University of Missouri-Columbia MU Libraries
Manuscript Site Index

Government Documents Research Guide

United States Government: Basic Sources

A Brief Guide to: General Catalogs and Indexes | Directories and Handbooks | Constitution
Legislative Branch | Executive Branch | Judicial Branch | Statistical Sources | Digital Collections

MO Election Results (November 7, 2006)

General Catalogs and Indexes

MERLIN Library Catalog
The catalog of the Libraries of the University of Missouri System. Not all government information resources held by MU appear in MERLIN. However, this is still the first place to look. Includes links to Internet resources.
Web http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/search~S1
Telnet telnet://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/ [login as "library"]
The Catalog of U.S. Government Publications (CGP)
The primary catalog for electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government. The CGP contains descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online. Preceded by the Document Catalog (1893-1940), the 1909 Checklist (1789-1909), Ames Index (1881-1893), and Poore (1774-1881). See also: specialized indexes online, and below.
Internet July 1976-present http://catalog.gpo.gov/
Print (Monthly Catalog) 1895-present MU ELLIS DOCS REFERENCE Z1223 .A18

Directories and Handbooks

FirstGov.gov
The official U.S. gateway to government information. Also Includes information on state, local, and tribal governments.
Internet Current http://www.firstgov.gov/
United States Government Manual
The official handbook of the Federal Government. Comprehensive information on the agencies of the legislative, judicial, and executive branches, as well as on quasi-official agencies, international organizations in which the United States participates, and boards, commissions, and committees.
Internet 1995/96-present http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS2410
Print Current edition MU ELLIS READY REFERENCE JK421 .A32
Print 1973-present MU ELLIS JK421 .A32
Print 1936, 1938-72 MU ELLIS JK421 .A3
Official Congressional Directory
The official handbook of Congress, with additional information on the Executive and Judicial branches, as well as international agencies. Contains: biographical information, Congressional District maps. Prior to 1897, also available online in the U.S. Congressional Serial Set.
Internet 1996/97-present http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS194
Print Current edition MU ELLIS READY REFERENCE JK1011 .U5
Print Older editions http://laurel.lso.missouri.edu/search/t?Congressional+directory
Print 1789-1840 MU ELLIS JK1011 .U53
Constitution of the United States
The National Archives (NARA) site has a digital facsimile of the original document and biographies of the signers. The annotated edition contains extensive commentary, historical background and legal analysis of each clause and amendment.
Internet NARA http://www.archives.gov/national-archives-experience/charters/constitution.html
Internet Annotated http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS29924
Print Annotated MU ELLIS READY REF KF4527 .U54 2004
Legislative Branch
Stautes at Large
A chronological arrangement of the public and private laws of the United States.
Internet 1995/96-present http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS5052
Internet 1789-present LN Congressional
Internet 1789-present Hein Online
Print Unbound "Slip Laws" MU ELLIS DOCS AE 2.110:
Print 1937-present Location varies
Print 1873-1936 UM Depository
Print 1869-1873 UM Depository
Print 1859-1869 UM Depository
Print 1845-1859 UM Depository
Print 1789-1845 UM Depository
United States Code
A consolidation and codification of the general and permanent laws of the United States. Provides subject access, collates the initial laws with subsequent amendments, and excludes repealed or superceded statutory provisions.
Internet Current (Annotated) LN Congressional
Internet 1994-present (Official) http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS2873
Print 1940-present (Official) Location varies
Congressional Bills and Resolutions
Legislative proposals before Congress. May include both public bills, which apply to the general population, and private bills, which only apply to a single person or to a select group of people.
Internet 1993-present http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS29362
Internet 1989-present LN Congressional
Microform 1979-2000 MU ELLIS DOCS MICROFORM
Microform 1801-29;1861-99 MU ELLIS SPECIAL COLLECTIONS
Microform 1789-1972 Center For Research Libraries (CRL) [Request using this form].
Congressional Record
The official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress. Published daily when Congress is in session. Preceded by: Congressional Globe (1833-1873), Register of Debates (1824-1837), and Annals of Congress (1789-1824).
Internet 1994-present (GPO) http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS1671
Internet 1985-present LN Congressional
Print 1873-present MU ELLIS J11 .R4
Thomas: U.S. Congress on the Internet
A full-text database of legislative information from the U.S. Congress. Includes major legislation (by bill number, subject, and title), bills (full text, summaries, and status), public laws, the Congressional Record and the Congressional Record Index, roll call votes, Congressional committee reports, some Congressional committee hearings, historical documents, and information about the legislative process.
Internet Coverage varies http://thomas.loc.gov/
Lexis Nexis Congressional
A comprehensive collection of information by and about the United States Congress and the legislative process. It includes indexes to congressional publications (1789-date), a bill tracking service (1989-date), and extensive full-text, including the Congressional Record (1985-present), the Federal Register (1980-present), the Statutes at Large (1789-present), Congressional Research Service reports (1916-present) and Committee Prints (1830-present). It also includes biographical, financial and voting information on current members of Congress.
Internet Coverage varies http://www.lexis-nexis.com/congcomp/
Regulations and Executive Branch Documents
Federal Register
The official daily publication for Rules, Proposed Rules, and Notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as Executive Orders and other Presidential documents. Twice a year, in April and again in October, the Federal Register includes the Unified Agenda, a comprehensive report on regulations under development or review.
Internet 1995-present (GPO) http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS1756
Internet 1980-present LN Congressional
Internet 1936-present Hein Online
Print Latest 2 years MU ELLIS DOCS AE 2.106:
Print 1936-present MU LAW DOC FED AE 2.106:
Code of Federal Regulations
A codification of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by the Executive departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
Internet 1996-present http://www.gpoaccess.gov/cfr/index.html
Internet 1981-present LN Congressional
Internet Title 3: 1936-present Hein Online
Print Current edition MU ELLIS DOCS REF AE 2.106/3:
Print 1938-present MU LAW FEDERAL AE 2.106/3:
Weekly Compilation of Presidential Documents
Published every Monday. Contains statements, messages, and other Presidential materials released by the White House during the preceding week.
Internet 1993-present http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS1769
Internet 1965-present Hein Online
Print Unbound issues MU ELLIS CPRR
Print 1965-present MU ELLIS J80 .A284
Public Papers of the Presidents
Each Public Papers volume contains the papers and speeches of the President of the United States that were issued by the Office of the Press Secretary during the specified time period. The material is presented in chronological order, and the dates shown in the headings are the dates of the documents or events. Technically, this series only goes back to the Hoover Administration, but I've included information on earlier sets that also cover presidential papers -- though these are not as complete.
Internet 1991-present http://www.gpoaccess.gov/pubpapers/index.html
Internet 1789-present Hein Online
Print 1929-33;1945-present MU ELLIS J80 .A283
Print 1928-1945 FDR
Print 1789-1897 Bureau of National Literature compilation
Print 1789-1897 Richardson's compilations
Foreign Relations of the United States
The official documentary record of U.S. foreign policy. Includes a wide variety of primary source material, including declassified documents. Published approximately thirty years after the period covered.
Internet 1945-present http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS1155
Internet 1860-1960 (incomplete) http://digicoll.library.wisc.edu/FRUS/
Print 1861-present MU ELLIS JX233 .A3
CIS Index to U.S. Executive Branch Documents
Guides to executive branch documents not published in the Serial Set.
Print 1789-1909 MU ELLIS DOCS REF Z1223 .Z7 C57
Print 1910-1932 MU ELLIS DOCS REF Z1223.Z7 C59 1996
Judicial Branch
United States Reports
Official opinions of the United States Supreme Court.
Internet 1991-present http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS35288
Internet 1790-present LN Academic
Internet 1937 - 1975 (FLITE database) http://www.access.gpo.gov/su_docs/supcrt/index.html
Internet 1790-present Hein Online
Print 1790-present Location varies
Federal Reporter
The primary source for opinions of the U.S. Court of Appeals. Inclusion of the opinions of other federal courts has varied over time. Preceded by Federal Cases.
Internet 1880-present LN Academic
Print 1880-present MU LAW FEDERAL
Statistical Sources
Statistical Abstract of the United States
The standard summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Also serves as reference guide to other statistical publications and sources.
Internet 1878-present http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS2878
Internet 1878-present LN Statistical
Print Current edition MU ELLIS READY REFERENCE HA202 .A38
Print 1878-present MU ELLIS HA202 .A38
Lexis Nexis Statistical
Comprehensive index to government publications having a significant statistical component. Extensive abstracts and growing full-text component. Full-text is also available in the ASI (U.S) and the IIS (International) Microfiche Libraries.
Internet Coverage varies http://web.lexis-nexis.com/statuniv/
FedStats
A comprehensive web portal to statistics published by the U.S. Government. More than 70 federal agencies produce statistics. The Federal Interagency Council on Statistical Policy maintains this site as a single point of access to the full range of these official statistical resources. Includes subject and geographic indexes, mapping tools, a cross-agency search engine, and direct links to statistical agencies and data access tools.
Internet Coverage varies http://www.fedstats.gov/
Census Data
Population, housing, economic, and geographic data collected by the U.S. Census Bureau.
Internet 1990-present http://factfinder.census.gov/
Internet 1790-present http://www.census.gov/population/www/censusdata/hiscendata.html
Internet 1790-1960 http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/collections/stats/histcensus/index.html
Print 1790-present Decennial Census volumes
Selected Digital Collections
GPO Access
The single most comprehensive source for official publications from all three branches of the U.S. government, as well as independent agencies. Provides access to a broad array of full-text databases and finding aids.
Internet Coverage varies http://purl.access.gpo.gov/GPO/LPS23052
Archive of Americana
Includes the Early American Imprints (1639-1800), the American State Papers (1789-1838), and the U.S. Congressional Serial Set(1817-1897). All three sources contain legislative and executive branch documents.
Internet 1639-1897 http://infoweb.newsbank.com/
American Memory Project
An ongoing attempt to digitize primary source materials relating to the history and cultural development of the United States. Includes written and spoken word, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music.
Internet 1400-present http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html
Avalon Project
An extensive collection of digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government.
Internet 1600-present http://www.yale.edu/lawweb/avalon/
Digital National Security Archive
A comprehensive collection of significant primary documents central to US foreign and military policy since 1945. The Archive is organized into dozens of topical collections, each containing government documents declassified under the Freedom of Information Act (FOIA)."
Internet 1945-present http://nsarchive.chadwyck.com/

The Libraries maintain subject guides to government information, as well as an extensive collection of specialized indexes and digital collections. If you need additional assistance in finding or using government information, please contact the Ellis Library Reference Desk or Geoff Swindells, the Government Documents Coordinator, at swindellsg@missouri.edu or (573) 884-8123.

This page: http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/collections/documents/usa/researchguide.htm

Last Updated: 07 November 2006