Skip to main content
 MU Libraries University of Missouri MU Libraries

Social Sciences : Sociology

Databases for Articles

Databases for Sociology
Academic Search Premier Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?authtype=ip,uid&profile=ehost&defaultdb=aph
  
Academic Search Premier provides full text for over 4,600 academic, social sciences, humanities, general science, education and multi-cultural journals. In addition to the full text, this database offers indexing and abstracts for nearly 8,500 journals. Over 3,500 journals are peer reviewed. Full text backfiles go as far back as January of 1990, while indexing and abstract backfiles go as far back as January of 1984. Provided courtesy of MORENET. [more]

Ageline
http://research.aarp.org/ageline
  
Interdisciplinary coverage of aging and middle age, including psychological, economic, sociological, business, medical, public policy, and consumer perspectives. [more]

Alternative Press Index Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://newfirstsearch.oclc.org/autho=100155003;dbname=AltPressIndex;done=referer;FSIP
  
Alternative Press Index indexes over 250 alternative, radical and left periodicals, newspapers and magazines. Coverage is international and interdisciplinary. [more]

CQ Researcher Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://library.cqpress.com/cqresearcher
  
Each week, CQ Researcher writes a detailed, 20+ page analysis of "hot issue" from the news. Each analysis includes pro/con and an annotated bibliography. Many bioethics topics are included, such as embryo research, women's health, Medicare reform, and many more. [more]

ERIC Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&db=eric-set-c
  
A U.S. national bibliographic database covering the journal and research literature in the field of education. Sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education, ERIC blends two files: Resources in Education (RIE), covering the fugitive document literature, and Current Index to Journals in Education (CIJE), covering the published journal literature from over 775 periodicals. The database also includes the full text of ERIC Digest records. These one- to two-page full-text records, targeted specifically to teachers, administrators, and other practitioners, provide an overview of information on a given topic and supply references with more detailed information. [more]

GenderWatch Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://proquest.umi.com/login?COPT=REJTPTM4M2QmSU5UPTAmVkVSPTI=&clientId=45247
  
GenderWatch is a database of periodicals and newsletters that focus on women and women's issues. [more]

Google Scholar CD/DVD based resource available only from within the Ellis Library.
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/databases/googlescholardirections.htm
  
Google Scholar Instructions are provided for setting up Find it at MU in your Google Scholar search. This will enable you to link from your Google search results to the full-text resources provided by the MU Libraries. [more]

iPOLL Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://roperweb.ropercenter.uconn.edu/iPOLL/login/ipoll_login.html
  
The iPOLL database provides access to nearly half a million public opinion survey questions on a wide range of topics. [more]

JSTOR Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.jstor.org
  
A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 4-5 years of the present. [more]

National Criminal Justice Reference Service
http://www.ncjrs.org
  

Also Known as: NCJRS
Search over 180,000 publications in alll areas of criminal justice and law enforcement including forensics, corrections, courts, police, and crime prevention. From the U.S. Department of Justice. [more]

PsycINFO with PsycARTICLES Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=psyh
  
Provides access to the international literature in psychology and material relevant to psychology in the related disciplines of education, medicine, business, sociology, and psychiatry. It covers journals and dissertations from 1887 to the present and book chapters and books from 1987 to the present. Includes PsycArticles, with the full text of 50 journals from APA and participating publishers. [more]

Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.scopus.com
  
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]

Social Services Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&db=ssa-set-c
  
Indexes and abstracts current published research on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. [more]

Sociological Abstracts Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.csa.com/htbin/dbrng.cgi?username=columbia&access=columbia8&db=socioabs-set-c
  
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. [more]

Journals

Journals for Sociology
Browse Journals on Sociology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?category=socsci.sociol
  

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Sociology
Wellcome Images
http://medphoto.wellcome.ac.uk/
  
[more]

eBooks / Books

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog