ENGLISH AS A 2ND LANGUAGE

BACKGROUND INFORMATION

ENCYCLOPEDIAS

Second language education / edited by G. Richard Tucker and David Corson. MU ELLIS . P53 .S3914 1997

HANDBOOKS

TEFL/TESL, teaching English as a foreign or second language / Brenda Bowman, Grace Burkart, and Barbara Robson ; prepared for Peace Corps by Center for Applied Linguistics MU ELLIS DOCS   PE 1.10:M 0041
Handbook of language and ethnic identity / edited by Joshua A. Fishman. MU ELLIS P35.H34 1999
Literacy and bilingualism : a handbook for all teachers / María Estela Brisk, Margaret M. Harrington. MU ELLIS    LC3731 .B684 2000

WEBSITES

English as a Second Language http://www.rong-chang.com/
English as a 2nd Language   http://esl.about.com/
The Internet TESL Journal  http://iteslj.org/
ESL Resources, Handouts and Exercises for Students and Teachers  http://owl.english.purdue.edu/handouts/esl/
Curricular Resources in English as a Second Language  http://www.cln.org/subjects/esl_cur.html
A Guide to Learning English  http://esl.fis.edu/
Languages-on-the-Web:Best English Links  http://www.languages-on-the-web.com/links/link-english.htm

     

BOOKS & MORE

MERLIN LIBRARY CATALOG

Locate books, journals, and other materials in the University of Missouri (Columbia, Kansas City, Rolla, St. Louis) and St. Louis University Libraries.

MOBIUS UNION CATALOG

Locate books, journals, and other materials in academic libraries in the State of Missouri.

WORLDCAT

Catalog of books, web resources, and other materials worldwide.

   
   
   
   

JOURNALS

Studies in second language acquisition.   MU ELLIS    P118 .S83   
The Canadian modern language review = La revue canadienne des langues vivantes.  MU ELLIS     PB35 .C3
CLA journal.   MU ELLIS   PN2 .C23
Foreign language annals   MU ELLIS    PB1 .F57
Forum for modern language studies   MU ELLIS    PB1 .F63
IRAL : International review of applied linguistics in language teaching : Revue internationale de linguistique appliquée enseignement des langues. Internationale Zeitschrift für angewandte Linguistik in der Spracherzi    MU ELLIS     P51 .I12  
The Modern language journal   MU ELLIS     PB1 .M47  
TESOL quarterly / Teachers of English to Speakers of Other Languages. MU ELLIS    PE1128.A2 T106

   

CITATION GUIDES

Chicago Manual of Style  Ellis Library Ready Ref Z253 .U69 1993
Manual for Writers of Term Papers, Theses, and Dissertations Ellis Library Ready Ref LB2369 .T8 1996
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association  Ellis Library Ready Ref BF76.7 .P83 2001
Research Writing in Education and Psychology--from Planning to Publication  Ellis Library 
LB2369 .K54 2001
Web Resources for Writers  http://www.missouri.edu/~writery/index2.html 
University of Missouri-Columbia's Writery
Writing Empirical Research Reports  Ellis Library LB2369 .P97 2000
Online Citation Guides

     
   

ARTICLES AND E-JOURNALS

DATABASES

MERLIN Education Databases   including Education Full Text, ERIC, and PsycINFO

PsycINFO *"english as second language"
Education Full Text english as a second language subject search
ERIC de=english (second language)


ELECTRONIC JOURNALS

http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=/mulibraries.1cate.com

GUIDES

ERIC RESOURCES

ERIC DIGESTS