Research Guides by Subject
Arts & Humanities
- Anthropology
- Archaeology
- Architecture
- Art & Art History
- Classics
- Communication
- English Language & Literature
- American Literature
- Medieval Literature
- Modern and Contemporary Literature
- Nineteenth Century Literature
- Renaissance Literature
- Restoration and 18th Century Literature
- Film
- Foreign Language & Literature
- Francophone Languages and Literatures
- Italian Language and Literature
- Lusophone Languages and Literatures
- Spanish Language and Literatures
- History
- Historical Newspapers
- History of the British Empire
- U.S. History (recent)
- Music
- Philosophy
- Religious Studies
- Theatre
Business & Economics
Engineering
- Chemical Engineering
- Civil Engineering
- Computer Science
- Electrical & Computer Engineering
- Engineering, General
- Environmental Science & Engineering
- Geological & Geotechnical Engineering
- Industrial & Manufacturing Systems Engineering
- Materials Science
- Mechanical & Aerospace Engineering
- Nuclear Science & Engineering
- Transportation
Health & Medicine
- Alternative Medicine
- Anatomy
- Anesthesiology
- Biomedical Informatics
- Cardiology/Vascular Disease
- Communicable Diseases
- Communication Disorders
- Consumer Health
- Dermatology
- Education, Medical
- Emergency Medicine
- Endocrinology
- Epidemiology
- Ethics, Medical
- Evidence Based Medicine
- Family Practice
- Gastroenterology
- Genetics
- Gynecology/Obstetrics
- Health Care Management
- Hematology
- History of Medicine
- Medicine
- Microbiology & Immunology
- Nephrology/Urology
- Neurosciences
- Nursing
- Occupational Therapy
- Oncology
- Ophthalmology
- Orthopedics
- Otolaryngology
- Pathology
- Pediatrics
- Pharmacology
- Pharmacy
- Physical Therapy
- Physiology
- Psychiatry
- Public Health
- Pulmonary Disease
- Radiology
- Rheumatology
- Surgery
- Tests/Lab Diagnosis
- Toxicology
- Veterinary Medicine
Journalism
Science & Technology
Social Sciences
Arts & Humanities : English Language & Literature : Restoration and 18th Century Literature
Core Resources
This guide lists resources that focus on British literature of the 17th and 18th centuries. Be sure to see the guide to English Language and Literature for more general resources.
eBooks / BooksDatabases for Articles
Databases for Restoration and 18th Century Literature
British Periodicals ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://c19index.chadwyck.com![]()
British Periodicals is an index that covers important 19th-century British magazines and journals from the late 18th century to 1900. Part of C19 database. No full-text. [more]
Index to English Literary Periodicals ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.comp-index.com/english![]()
Index to English Literary Periodicals is an index to articles on all subjects in English periodicals from the 1680s to the 1860s. Cover literary, science, religion, philosophy, history, economics, political science, music, art and theater as well. [more]
Journals
Journals for Restoration and 18th Century LiteratureTips for finding journals and journal articles
RaVoN: Romanticism and Victorianism on the Net ![]()
http://www.ron.umontreal.ca/![]()
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources Online
Other Resources Online for Restoration and 18th Century LiteratureBooks and E-Books
Eighteenth-Century Resources ![]()
http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/18th/![]()
Romantic Chronology ![]()
http://english.ucsb.edu:591/rchrono/![]()
Romantic Circles ![]()
http://www.rc.umd.edu/![]()
Luminarium Anthology of English Literature ![]()
http://www.luminarium.org/![]()
Luminarium is a collection of English literary works from the Medieval through the Restoration era, with links to some basic background information.
eBooks / Books
eBooks / Books for Restoration and 18th Century LiteratureBooks/E-books
English Short Title Catalogue ![]()
http://estc.bl.uk![]()
The ESTC lists works printed ca. 1473-1800 in the British Isles, Colonial America, United States, Canada, and other territories governed by Britain, regardless of language, and works in English and other British vernaculars printed elsewhere. [more]
Tips for finding books
British Drama of the Neoclassical Period, 1660-1785 ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/Neo_dr.jsp![]()
British Drama of the Romantic Period, 1780-1837 ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/Rom_dr.jsp![]()
British Poetry of the Neoclassical Period, 1660-1785 ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/Neo_po.jsp![]()
British Poetry of the Romantic Period, 1780-1837 ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/Rom_po.jsp![]()
British Prose of the Neoclassical Period, 1660-1785 ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/Neo_pr.jsp![]()
British Prose of the Romantic Period, 1780-1837 ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/Rom_pr.jsp![]()
ECCO - Eighteenth Century Collections Online ![]()
![]()
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://infotrac.galegroup.com/itweb/morenetuomcolum?db=ECCO![]()
Based on the English Short Title Catalogue. The complete text of nearly 150,000 English-language books from the 1700s will be made available online by 2009. [more]
Romantic Age, The ![]()
![]()
http://mulibraries.missouri.edu/search/databases/ellisonly.htm![]()
The Romantic Age includes 18 volumes of correspondence of significant British writers of the romantic era, such as Blake, Burns, Shelley, Maria Edgeworth, Jane Austen, Samuel Wesley. See http://www.nlx.com/titles/title17.htm. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library [more]
- Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
- The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
- If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
- Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog