Engineering Library & Technology Commons Engineering Library & Technology Commons Gateway MU Libraries University of Missouri-Columbia

Engineering : Transportation

Core Resources

Transportation engineering focuses on the movement of people, goods, and materials safely and efficiently around land, air and sea and those issues arising from that movement, such as type of transportation modes (highways, mass transit, high-speed trains, airfields, and ports), traffic congestion, air pollution and the costs of providing both transportation modes and the infrastructure that supports them.  

 

 

Databases for Articles
Journals

Databases for Articles

Databases for Transportation
Academic Search Premier Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph
  
Academic Search Complete, designed specifically for academic institutions, provides full text for over 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. In addition to full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for more than 8,500 journals. This scholarly collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study including: chemistry, civil engineering, electrical engineering, geology, mathematics, mechanical engineering, and physics content going back as far as 1990. [more]

ASCE Research Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ascelibrary.org/
  
The ASCE Research Library is a comprehensive online tool for locating articles of interest across all disciplines of civil engineering. The Research Library provides you with unprecedented access to more than 40,000 full-text papers from ASCE Journals and Proceedings published since 1995. That is over 400,000 pages. Approximately 4,000 new papers will be added each year. [more]

Compendex Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=cdxb
  
Compendex indexes technical and engineering journals, conference proceedings and papers, technical reports, and monographs. Subjects include all areas of engineering; transportation; management, mathematics, and physics; electronics and communications; computers and data processing, and instruments and measurements. [more]

Dissertation Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=REJTPUcyODcrNTUzZSszYjEwJklOVD0wJlZFUj0y&clientId=45247
  

Also Known as: Proquest Dissertations & Theses Database
Dissertation Abstracts is the subject, title and author guide to virtually every American dissertation accepted at accredited institutions. It also includes many Canadian dissertations as well as dissertations form Europe and abstracts from Masters Abstracts. [more]

GEOBASE Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://newfirstsearch.oclc.org/autho=100155003;dbname=GEOBASE;done=referer;FSIP
  
This database indexes journals, books conference proceedings, and reports covering geography, geology and ecology. Coverage is 1980 to date. [more]

GEOREF Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&db=georef-set-c
  
GEOREF is the database of the American Geological Institute. It provides references to over 4,500 serial and other publications covering all aspects of geology and geophysics. [more]

IEEE Xplore Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ieeexplore.ieee.org/xpl/periodicals.jsp
  
IEEE Xplore contains full-text access to IEEE and IEE/IET transactions, journals, and conference proceedings since 1988. [more]

Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.scopus.com
  
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, including open access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. [more]

Technology Research Database (TRD) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&db=techresearch-set-c
  

Also Known as: CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX, CSA High Technology Research Database with Aerospace, and the CSA Engineering Research Database.
TRD indexes over 4000 periodicals, conference proceedings, and technical reports. It is comprised of: CSA Materials Research Database with METADEX; Ceramic Abstracts; Advanced Polymer Abstracts; Aerospace & High Technology Database; Aluminum Industry Abstracts; Composites Industry Abstracts; Computer and Information Systems Abstracts; Copper Data Center Database; Corrosion Abstracts; Earthquake Engineering Abstracts; Electronics and Communications Abstracts; Engineered Materials Abstracts; Environmental Engineering Abstracts; Materials Business File; Mechanical & Transportation Engineering Abstracts; Solid State and Superconductivity Abstracts; WELDASEARCH [more]

Transportation Research Information Service (TRIS)
http://trisonline.bts.gov/search.cfm
  
The TRIS Online database contains over half a million records of published transportation research including technical reports, books, conference proceedings and journal articles. Currently there are almost 24,000 TRIS records with links to electronic copies of the full-text. The time span covers literature from the 1960s to the present, with some coverage of prior years. Highway Research Board publications are covered back to 1923. TRIS coverage includes the disciplines of planning, finance, design and construction, materials, environmental issues, safety and human factors and operations for the modes of highways, transit, railroads, maritime and aviation.

Water Resources Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.csa3.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&cat=waterres
  
Water Resources Abstracts covers a wide range of water resource topics including water resource economics, conservation, control, hydrology, water planning, water cycle (precipitation), snow, groundwater, lakes, erosion), and water quality (pollution, waste treatment). [more]

Journals

Journals for Transportation
SPIN Web Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://scitation.aip.org/vsearch/servlet/VerityServlet?KEY=ALL
  
SPIN indexes ASCE, ASME and AIP (physics) journals. SPIN database includes bibliographic records and abstracts for more than 1.5 million articles from major physical science journals, magazines, and conference proceedings published by the American Institute of Physics, its member societies, and other affiliated organizations.

Transportation Research Record Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/linker?template=slinks:redirect&issn=0361-1981&title=Transportation+Research+Record%3A+Journal+of+the+Transportation+Research+Board&rfr_id=x-openurl01-sid%3A1cate.com%3Agenerator&provider=metapress&pkgName=metapress&jHome=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.metapress.com%2Fopenurl.asp%3Fgenre%3Djournal%26issn%3D0361-1981
  

Also Known as: Transportation Research Record: Journal of the Transportation Research Board
A full compilation of papers since the 1996 series of the Transportation Research Record: Journal of the Transportation Research Board (TRR Journal) is accessible electronically. TRB's journal contains technical papers prepared by researchers that are peer-reviewed by TRB committee members. Included are selected papers from the TRB Annual Meetings. [more]

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Transportation
Core Patent Resources
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/resources/patents/default.htm
  

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Transportation
Ebrary - Electronic Books Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/umcolumbia
  
A comprehensive collection of over 2000 full-text computer and engineering handbooks, manuals, and other authoritative technical content, 80% of which were published in the last four years. Key subject areas include Computer Science, Electronics,Engineering, Information Technology & Systems, Materials Science, Math/Statistics, Programming, and Telecommunications. The ebrary reader will need to be installed in order to view the texts. [more]

Handbook of Transportation Engineering Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/umcolumbia/Top?channelName=umcolumbia&cpage=1&d=all&docID=10180034&f00=title&f01=subject&frm=adv.x&hitsPerPage=20&l=all&layout=document&p00=transportation&p01=&sch=Search&sortBy=score&sortOrder=desc
  
"... a practical reference for the transportation engineer who is seeking to solve a problem, reduce cost, or improve a system or facility. ... Its chapters offer design techniques, illustrate successful applications, or provide guidelines to improving the performance, the life expectancy, the effectiveness,or the usefulness, of systems, infrastructure, and facilities. The intent is to show the reader what options are available in a particular situation and which option he or she might choose to solve the problem at hand."

Highway Design and Traffic Safety Engineering Handbook Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/umcolumbia/Doc?id=10152736
  
"The aim of this book is to provide a comprehensive presentation about the interrelationships between highway design, driving behavior, driving dynamics, and traffic safety. To do this, recent knowledge and practical experience had to be collected, classified, and arranged to permit practical application in all relevant fields of highway design and traffic safety."

Highway Engineering Handbook Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://site.ebrary.com/lib/umcolumbia/Doc?id=10152970
  
"The Highway Engineering Handbook has been developed by knowledgeable engineers to serve as a comprehensive reference source for those involved in highway design. This handbook is broad in scope, presenting information on topics ranging from environmental issues to value engineering, from the design of culverts, lighting, and noise walls to thedesign of safety systems, retaining walls, and bridges. In addition, such fundamental subjects as location and pavement design are fully discussed."

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog