collection of the Dag Hammarskjöld Library. The coverage of UNBISnet is from 1979 onward, however, older documents are being added to the catalogue on a regular basis. UNBISnet also provides instant access to a growing number of full text resources in the six official languages of the UN (Arabic, Chinese, English, French, Russian and Spanish), including resolutions adopted by the General Assembly, the Economic and Social Council and the Security Council from 1946 onward. [more]
United Nations Common Database (UNCDB)

United Nations Common Database (UNCDB) provides access to over 300 statistical series covering all countries, from more than 30 specialized international data sources. [more]
United Nations Official Document System (ODS)

The United Nations Official Document System (ODS) provides full-text access to all types of official United Nations documentation, beginning in 1993. ODS also provides access to the resolutions of the General Assembly, Security Council, Economic and Social Council and the Trusteeship Council from 1946 onwards. [more]

Other Databases to try:
American Law Institute Library Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The archives of the American Law Institute (ALI) include editions of the Uniform Commercial Code, restatements of the law on a variety of topics, and special publications of the ALI including the ALI Reporter. Access provided to the campus by the MU Law Library.
Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC) - Public Technical Reports Collection

DTIC Online searches publicly accessible information sources. It includes report citations and many full-text reports.
Energy Citations Database

Energy Citations Database contains citations to energy and energy related technical reports, conference papers, and journal articles from U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) and its predecessors ERDA and AEC. The microfiche collection is housed at the Engineering Library & Technology Commons. [more]
Enviro-Health Links Hurricane Katrina Resource Page Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Links to information on environmental cleanup, drinking water, mold, hazardous materials and more created to assist relief workers. Created by Specialized Information Services at the National Library of Medicine .
ETHXWeb Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Journal articles, book chapters, bills, laws, court decisions, reports, and news articles relating to bioethics and professional ethics. Can search for literature which emphasizes a legal, religious, empirical, or popular approach. Contains some links to fulltext. From the Kennedy Institute of Ethics, which formerly produced Bioethicsline. [more]
Geolytics' Neighborhood Change Database CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.

Geolytics' Neighborhood Change Database contains nation-wide tract-level data from the 1970, 1980, 1990 and 2000 decennial censuses. Combines U.S. Bureau of the Census data into one product with variables and tract boundaries that are consistently defined across census years. [more]
Government of Canada Publications

Government of Canada Publications is the principle database for finding publications of the Canadian federal government. Includes links to full-text when available. [more]
Grey Literature Report - New York Academy of Medicine Library
Also Known as: nyam grey literature

Locate health policy documents from various health policy stakeholders, such as the Kaiser Foundation, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the RAND Corporation, the Guttmacher Institute, the World Health Organization, and many more. Compiled by the library of the New York Academy of Medicine. Bimonthly updates available. [more]
HeinOnline Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

The single most comprehensive source of treaties and other international agreements to which the United States has become a party. Also includes a number of treaty guides and indexes, including Treaties in Force. [more]
Historical Statistics of the United States Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Historical Statistics of the United States presents the numerical history of the United States. It contains more than 37,000 annual time series of quantitative historical information covering virtually every quantifiable dimension of American history, all from the earliest times to the present. [more]
Internet Law and Regulation Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Updated daily, this database provides digests, topical commentaries and a large case law library on Internet-related matters. Also includes a collection of Internet-related pleadings, motions, treaties, regulations and more. Access provided to the campus by the MU Law Library. [more]
Lexis Nexis Statistical Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Lexis Nexis Statistical is a comprehensive finding aid for statistical data on a wide variety of topics. [more]
Making of Modern Law - Legal Treatises 1800-1926 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Making of Modern Law - Legal Treatises 1800-1926 provides digital images on every page of 22,000 legal treatises on US and British law published from 1800 through 1926. Access provided to the campus by the MU Law Library. [more]
NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)

NTRS provides access to approximately 500K aerospace related citations, 90K full-text online documents, and 111K images and videos. The type of information found in NTRS include: conference papers, images, journal articles, photos, meeting papers, movies, patents, research reports, and technical videos. [more]
National Criminal Justice Reference Service
Also Known as: NCJRS

(NCJRS) contains summaries of over 180,000 criminal justice publications, including federal, state and local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles and unpublished research. This is a good source for statistics and it links to the full-text NCJRS Virtual Library. [more]
National Human Genome Research Institute Policy and Legislation Database

Locate federal and state laws/statutes, and federal legislative, administrative and executive materials related to genetic testing and its public policy implications. [more]
Native Health Research Database

Indexes health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. Can search by tribe, state, region/province in addition to MeSH subject searches. Older literature (back to 1652) can be found in the Native Health History Database. [more]
NTIS Database Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

NTIS on Ovid (National Technical Information Service) is the major resource for locating U.S. Government sponsored research in the physical sciences, technology, engineering, biological sciences, medicine and health sciences, agriculture and social sciences. [more]
PAIS Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

PAIS covers the range of the social sciences, with emphasis on national and international economic, political and public policy issues. [more]
PILOTS - Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress

Indexes world literature on traumatic stress disorder. Although it's created/maintained by the US Department of Veterans Affairs, it covers all types of traumatic stress, not just post-combat stress syndromes. [more]
Science Accelerator

The Science Accelerator searches simultaneously across key Department of Energy resources, including the OSTI full-text DOE Information Bridge (1991), the E-Print Network, the EnergyFiles, and DOE Patents. Provided by the Office of Scientific and Technical Information.
Smoking and Health Databases Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.

Literature on the scientific, medical, technical, policy, behavioral, legal, and historical aspects of smoking and tobacco use and its health effects. Includes abstracts of hard to find conference proceedings and government documents, many with historical significance. Although most items have been published since 1965, several records date back to the 1800s. From the Office of Smoking and Health, Centers for Disease Control. [more]

eBooks / Books

The books below does not include all the books available at the MU Library, rather a select few noted by Librarians as noteworthy in a particular subject field. To search for more books please visit MERLIN, the MU Libraries Catalog.

eBooks and Reference Books for Government Documents :
Digital South Asia Library

Contains digital materials for reference and research on South Asia. Contributors to the Digital South Asia Library include leading U.S. universities, the Center for Research Libraries, the South Asia Microform Project, the Committee on South Asian Libraries and Documentation, the Association for Asian Studies, the Library of Congress, the Asia Society, the British Library, the University of Oxford, the University of Cambridge, MOZHI in India, the Sundarayya Vignana Kendram in India, Madan Puraskar Pustakalaya in Nepal, and other institutions in South Asia. [more]

Other eBooks and Reference Books to try:
MyiLibrary Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

MyiLibrary provides full-text access to over 1,200 electronic books from several international agencies, including the UN and others. Includes intergovernmental publications in the social sciences, medicine, and engineering. Also includes access to FactLab, a statistical database. [more]
Nineteenth Century Microfiche Project Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

This index covers 19th century books from the British Library that were reproduced on microfiche due to deterioriation of wood pulp papers. In addition to the General Collection, topic areas of collection strength include Women Writers, Art and Architecture, Economics, Childrens Literature, British Colonization, Ireland, China, Linguistics, Publishing and Bookselling and Evolution and Creation. Part of C19 database. No full text. [more]
The European Library

[more]

Resources Online

Resources Online for Government Documents :
Annals of Congress
Also Known as: The debates and proceedings in the Congress of the United States...

The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress, published between 1789 and 1824, searchable and browsable online via the Library of Congress. The predecessor of the Congressional Record. The Annals were not published contemporaneously, but were compiled between 1834 and 1856, using the best records available, primarily newspaper accounts. If you'd like to see the print volumes, they are shelved on the 2nd Floor of Ellis Library, call number J11 .R396. [more]
Energy Information Administration: Official Energy Statistics from the U.S. Government
Also Known as: EIA

The Energy Information Administration (EIA), created by Congress in 1977, is a statistical agency of the U.S. Department of Energy.Their mission is to provide policy-neutral data, forecasts, and analyses to promote sound policy making, efficient markets, and public understanding regarding energy and its interaction with the economy and the environment. EIA provides a wide range of information and data products covering energy production, stocks, demand, imports, exports, and prices; and prepares analyses and special reports on topics of current interest. Many products, such as the Petroleum Supply Monthly, deal with specific industries. Of particular value to a broad range of customers are products that present integrated information and data on all fuel types, such as the Monthly Energy Review, the Annual Energy Review, the Short-Term Energy Outlook, and the Annual Energy Outlook.
FedStats

FedStats is a comprehensive web portal to statistics published by the U.S. Government. More than 100 federal agencies produce statistics. Includes subject and geographic indexes, mapping tools, a cross-agency search engine, and direct links to statistical agencies and data access tools. [more]
US Government Documents Research Guide (MU)

Guide to federal documents and MU access to them online and in print format

Other Resources to try:
Avalon Project - Documents in Law, History and Diplomacy (Yale)

Key historical documents in searchable full text, browseable by time period or by topic. Covers 2000 BCE to present. [more]
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports

The Congressional Research Service (CRS) is a branch of the Library of Congress that provides nonpartisan research to the U.S. Congress on a variety of hot topics. CRS reports have an excellent reputation for clear presentation of essential facts, and for providing fair and even-handed summaries of controversial issues. Despite its connection with the premier library of the United States, the Congressional Research Service does not make its reports available by any sort of public distribution system. James Jacobs, International Documents Librarian at Stanford University, has created a way to search simultaneously many sites that make CRS Reports available to the public.
International Law Audiovisual Library
Also Known as: ILAL

[more]
Liberty Library of Constitutional Classics

[more]
National Transportation Library

The NTL maintains a collection of statistical and other information needed for transportation decision-making at the Federal, State, and local levels. Includes access to the NTL Integrated Search System, which searches the NTL Digital Repository, TRIS Online, and records for other web accessible transportation resources, including research and policy sites of the State DOT and University Transportation Centers' research publications and document repositories.
NTIS DARTS (Depository Access to Reports, Technical and Scientific)

NTIS DARTS provides full-text access to U.S. Government sponsored research published between 1964-2000. [more]
Papers of the War Department, 1784-1800

[more]
Public Information Films from the National Archives (British)

[more]
Statistics Canada

Statistics Canada is the web portal of Canada’s central statistical agency. Provides access to federal and provincial statistics. Warning: Not all statistical information on this site is free of charge. [more]
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers Publications


USGS Missouri Water Science Center

Includes district information, maps, real-time water data, publications, and more.
USGS Water Resources of the United States

Provides real-time water data, water information by state, maps, software and publications.

By Subject

Browse online resources - article databases, catalogs, reference books, web sites - organized by subject. These resources were selected by the librarians responsible for the areas of study listed below.

Trials

Use and evaluate databases available on a trial basis at the University of Missouri Libraries. Suggestions and comments are welcome.
Databases :
AAS Historical Periodicals Collection (1691-1820) - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri [please give feedback here]

A digital collection of American magazines and journals from the American Antiquarian Society, a specialized library documenting American life from the Colonial Era through the Civil War and Reconstruction. The trial is of the materials from 1691 to 1820. Trial ends November 6, 2009.
Early English Books Online - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri [please give feedback here]

Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Trial ends November 15, 2009.
Newsbank Research Collection - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri [please give feedback here]

This beta test offers access to over 2000 domestic newspaper titles, web content, TV transcripts, video sources and over 1600 sources for international content in the enhanced NewsBank interface. Trial ends December 31, 2009. [more]

Help

Don't know where to start? Try one of these databases:
Academic Search Premier Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Academic Search Premier provides full-text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,300 journals in the collection. [more]
CQ Researcher Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
CQ Researcher is a complete source for in-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. Focusing on one topic, each weekly CQ Researcher provides extensive background information and discussion of the pro’s and con’s. [more]
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
This set of reference sources contains, among other things, Governments of the World: A Global Guide to Citizen's Rights and Responsibilities and the Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations. You can search within a single source, or across many sources. [more]
Lexis Nexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Lexis Nexis Academic offers access to the full-text of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the full-text of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). [more]