Arts & Humanities : Theatre

Core Resources

If you are unfamiliar with boolean operators use the links below to learn about them.
You will not be able to search catalogs, databases, and the internet efficiently if you do not understand how to use boolean operators. 

If you do know how to use boolean operators, select the tabs to find basic resources.

Warning: The tab marked JOURNALS is a list, by title, of the online journals available from the Libraries. The list can be searched only by journal title.

Instead, search one of the databases and click  FinditAtMU button   to locate full-text and print articles.

Other Resources Online

Databases for Articles

Databases for Theatre
Academic Search Premier Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph
  
Academic Search Premier provides full text for over 4,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 8,500 journals. Over 3,500 journals are peer reviewed. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984. Provided courtesy of MORENET. [more]

International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=ibh
  
International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance with Full Text contains all of the content available in International Bibliography of Theatre and Dance as well as full-text for over 140 titles, including Canadian Theatre Review, Dance Chronicle, Dance Teacher, etc. [more]

JSTOR Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.jstor.org
  
A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 4-5 years of the present. [more]

LexisNexis Academic Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.lexisnexis.com/us/lnacademic
  
Access to a wide range of news, business, legal, and reference information from Lexis-Nexis. To be used only for educational purposes. [more]

ProQuest Historical Newspapers Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=SU5UPTAmVkVSPTImREJTPTFBQ0QrMUFDQw@@&clientId=45247
  
ProQuest Historical Newspapers digitally reproduces every issue of the New York Times (1851-2005) and the Wall Street Journal (1889-1991) from cover-to-cover. It provides full page-image and full-text searching of these newspapers. [more]

WorldCat Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://newfirstsearch.oclc.org/autho=100155003;dbname=WorldCat;done=referer;FSIP
  

Also Known as: WorldCat OCLC Catalog
Over 1 billion items representing the collections of libraries of all types throughout North America and Europe. [more]

Journals

Journals for Theatre
Browse Journals on Visual and Performing Arts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?category=art.visperf
  

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Theatre
Boolean Operators - YouTube Video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Os6VdXOwKCo
  

Paper Assistance - Where to brain storm topics, find articles, etc
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/guides/paperassistance/default.htm
  

Tips for searching a database - Construct your search
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/guides/paperassistance/articles2.htm
  

Tips for searching a full-text database
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/Reference/muchow/fulltextsearching.htm
  

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Theatre
Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t79&subject=s18
  

Modern American Literature Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781558625372&v=2.1&u=morenetuomcolum&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w
  

Oxford Companion to American Theatre Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t149&subject=s18
  

Oxford Companion to Shakespeare Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t117&subject=s13
  

Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t177&subject=s18
  

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog