Ellis Library Sourcepack
Textile and Apparel Management 3510
History of Western Dress


Professor: Laurel Wilson
Librarian: Brenda Graves-Blevins

Selected Resources

  • Citation Guides (Click on this link for links to various citation guides available online, e.g. APA, MLA, Turabian, Chicago Manual of Style, etc.)

  • Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
    REF GT507. E53 2005 (1 Central)

  • Palmer's Index to the Times Newspaper (Indexes The (London) Times 1791-1938)
    SPEC REF AI 21 .T5

  • The Times (London) (1789-2003)
    SPEC FILM

Finding articles

  • From the MU Libraries Gateway page, click on Find a Database . Databases are electronic indexes that usually provide you with citations to journal, magazine or newspaper articles, but citations to book chapters, dissertations and other documents or other kinds of information may also be included in some databases.

  • In same cases you will find the fulltext of the article in the database you are searching. But more often, you will see a button, FINDIT@MU. If you click on FINDIT@MU, you will usually be taken directly to the fulltext of the article, or at least to the fulltext of the journal you are seeking.

  • If we have neither electronic or print access to an article you need, then you will need to request your article through Interlibrary Loan.

  • For this course, the following databases will probably be some of the most useful to you. choose any of the links to go directly to that database.

19th Century MasterFile is an index to periodical articles appearing in British and American scholarly journals from 1802 to 1906. Indexing is by key word only, and there is no fulltext.

America: History and Life contains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,000 journals published worldwide. Covers all aspects of U.S. and Canadian history, culture, and current affairs from prehistoric times to the present. Coverage is 1964 to date.

American Periodical Series Online is a fulltext collection of some 1000 magazines and journals published between 1741 and 1900. Titles include Benjamin Franklin’s General Magazine, the first American professional journals, and several consumer magazines still in publication, such as Vanity Fair, Harper’s Magazine, and Ladies’ Home Journal. The search interface allows you to search the complete text, including tables of contents. Articles are linked to the corresponding page images, allowing downloading and printing in PDF format.

Gale Virtual Reference  includes full-text biographical information

Historical Abstracts contains citations and abstracts of books, dissertations, and articles from approximately 2,000 journals worldwide, excluding the United States and Canada. It covers all aspects of world history from 1450 AD to the present. It has mostly English articles but includes material in other languages

North American Women's Letters and Diaries provides 80,000 pages of fulltext letters, diaries and manuscripts by 632 North American women from colonial times to 1950. The database is fulltext searchable and texts can also be browsed by author, source, year, place, personal event, or historical event.

Finding books

  • From the MU Libraries Gateway page, choose on MERLIN from the left menu. MERLIN is a catalog of the books, journals, magazines and other materials owned by libraries on this campus, as well as the libraries at the University of Missouri campuses at St. Louis, Kansas City and Rolla.

  • When you enter a search, by keyword, author, etc., the computer will default to searching only the MU campus, denoted 'MU' in the pull-down menu on the right side of the screen, unless you choose a different library from that menu. By choosing 'ALL MERLIN' from the menu, you can expand your search to include all the libraries in the University of Missouri System.

  • To expand your search still further to find what is available from nearly all the academic libraries in the state of Missouri, click on MOBIUS from the left menu of the the MU Libraries Gateway page.

  • A record that you find in MERLIN or MOBIUS, provides you with citation information and a call number so that you can find the actual item in a library on this campus or request that an item be sent from one of the other libraries in the MERLIN or MOBIUS systems.

  • If you find that the item is available in Ellis Library, please check the Location Guide to find where the item can be found in the stacks. Please note that items can only be borrowed from other libraries if they are unavailable from any of of the libraries on the MU campus.