Health & Medicine : Veterinary Medicine
eBooks / Books
Databases for ArticlesDatabases for Veterinary Medicine
Comprehensive coverage of worldwide literature on agriculture and related subjects. From the National Agriculture Library. [more]
ALTBIB: Bibliography on the use of live vertebrates in biomedical research and testing
A searchable bibliography of animal testing alternatives. Citations come from journal articles indexed in National Library of Medicine Databases. [more]
Animal Health and Production Compendium
Focuses on all aspects of animal health and production, including diseases, nutrition, husbandry and breeding. Search by species, breed, disease symptom, pathogen, vector, drug, country, and more. [more]
Biological Abstracts encompasses all disciplines of the life sciences. Coverage includes traditional areas of biology, such as botany, zoology, and microbiology, as well as related fields such as plant and animal science, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology. [more]
BioOne Abstracts and Indexes
Also Known as: BAID
Search and link to complete articles for 65 journals in the biological, ecological and environmental sciences. [more]
Birds of North America
Comprehensive reference covering the life histories of North American birds. Includes audio, video and extensive references. [more]
Also Known as: CAB Abstracts; CABI
Comprehensive international coverage of agriculture and veterinary sciences. Includes all items listed in Index Veterinarius, Animal Breeding Abstracts, Dairy Science Abstracts, Global Health, and 23 other abstracts journals covering all aspects of agriculture and related fields. Links to fulltext are available for some recent articles. NOTE: to search older literature 1900-1972, mark both CAB ABSTRACTS and CAB ABSTRACTS ARCHIVE before beginning to search. [more]
Consultant: A Diagnostic Support System for Veterinary Medicine
Produced by Cornell University, College of Veterinary Medicine. Search by signs or disease. Provides brief synopses of diseases including general description; verterinary species affected; associated signs and symptoms. Includes references to articles and web sites on the clinical aspects of the disease. [more]
Sponsored by the Food and Agricultural Organization of the United Nations. Covers international statistics in agriculture, nutrition, fisheries, forestry, food quality, and more. [more]
Fish, Fisheries and Aquatic Biodiversity Worldwide
Also Known as: Fish and Fisheries Worldwide
Provides citations and some abstracts on all aspects of ichthyology, fisheries, and related aspects of aquaculture. Major topics include culture and propagation, limnology and oceanography, genetics and behavior, natural history, parasites, diseases, habitat management, fish processing/marketing, general research, and fisheries management. The database includes, FISHLIT (1985-date), Fisheries Review (1971-date), Fish Subset of Medline (1966-date), Fishing Industry Research Institute (FIRI) Database, Fish Database (1960-date), Castell's Nutrition References (1970-date), AQUACULTURE (1970-1984), Fish Health News (1978-1985). [more]
International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements (IBIDS)
Also Known as: IBIDS ; ODS dietary supplements
Formerly available as a freestanding database called IBIDS International Bibliographic Information on Dietary Supplements, this has now been folded into PubMed. On the PubMed Limits page, choose Dietary Supplements under Subsets. [more]
International Veterinary Information Services (IVIS)
Provides access to electronic books, veterinary meeting proceedings, continuing education, international calendar of veterinary events, and image collections. Free registration required. [more]
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
NORINA is an English-language database containing information on over 3,800 audiovisual aids that may be used as alternatives or supplements to the use of animals in teaching. [more]
OMIA: Online Mendelian Inheritance in Animals
Database of genes, inherited disorders, and traits in more than 135 animal species other than human and mourse. Produced by University of Sydney.
Online Dissertations: Veterinary Medicine
Access to international Veterinary dissertations. From University of Hanover, Germany.
Plants Toxic to Animals
Information on identifying common plants toxic to animals. Search plants by common or scientific names. Produced by University of Illinois.
Poisonous Plants Informational Database
Botany, chemistry, toxicology, diagnosis, and prevention of poisoning of animals by plants and other natural flora. Includes plant images and images of affected animals. From Cornell University. [more]
Search for information on nonhuman primates in journal articles, books, meeting abstracts, technical reports, dissertations and book chapters. Covers a variety of subject areas, including behavior, colony management, ecology, reproduction, field studies, disease models, veterinary science, psychology, physiology, pharmacology, evolution, taxonomy, developmental and molecular biology, genetics and zoogeography. Part of the University of Wisconsin's Primate Info Net (PIN). [more]
PubMed, developed by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), provides access to Old MEDLINE, MEDLINE, in-process, and publisher-supplied citations. PubMed has more than 17 million bibliographic citations and abstracts from nearly 4,500 journals in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, allied health, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences. In addition, PubMed provides access and links to the integrated molecular biology databases maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI). To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]
Contains the Veterinary Science Database, a subset of CAB Abstracts covering all aspects of veterinary medicine. Coverage includes companion animals, equines, food animals, aquaculture species, zoo animals, and wild animals. Also contains CAB Reviews; In Brief and In Depth articles; the Animal Health and Production Compendium; and a Calendar focused on veterinary conferences and other events worldwide. Geared toward those working in the field of veterinary medicine and animal health. [more]
Wildlife and Ecology Studies Worldwide
Zoological Record/Biological Abstracts Combined
Search articles from over 5000 journals, plus conference proceedings and books covered every aspect of zoology. If you'd like to cover both Biological Abstracts and Zoological Record in one search, use this link. [more]
JournalsJournals for Veterinary Medicine
Tips for finding journals and journal articles
Browse Journals on Veterinary Medicine
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources OnlineOther Resources Online for Veterinary Medicine
Agriculture Network Information Center
Also Known as: AgNIC
AgNIC facilitates and participates in partnerships and cooperation among institutions and organizations world-wide that are committed to the identification, delivery and preservation of reliable, freely-available, evaluated, digital content and quality services for agriculture, food, and natural resources information.
Complementary and alternatives veterinary medicine (CAVM), including acupuncture, chiopracty, herbal medicine, homeopahty, and nutritional therapy.
Clearinghouse for information on alternatives to animal testing. Produced by Johns Hopkins.
American Animal Hospital Association
Also Known as: AAHA
Established in 1933, AAHA is the only companion animal exclusive veterinary association. AAHA develops industry benchmarks, business practice standards (known as the Standards of Accreditation), and publications and educational programs designed to support companion animal hospitals.
American Veterinary Medical History Society (AVMHS)
The American Veterinary Medical History Society was formed by a group of interested veterinarians and friends to recall the past and relate it in an interesting fashion to their colleagues, and to collect and place in suitable archives a record of the "remembered" past from as many as possible. This group is made up of those interested in preserving books, photos, and artifacts of the past and present.
American Veterinay Medical Association
Also Known as: AVMA
The American Veterinary Medical Association (AVMA), established in 1863, is a not-for-profit association representing more than 81,500 veterinarians working in private and corporate practice, government, industry, academia, and uniformed services.
Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service (APHIS)
Provides information on animal and plant health, animal welfare, and importing and exporting of plants and animals.
Animal Welfare Information Center (AWIC)
Part of the National Agriculatural Library, AWIC provides information for improved animal care and use in research, teaching, and testing. Includes information on searching for alternatives to use of animals in research.
Association of American Veterinary Medical Colleges (AAVMC)
Includes information on veterinary medical colleges and departments of veterinary sciences and comparative medicine in the United States and Canada. Provides resources on applying to veterinary school.
Bovine Necropsy Module
From Cornell University: provides "step-by-step video demonstrating the bovine field necropsy, diagnostic sample collection, packaging, and shipping procedures. The visual reference contains images and text descriptions of normal tissues and gross pathologic lesions. Versatile search parameters support both diagnostic and educational uses."
Current Veterinary Journals/Veterinary Conference Proceedings
Includes access to tables of contents for veterinary journals and database of veterinary conference proceedings.
A veterinary medicine directory of web sites maintained at Washington University.
Display bones from a complete, rotating human skeleton, including information on morphology, insertions, origins, and articulations. Funded by the National Science Foundation.
Evidence-Based Veterinary Medical Association (EBVMA)
Information on incorporating priniciples of Evidence-Based Medicine into the veterinary profession.
FDA Center for Veterinary Medicine
Provides information about manufacture and distribution of food additives and drugs that will be given to animals. The FDA Approved Animal Drug Products offers a searchable database.
A resource for information about pets provided by the American Animal Hospital Association.
Invasive Species Compendium (ISC)
From CABI, the Invasive Species Compendium includes information on taxonomy and nomenclature, distribution, habitat, identification, biology and ecology, species associations, pathways for introduction, impacts, and management of a wide range of invasive species (plants, animals, bacteria, etc.). Also includes maps and images.
Listing of Inherited Disorders in Animals
Also Known as: LIDA
Provides information on the prevalence of inherited disorders in cats and dogs. Browse by breed or organ system. Produced by the University of Sydney.
MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters
Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]
Missouri Veterinary Medical Association
OIE - World Organization for Animal Health
Also Known as: Office International des Epizooties
Intergovernmental organization dedicated to improving animal health worldwide. Includes information on animal welfare, food safety, and promotion of veterinary services.
One Health Initiative
The One Health Initiative seeks to enhance collaboration among physicians, veterinarians, and public-health professionals. Includes news, publications, and outbreak reports.
UCDavis Center for Animal Alternatives
Provides informaiton on the 3 R's of animal alternatives: replacement, reduction, refinement.
Veterinary Abbreviations and Acronyms
Abbreviations and acryonyms commonly used in veterinary medicine. From University of Illinois.
Veterinary Professional Organizations
Netvet provides helpful links to a variety of organizations and associations in the areas of veterinary and animal science, animal welfare, and wildlife conservation.
Also Known as: Virtuelle Fachbibliothek Veterinärmedizin
Veterinary search engine from the University of Hannover. Includes several online veterinary dissertations.
World Association for the History of Veterinary Medicine (WAHVM)
Encourages research in the field of veterinary history. Provides a common forum for National Societies for the History of Veterinary Medicine and all other interested individuals and organizations.
eBooks / BookseBooks / Books for Veterinary Medicine
Tips for finding books
Animal Drugs @ FDA
Also Known as: Green Book; FDA Approved Animal Drug Products
Listing of all FDA approved animal drugs and methods for their use.
Guide for the Care and Use of Laboratory Animals
Revised in 2010 by the National Research Council's Institute of Laboratory Animal Resources.
Index-Catalogue of Medical and Veterinary Zoology
Also Known as: ICMVZ
The Index-Catalogue of Medical and Veterinary Zoology (ICMVZ) is an historic compendium of parasitological literature and a key resource for researchers in emerging diseases and global animal health. It comprises more than 100 publications with about 20,000 pages of references. With funding from the National Library of Medicine, Oklahoma State University and Texas A & M digitized the Index-Catalogue and made it freely available online and electronically searchable.
2nd edition of The Laboratory Rat, edited by Mark A. Suckow, Steven H. Weisbroth, and Craig L. Franklin. A premier source of information on the laboratory rat, topics include: rat genetics and genomics, both spontaneous and induced disease; state-of-the-art technology for housing and husbandry; occupational health, and experimental models.
Merck Veterinary Manual
This site by Merck provides animal care information, including over 12,000 indexed topics and over 1200 illustrations.At this comprehensive site, you can search by topic, species, specialty, disease, and keyword using advanced search features.