Online Databases and Resources Recommended by Librarians

By Subject

Browse online resources - article databases, catalogs, reference books, web sites - organized by subject. These resources were selected by the librarians responsible for the areas of study listed below.

Trials

Use and evaluate databases available on a trial basis at the University of Missouri Libraries. Suggestions and comments are welcome.
Databases :
AccessEngineering Library - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri [please give feedback here]

AccessEngineering is a redesign of the premiere online engineering resource, formerly known as McGraw-Hill's Digital Engineering Library. The new-user focused design enhances this dynamic online resource of world-renowned engineering content, and will support all levels of scientific and technical research in the corporate, industrial, government and academic sectors. Trial ends July 9, 2009.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri [please give feedback here]

The Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) is a United States government agency which translates the text of daily radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, government statements, and selected other sources of unrestricted information from non-English sources around the world. FBIS reports contain political, military, economic, environmental, and sociological news and information. It does not translate every news item appearing in all foreign mass media, but focuses rather on that information which may be of use to the intelligence community. Coverage is divided according to the following world regions: Asia and the Pacific, Middle East and Africa, East Asia, Near East & South Asia, China, Sub-Saharan Africa, East Europe, Central Eurasia, Latin America, West Europe, Soviet Union and South Asia. Trial ends July 10, 2009.
National Technical Research Library (NTRL) - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri [please give feedback here]

The NTRL (National Technical Research Library) comprises the largest collection of federally funded full-text technical reports in existence. The database indexes over 2.5 million bibliographic records, and provides over 500,000 reports as full-text documents in PDF format. Subject coverage includes: Administration & Management, Aeronautics & Aerodynamics, Agriculture & Food, Astronomy & Astrophysics Energy, Atmospheric Sciences, Behavior & Society, Biomedical Technology & Human Factors Engineering, Business & Economics, Chemistry, Civil Engineering, Communications, Computers, Energy, Environmental Pollution & Control, Health Care, Industrial & Mechanical Engineering, Library & Information Sciences, Manufacturing Technology, Materials Sciences, Mathematical Sciences, Medicine & Biology, Military Sciences, Natural Resources, Nuclear Science, Ocean Sciences, Photography, Physics, Space Technology, Transportation and more. Trial ends July 6, 2009.
Newsbank Research Collection - Trial Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri [please give feedback here]

This beta test offers access to over 2000 domestic newspaper titles, web content, TV transcripts, video sources and over 1600 sources for international content in the enhanced NewsBank interface. Trial ends December 31, 2009. [more]

Help

Don't know where to start? Try one of these databases:
Academic Search Premier Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Academic Search Premier provides full-text for nearly 4,600 scholarly publications, including more than 3,500 peer-reviewed publications. In addition to the full-text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for all 8,300 journals in the collection. [more]
CQ Researcher Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
CQ Researcher is a complete source for in-depth, analytical reporting on the most current and controversial issues of the day. Focusing on one topic, each weekly CQ Researcher provides extensive background information and discussion of the pro’s and con’s. [more]
Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
This set of reference sources contains, among other things, Governments of the World: A Global Guide to Citizen's Rights and Responsibilities and the Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations. You can search within a single source, or across many sources. [more]
Lexis Nexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
Lexis Nexis Academic offers access to the full-text of current and back issues of major newspapers, journals, newsletters, and news sources from around the world and the full-text of legal materials, (court cases, legislation, statutes, regulations, law reviews, and more). [more]