Skip to main content

Navigation

 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Content

Try First: Resources for Research

General and Multidisciplinary Databases

The following databases are good places to start your research.  They all search scholarly peer reviewed journals and provide access to the full-text of articles.


Academic Search Complete Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri video video

  • Search over 12,500 journals 1984 to date
  • Can limit search results to scholaly (peer reviewed) journals

ScopusScopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri  video video
  • Search over 18,000 peer reviewed journals 1996 to date
  • Find out who's citing particular articles

Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
  • Search full-text back files of over 300 scholarly journals
  • Does not include the last five years of issues

Summon@MU Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri video video
  • Search for articles in journals, magazines and newspapers 
  • Search for books, government documents, DVDs and more

Google Scholar
  • Search for scholarly articles, books and theses

Online Encyclopedias and Handbooks

Gale Virtual Reference Library Gale Virtual Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

 

Oxford Reference Online Oxford Reference Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

Current and Controversial Issues

CQ Researcher Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 1991 to date
  • Weekly reports on controversial topics
Journalist's Resource: Policy Studies
  • Research reports on environment, economics, society and government

Public Agenda

  • Research reports on people's views and values

Pro/Con.org

  • Pros and cons of controversial issues


News and Newspapers

Press Display Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • 2200 newspapers from 97 countries
  • original format and layout
  • last 60 days only

Factiva Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 8000 full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date
  • Company business and financial information

Proquest NewsStand Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Over 500 full-text newspapers including the Wall Street Journal, Chicago Tribune, LA Times, Washington Post and Boston Globe.
  • 1980's to date

LexisNexis Academic  Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri

  • Full-text newspapers and trade journals
  • Includes broadcast transcripts and wire services
  • 1980's to date

Proquest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri 

  • Full-page images and article images from the New York Times (1851-2008) and the Chicago Defender (1910-1975)
  • Can search and see images of advertisements in the New York Times

Creating Bibliographies/Citing Sources