MU Libraries Sourcepack
Chemistry 7087: New Graduate Students
Instructor: Timothy Glass
125 Chemistry Building
Find Journal Articles
- Begin at the MU Libraries' Gateway. Click on Find a Database and then click on the subject area, Science and Technology.
- Choose the subject area .Chemistry Select one of the databases from the list and follow instructions on how to conduct a search. Every database has a slightly different interface, but all have help pages that contain tips and/or tutorials.
Suggested databases for Chemistry:
- SciFinder Scholar
SciFinder Scholar (Chemical Abstracts Service or CAS) contains a comprehensive database of chemical literature (1907 to date), patents, and the CAS Registry with information on 18 million substances. Continually updated. Available via downloadable client software or by the web which requires registration using your MU e-mail address. To use the Scifinder Scholar client software off-campus, download the VPN software before downloading the client software.
- PubMed
The National Library of Medicine free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature.
- Scopus
Indexes journals, conference proceedings and web sites in the sciences and social sciences. Coverage is 1996 to date though earlier material is being added regularly.
Find the Full-text of Journal Articles 
- If you're looking at results in one of the databases listed above just click on the
button next to the article citation. The article will display if it's available electronically. If there is no online access, you'll be given the opportunity to look for a print copy in the MERLIN Catalog
- If you have an article reference, but are not currently in a database, go to the MU Libraries' homepage and select Find a Specific Article/Journal to enter
. Once in you're given the choice to search for a specific article or journal title. If electronic coverage is not available, check the MERLIN Catalog to see if we have a print copy of the journal.
- Use our interlibrary loan service called ILL@MU to access articles not owned by MU Libraries. If you find a journal article that you need, but cannot find the article using
click on the option Request through Interlibrary Loan/Request a Copy.
- You can also request an article without using the
feature by filling out an article request form available from the ILL@MU Logon under About the Libraries on the MU Libraries homepage.
Usually you will receive the article electronically within a few days of making your request.
Save Searches and Auto Alerts
- Many databases allow you to save searches to run at a future date or set up Auto Alerts (a saved search that will be run whenever the database is updated with the results emailed to you). Go to the following link for instructions for setting up alerts in specific databases: Saving Searches and Auto Alerts
- You can set up alerts in MERLIN to be notified when new books arrive in a particular subject area: MERLIN Alerts or you can subscribe to New Book RSS Feeds
Keeping Track of Your References and Making Bibliographies
Find Patents
Other Resources
Find Library Books
- From the MU Libraries' homepage, choose the MERLIN Catalog. Type in words describing the topic you are researching. Once you have a list of hits, select one that looks on-target, then examine the subject headings for that item. Try clicking on that subject heading to retrieve similar items.
- If you do not find enough books on your topic to meet your needs, change your search to "ALL MERLIN." By doing so you will be checking the library holdings at UMSL, UMKC, MST and MU all at once.
- Still not enough? Click on the MOBIUS Catalog button. This expands your search to about 50 additional libraries in our network.
- Most books you find through the MERLIN Catalog or the MOBIUS Catalog are requestable online simply by clicking the "Request Item" link. Books requested through the MERLIN Catalog or the MOBIUS Catalog usually take about three working days to arrive.
- You may request books not listed in the MERLIN Catalog or the MOBIUS Catalog via Request Items-ILL@MU under the About the Libraries section of the MU Libraries' homepage.
|
|
This SOURCEPACK is a service of Ellis Library
Librarian
|