Database Alerts Instructions

Databases not listed do not support alerts.

ACM Digital Library

The Table-of-Contents (TOC) alert service sends an email alert when a new issue of an ACM journal, magazine, newsletter or proceedings has been posted in the Digital Library.

  1. From the Digital Library main page, click on “Login” in the upper right-hand corner of the screen.
  2. New users will need to click on “Create my ACM Web Account now.”
  3. Click on the “Continue” button under “ I am Not an ACM or SIG Member”
  4. Once logged in, click on the “TOC Service” link on the main page.

ADR World

  1. Click on the “account management” link at the bottom of the main page.
  2. Click on the “Continue” button next to “subscribe or unsubscribe from our mailing list.
  3. Click the “Add me to the mailing list” radio button, input your email address, and click the “Click here to process the request” button.

America: History and Life

  1. From the search page, click on “Personal Profile [View]”
  2. Click “New Profile”
  3. You can create up to ten Auto Alerts. Choose the databases you wish the Alert to search ( America: History and Life or Historical Abstracts, or both). Then enter the terms the way you would for a normal search.

Alerts will be mailed to your email account monthly.

American Chemical Society Journals
  1. Click on the “E-mail Alerts & RSS Feeds” link on the left side of the page.
  2. Click on “Sign up or modify E-mail alerts.
  3. Choose ASAP Alerts or TOC Alerts. With ASAP Alerts, you receive daily or weekly alerts when individual articles for selected journals are released. With TOC Alerts, you receive an email with the table of contents of selected journals on the day the issue is released on the web.
  4. You may sign up for either option or both options.

American Institute of Physics Journals
  1. Click on the journal for which you would like to receive alerts.
  2. In the toolbar at the top of the page, click on “E-Mail Alerts.”
  3. Enter your email address, select either plain-text or HTML e-mail format, and click the “Submit” button.

AnthroSource
  1. Click on the “My Profile” link on the left side of the page.
  2. Click on the orange “Register” button at the bottom of the page.
  3. Fill out the requested information and click the “Submit” button.
  4. Follow the directions given to set up e-mail alerts

ASCE Research Library
  1. Click on the “My E-mail Alerts” link at the top of any page.
  2. Enter your email address.
  3. Click on the check box next to the journals for which you wish to be alerted.
  4. Select the format of your e-mail (HTML or plain-text (ASCII)).
  5. Click the “Submit” button.

ASTM Standards (Specs and Standards

ASTM Standards will send an e-mail alert when documents on a list you create are revised.

To create a list:

  1. Run a search.
  2. Click the “View Lists” button on the menu bar near the top of the page.
  3. Click the “Create List” button on the menu bard.
  4. Type in a name for the list.
  5. Choose if the list will be secure. Non-secure lists can be updated by any user.
  6. Choose if the list will be private. Non-private lists can be viewed by any user.
  7. Click “Submit.”

To add documents to the list:

  1. Run a search.
  2. Click the check boxes next to the documents which you wish to add to the list.
  3. Click the “Add to List” link at the top of the first column.
  4. Select a list from the drop-down menu.
  5. Click “Submit.”

To create an E-mail alert for the list:

  1. Click the “View Lists” button on the menu bar at the top of the page.
  2. Select the name of the list to alert from the drop-down menu.
  3. Click the “E-mail Alerts” link in the blue bar directly above the drop-down menu.
  4. Enter an e-mail address and click “Submit.”

BioOne Journals

Start at the BioOne alerts page.

  1. Click on “Register for a free account.”

TOC Alert is an email service notifying you when new issues are available on BioOne. You will receive an email containing the table of contents and a link to the online table of contents at your email address for any journal you select.

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online
  1. On the left side of the main page, click the “about” link.
  2. On the right side of the page, in the dark blue box, enter your name and e-mail address.
  3. Click the “Submit” button.

Community of Science Expertise

COS Funding alerts are available by creating a personal COS Workbench profile and using the COS Funding Alerts tool found on the profile page. Click the “Add Your Profile” link on the left side of the page to get started. Follow the on-screen directions for more information.

Community of Science Funding Opportunities

COS Funding alerts are available by creating a personal COS Workbench profile and using the COS Funding Alerts tool found on the profile page. Follow the on-screen directions for more information.

CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher offers two “newsletter-style” e-mail alerts regarding new issues on the site.

To subscribe to a newsletter:

  1. On the left side of the main page click “In the News.”
  2. Scroll down to the bottom of the page and click “Subscribe to CQEL Newsletters.”
  3. Click on the link of the newsletter to which you would like to subscribe.
  4. Fill out the requested information and click the “Submit” button.
  5. To subscribe to the other newsletter as well, repeat steps 1-4.

CQ Weekly

CQ Weekly e-mail alerts send an e-mail whenever new content matching criteria you specify is added to the website.

To sign up for alerts, you must first create a user profile. This profile is valid for all CQ databases.

  1. Click on the “E-mail Alerts” link on the left side of the page.
  2. Click on the “Your Profile” link in the center of the page.
  3. Fill out the information as requested, and click “Proceed.”
  4. Click on the “E-Mail Alerts” link in the center of the page.
  5. Click on the “Create New Alert” link in the center of the page.
  6. Fill in the criteria for an alert and click the “Save” button at the bottom of the page.

CSA Illumina Databases

To create a search alert:

1. Run a search.

2. Click on “Search History” link in the upper right hand corner. Do not click on the Alerts link.

3. Next to the search you wish to alert for, click the “Save As Alert” link.

4. If a new user, click “New user? Create a personal profile” link.

5. Fill in any comments or other information, and click the “Save as Alert” button at the bottom of the page.

To create a new issue journal alert:

1. Click on the “browse” tab at the top of the screen.

2. Click on the journal of your choice.

3. Click on the “New Issue Alert” link on the left side of the screen.

Current Index to Statistics

Click “CIS mailing list” on the main page and follow the directions provided to sign up for new content and feature alerts from the Current Index to Statistics. Number of e-mail messages is normally less than one per month.

EBSCOhost Databases

To create a search alert:

1. Enter and run the search you want.

2. Click "Search History/Alerts" on the tab near the middle of the page.

3. Click "Save Searches/Alerts" under the "Search History/Alerts" tab.

4. 5. Click "I'm a new user" to set-up an account or enter "User name" and "Password" for your account.

5. After logging in or setting up your account, provide a name and a description for your search.

6. Set up an alert, which allows the system to email you the results of the search automatically.

7. Complete the "Email Properties" section of the form and click "Save."

To create a journal alert:

  1. Click on the “Publications” link in the green bar near the top of the page.
  2. Select the publication of your choice.
  3. Click the “Journal Alert” link in the yellow bar on the right side.
  4. Set your options for this email alert
  5. Click the “Save” button at the bottom of the page.

To create an RSS feed or use one-step alerts:

  1. Click on the "New Features" link in the upper right corner of the main page.
  2. Check the "Try It!" box under "One Step Alerts"
  3. Click the "Back" link.
  4. Run a search (Basic or Advanced).
  5. Click on the "Search History/Alerts tab just above the results area.
  6. Searches will now display the "RSS/Newsfeed" icon. To add the feed, follow the directions as given by your news reader program.
  7. To save the search for e-mail alerts, sign-in or register as described above.
  8. On the results page, click the "Save Searches/Alerts link.
  9. Fill out the requested information and click the "Save" button.

ECLAS (European Commission Libraries Catalogue)
  1. In the upper-left corner of the main page, click on “Sign-In.”
  2. Click on the “Register” button.
  3. Fill in the requested information (only fields with an * are required). Click the “Go” button.
  4. Return to the main page by clicking on the “Search” link in the upper-left corner.
  5. Perform a search.
  6. Roll the mouse cursor over the “My Searches” link in the upper-left corner of the page and click “My Searches in Current Session” from the menu that appears.
  7. Place a checkmark next to the searches for which you wish to set a bibliographic alert.
  8. Click on the “SDI Request” link in the menu bar at the top of the page.
  9. Fill in the information requested and submit.

Faculty of 1000 (Biology)
  1. Click on the “Log On /Register” button at the top of the page.
  2. Click on the “Register” link on the left side of the page.
  3. Fill out the requested information (only fields marked with * are required) and click the arrow button at the bottom of the page.
  4. Select interests by doing the following:
    1. Drop down the “Faculties” menu and select a major discipline
    2. Select each area of interest by clicking once to select it and then clicking “add item.”
    3. You can select items from different disciplines.
  5. When finished, click the “right arrow” button at the bottom of the page.
  6. Use the checkboxes and drop down menus to select which alerts you would like to receive, the quantity of alerts that should be sent and how often alerts should be sent.
  7. Click on the “Faculty of 1000 Biology” logo in the upper right corner of the page to return to the main page.

GeoScienceWorld

GeoScienceWorld offers many different alerting functions. These include: TOC alerts, search alerts, citation alerts, and correction alerts. CiteTrack is an alerting system through which one can build a “profile” that allows the user to specify particular search string alerts for particular journals.

  1. Click on the “Register” link on the right side of the main page.
  2. Fill in an e-mail address. At the bottom of the page is a description of the different types of alerts. Click the “Begin New Registration” button when ready to proceed.
  3. Fill in the information requested and click the “Send Form” button.
  4. Click on the “My GSW Alerts” link at the top of the page.
  5. Follow the directions to set up TOC and CiteTrack alerts.

An alternate method to steps 4 and 5 is as follows:

  1. Find a journal title by using the “alphabet links” in the middle of the page
  2. Alternately, run a keyword search. For an article result published in a journal of interest, click on the “Journal” link.
  3. Once at the main page of a particular journal, click the “E-mail Alerts” link on the left side of the page.
  4. Follow the links to set up different types of alerts.

To set up individual article citation alerts and individual article correction alerts:

  1. Run a search.
  2. Click on the “Abstract” link to the right of an article of interest.
  3. On the right side of the page, click either “Alert me when this article is cited” or “Alert me if a correction is posted.”
  4. Follow the directions as given to set up these alerts.

Historical Abstracts
  1. From the search page, click on “Personal Profile [View]”
  2. Click “New Profile”
  3. You can create up to ten Auto Alerts.  Choose the databases you wish the Alert to search (America: History and Life or Historical Abstracts, or both).  Then enter the terms the way you would for a normal search.
  4. Alerts will be mailed to your email account monthly.

Historical Statistics of the United States
  1. Click the “Register” link in the upper-right corner of the main page.
  2. Fill in the information requested, and click the checkboxes for up to 5 areas of interest.
  3. At the bottom of the page, click the checkboxes next to the types of alert e-mails that should be sent to your e-mail address.
  4. Click the “Submit” button.

Homeland Security Digital Library
  1. Go to the alerts page.
  2. Click on “create an individual account.”
  3. Fill in the information requested and follow the directions to set up an account.
  4. After registering, return to the alerts page (or just click on the above link again), and this time click “login.”
  5. Follow the directions to set up alerts.

IEEE Xplore
  1. Click the “Alerts” link at the top of the page.
  2. Enter your name and e-mail address and click the “Submit” button.
  3. Click the checkbox next to each journal for which you wish to be alerted.
  4. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click the “Submit Selection” button.

Ingenta

Ingenta supports “new issue” (journal) alerts. Users must register and be logged-in to set up alerts. The maximum number of alerts for each user is set at 5.

To register:

  1. On the main page, click the “Sign Up Here” link on the right side of the page.
  2. Fill in the requested information and click “Register.” Passwords can contain only letters and numbers, no “special” characters.
  3. Click on the “Adding New Issue Alerts” link to go directly to issue alerts selection.

To add new issue alerts:

  1. From the screen accessed in step 3 of registration, click on the “Add” tab at the top of the page.
  2. Click on the first letter of the journal title, OR search for the journal by keyword, OR select a journal collection for which you would like an alert.
  3. If using the “first letter” links, place a check in the boxes next to the journals for which you would like to receive alerts.
  4. Click the blue “Add” link at the top or the bottom of the column of check boxes.
  5. A confirmation message should appear stating that the journals were successfully added to your alerts list.

Alternately, to add new issue alerts for a journal in a results list:

  1. Click on the journal title.
  2. Click on the blue “Alerting Options” link on the right side of the page. A small menu will drop-down from the link.
  3. Click “Receive New Issue Alert.”
  4. A confirmation message should appear stating that the journal was successfully added to your alerts list.

Institute of Physics Journals
  1. Click on the “User Options” link in the dark blue toolbar near the top of the page.
  2. Click on “E-mail alerting service.”
  3. Click the “Create an Account” link on the left side of the page.
  4. Fill out the information, scroll to the bottom of the page and click “Create Account.”
  5. If necessary, repeat steps 1 and 2 to return yourself to E-mail alerts.
  6. There are two types of alerts: Table of Contents (TOC) and Enhanced Alerts. The first simply e-mails you the TOC for the journals you select whenever a new issue is available. Enhanced alerts will send an e-mail alert whenever specific keywords or other criteria are met by a newly added article.
  7. Follow the on-screen directions to set up alerts.

ISI Web of Knowledge Databases

ISI Web of Knowledge databases offer citation and search alerts. To register, go to the Web of Knowledge homepage.

  1. Click the “Register” link on the right side of the page.
  2. Fill in the requested information and submit.
  3. Click on “Continue.”
  4. Click on “Web of Science” on the left side of the page.

To set a Citation Alert:

  1. Run a search.
  2. Click on an article result to display the full record.
  3. Click the “Citation Alert” button to set a citation alert for the article.

To set a Search Alert:

  1. Run a search.
  2. Click on the “Search History” button near the top of the page.
  3. Place a checkmark on the left side of the page next to the search queries for which you would like to be alerted, and click “Save History.”
  4. Fill out the requested information, and click “Save.”

Kluwer Online
  1. Click on “Alerts” on the left side of the page near the bottom.
  2. Click on the “register” link under “Individual Registration.”
  3. Click the “Register Individual” button.
  4. Fill out the information as requested and click the “Register” button.
  5. Click the “Continue” button.
  6. Click on the “Manage Alerts” link.
  7. Return to the main page by clicking the “SpringerLink” logo in the upper right corner of the page.
  8. Find a journal or other material by clicking on a category or searching by keyword.
  9. In the results list, click on the  “Add to Marked Items” link above each periodical for which you would like to set up alerts.
  10. Click the small “diskette” (save) icon at the top of the results page.
  11. Fill out the form provided, including the section about alerts.
  12. Click the “Register” button.

LION Databases

  1. Click on the “My Archive” link on the left side of the page.
  2. Click on “Create a Profile.”
  3. Fill out the requested information and click the “Submit” button.
  4. Confirm your details, then click “Go to MyArchive.”
  5. Click on the “Register for Author Alerts” link.
  6. Click on “Select New Author.”
  7. Select your authors, then click the “Select” button.
  8. An e-mail will be sent whenever new texts by your selected authors are added.

MERLIN

MERLIN offers e-mail alerts which will inform you when new books and other items are added to the catalog. E-mails are sent at most every two weeks. No e-mail will be sent if an item matching the critera that you set has not been added during a particular two-week period.

To sign up for e-mail alerts through MERLIN, follow the directions as given on the MERLIN SDI Alerts Page.

NASA Astrophysical Data System
  1. Click on “myADS” on the left side of the main page.
  2. Click on the “ Cornell University arXiv” logo near the top of the page.
  3. Fill in an e-mail address and password.
  4. Click either “Setup myADS Notification,” or “Setup daily arXiv e-print Notification” to set up different types of alerts.
  5. Follow the onscreen directions to navigate through the various pages.

National Criminal Justice Reference Service
  1. Click “About NCJRS” in the upper left corner of the page.
  2. Scroll down to the red subheading which reads “Join the Information Network.”
  3. Click the “Register” link.
  4. Fill in your e-mail address and click the “Next” button.
  5. Click the “Send Password” button to have a password e-mailed to the address previously entered. The e-mail may take several minutes to arrive.
  6. Refer to the e-mail for directions on how to log in.
  7. Once logged in, select the “Manage Accounts” link.
  8. Follow the on-screen directions to set up various parts of your profile, including e-mail alerts.

National Guideline Clearinghouse

National Guideline Clearinghouse offers a variety of weekly e-mail “newsletters” that inform about new additions or updates to the site. To subscribe:

  1. Click on the “What’s New” link at the top of the main page.
  2. Click on the “Subscription Management” link.
  3. Fill in an e-mail address and click the “Get Subscriptions for this e-mail address,” button.
  4. Select which weekly updates to receive by clicking on the appropriate radio buttons.
  5. Click the “Save the subscription selections,” button.

Nature Journals
  1. Click on the “E-Alert Sign Up” link at the top of the page.
  2. Click on the “Register Now” button to open a new account or the “Sign-Up” button to sign up an existing account for e-mail alerts.
  3. Follow the directions given for specifying your e-mail alerts.

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NDLTD)

Alerts are not directly available, but there are several e-mail listservs that will provide news and information about the project.

  1. From the main page, click the “Subscribe” link on the left side of the page.
  2. Click the “subscribe” link at the top of the page.
  3. Click on a list and follow the directions given to subscribe.

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians

New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians offers updates by e-mail. To subscribe:

  1. Click on the “Subscriber Services” link on the left side of the main page.
  2. Click on the “e-mail updates and news” link on the right side of the page, near the top.
  3. Enter an e-mail address in the box provided in the center of the page, and click the “Subscribe” button.

OVID Databases

OVID Auto Alert requires the use of a personal OVID account. Please contact the Electronic Resources Coordinator at whithausr@missouri.edu or (573) 882-9164 to request a personal OVID account.

Instructions for creating an Auto Alert and saving searches will be sent with the confirmation of your OVID account.

Oxford English Dictionary Online

Alerts are not available. However, OED offers an RSS feed on its main page that provides news updates and a “word-of-the-day” service.

Oxford Reference Online Premium
  1. Click on the “Sign up now” link on the right side of the main page, under the “Fact of the Day” heading.
  2. Fill out your name and e-mail address as requested.
  3. Set the radio button to “Yes” for the question “Are you or your institution a subscriber to Oxford Reference Online?”
  4. Click the “Submit” button.

Plant Management Network

To receive monthly article alerts and other news, roll-over the “About Us” link at the top of the page, and click “Free Newsletter” from the drop-down menu that appears. Fill in the required information and click the “Submit” button.

Project Muse
  1. On the Project Muse homepage, click “Journals.”
  2. On the left side of the page, click “Request Journal Alerts.”
  3. Enter your e-mail address and click the “Make or Change Selections” button.
  4. Click the checkbox at the top of the screen for email alerts when new journals are added to Project Muse.
  5. Click the checkboxes next to the journals for which you wish to receive alerts.
  6. When finished, you can choose to:
    1. Click the “Save and Go To Subjects” button to save your current selections and move to selecting alerts by subject.
    2. Click the “Save and Go To Collections” button to save your current selections and move to selecting alerts by journal collections.
    3. If you are finished setting up alerts, click the “Save Changes and Exit” button.

ProQuest Databases

There are three types of search alerts:  New search alerts, recent search alerts, and publication alerts.

Follow these steps to create a new search alert:

  1. Run the desired search from either the Basic or the Advanced page.
  2. On the Results page, click “Set Up Alert.”
    You will see the Set up Your Search Alert” page.
  3. Complete the required information and click “Save.”
  4. You will see a confirmation page, summarizing your information. If the information is correct, click “Done.” Otherwise, you can click “Delete this Alert” to delete the alert.

Follow these steps to create an alert on a recent search:

  1. From the Basic or Advanced page, click the “Recent Searches” link . Or, from the Results page, click the “Recent Searches” link located near the bottom of the page in the grey Tools bar.
    You will see the Recent Searches page.
  2. Locate the desired search, and click the “Set up Alert” link next to the search.
    You will see the “Set up Your Search Alert” page.
  3. Complete the required information and click “Save.”
  4. You will see a confirmation page, summarizing your information. If the information is correct, click “Done.” Otherwise, you can click “Delete this Alert” to delete the alert.

Follow these steps to create a new publication alert:

  1. Locate the desired publication using Publication search.
  2. From the Publication page, click the “Set up Alert” link.
    You will see the “Set up Your Publication Alert” page.
  3. Complete the required information and click “Save.”
  4. You will see a confirmation page, summarizing your information. If the information is correct, click “Done.” Otherwise, you can click “Delete this Alert” to delete the alert.

PubMed

Inside the green-bordered area on the main page are the directions to set up alerts.

  1. Click the “MyNCBI Account” link.
  2. Click the “Register for an Account” link.
  3. Fill in the information as requested and click the “Register” button. You must provide an e-mail address if you wish to receive alerts.
  4. Check your e-mail and find the message from “MyNCBI.” Open the e-mail and click on the link to confirm the registration.
  5. This action will “pop-open” a new internet browser window.
  6. Click on “here” in the yellow box.
  7. Sign-in with your username and password.
  8. Run a search.
  9. Click the blue “Save Search” link next to the “Clear” button near the search box.
  10. Enter a name for the search, and click the radio button next to “Yes.”
  11. Fill out the additional information queries that appear. Click the “OK” button.

Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) Journals

To set up alerts, simply click on the “E-Alerts Service” link on the left side of the main page. Follow the directions as given on the E-Alerts page.

SAGE Journals Online

Sage offers both subject alerts and content alerts (search alerts, or “SJO”). To subscribe:

  1. Click on the “Tools” tab near the top of the page.
  2. Click on the “Alerts” button.
  3. Scroll down and click on the “Click here” link underneath “Not yet registered?”
  4. Enter an e-mail address and click the “Begin New Registration” button.
  5. Fill in all information as requested, and click the “Send Form” button.
  6. A message will appear if the registration was successful.
  7. Click the “Alert Summary & Preferences” link in the middle of the page.
  8. Re-enter your user name and password.
  9. Click the links provided to add subject alerts or content (SJO) alerts.

For subject alerts, just follow the directions provided on that page.

For SJO alerts, fill in the search terms and apply limiters, and then click “Save Alert.”

SARA (Taylor & Francis)

Start at this page.

  1. Click on the “SARA” logo at the bottom of the screen.
  2. Click on “Register.”
  3. Click on “Individual Registration Register.”
  4. Enter your name, e-mail address, and a (new) username and password
  5. At the “Individual Registration Complete” page, click on “Continue.”
  6. Click on “Home + Quick Search on the left side of the page near the top
  7. Click on SARA or KeyWord SARA on the right side of the page and then follow instructions as given.

ScienceDirect
  1. Click on “Alerts” in the green bar near the top of the page.
  2. Click on “Register Now.”
  3. From the Alerts main page, you can set up several types of alerts:
    1. Search Alerts will notify you when a new article meets a search request that you specify
    2. Topic Alerts will notify you of new articles related to a specific topic.
    3. Volume/Issue alerts will notify you of the appearance of a new volume or issue in a journal or other medium such as a book series.
    4. Citation Alerts will notify you when a new article appears which cites a specific article.

Science Direct Freedom Collection
Follow directions as given for ScienceDirect above.

Science of Synthesis

Science of Synthesis offers Table of Contents alerts. To subscribe:

  1. Click on the “ToC Alert” link on the left side of the main page.
  2. Fill out the information as requested and click the “Send Form” button.

Science Online
  1. Click on the “Alerts” link in the horizontal blue bar near the top of the page.
  2. Click the orange “Add/Edit/Delete Alerts” button to continue.
  3. Click the “Register” button on the right side of the page, or fill in your username and password if returning.
  4. Fill out the requested information, clicking “Submit” on each page.
  5. Use the Alerts Dashboard to create various types of alerts. Follow the directions on-screen.

Scitation

Alerts are not available, but Scitation allows you to subscribe to an RSS feed for your searches. Click on the RSS advertisement on the right side of the main page, perform a search, and then click on the RSS logo next to the search box.

SilverPlatter Databases
See WebSPIRS

Statistics Canada
  1. Click on the “My account” link in the menu bar near the top of the page.
  2. Click on the “Create an account now” link.
  3. Fill out the required information and click the “Create my account” button.
  4. Open your e-mail client, and open the e-mail from “Publications.”
  5. Click on the link provided to activate the account.
  6. A new internet browser window should “pop-up” informing of successful registration.
  7. Log-in to your account.
  8. Follow the directions and links under the heading “Manage my notifications,” to set-up alerts.

Ulrich's Periodicals Directory

To set-up specific types of alerts:

  1. Click on the “Ulrich’s Alert” button on the menu bar near the top of the page.
  2. Click on “here” in the phrase “Click here if you do not have an Ulrich’s Alert account.”
  3. Fill out the requested information and click the “Save” button at the bottom of the page.
  4. Open your e-mail client and open the e-mail from “ulrichsalerts.”
  5. Make a note of the password in the e-mail.
  6. Return to the website, and click the “here” link.
  7. Log-in using the e-mail address you provided and password provided in the e-mail.
  8. Click the word “here” in the phrase “Click here to add a new alert.”
  9. Select an alert service using the radio buttons on the far left side of the yellow box.
  10. Fill out any additional information required, and click the “Save” button in the upper-right corner of the page.
  11. To add more alerts, repeat steps 8-10.

To set-up a general “What’s New” e-mail:

  1. Click on the “Notify Me” link in the black bar at the very top of the main page.
  2. Fill out the requested information and click the “Submit” button.

WebSPIRS (SilverPlatter) Databases

  1. Run a search.
  2. Click on the “search history” tab near the top of the page.
  3. Click on the icon under the “Create SDI” column next to the search for which you wish to create an SDI.
  4. Click on “New User.”
  5. Submit the requested information.  Your username needs to be an e-mail address.
  6. On the “Create a New SDI” screen, fill out all requested details for the SDI, including your e-mail address again in the box provided.  Be sure to mark the checkbox “Only Send Email if New Results.”
  7. Click OK.  The SDI will be run when the database is updated.

WilsonWeb Databases

WilsonWeb databases support SDI alerts, which allow you to save a search, have it re-run automatically, and e-mail you with new results.

Click on the new Create Alerts button on the left toolbar, or go to WilsonWeb’s Search History screen, which is where the Alert function resides.

  1. Either click the check box for the desired search in the “Active Search” area, or retrieve, load, and then check a previously saved search.
  2. Click the “Alert” button at the right of the search string.
  3. On the “Set up Your Search Alert” page, enter the required fields and other possible selections.
  4. Click “Save Alert,” or “Reset” if you wish to start over.
  5. To activate your “Alert,” you must go to the confirmation email that has been sent to your inbox and click on the “Confirm Email Address” link.

Wiley InterScience Databases

  1. Click on the “My Profile” link in the upper-right corner of the main page.
  2. Click on “Register Now” on the left side of the page.
  3. Fill out the information and click on “submit registration.”
  4. To save a search and set up the alert system, enter your search term(s) on either the Simple or Advanced Search page.
  5. On the Search Results page, click "Save Search" just above the results area on the right side, and the alert system will be activated.
  6. To receive email alerts for tables of contents for selected journals, browse the journal title list.
  7. Click on the title of the journal for which you want to receive alerts.
  8. Click "Set Email Alert" to select the title for the alert service.