Arts & Humanities : English Language & Literature : Renaissance Literature

Core Resources

This guide lists resources that focus on British Renaissance literature. Be sure to see the guide to English Language and Literature for more general resources.

Databases for Articles

Databases for Renaissance Literature
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.worldshakesbib.org/
  
International in scope, The World Shakespeare Bibliography Online covers Shakespeare-related scholarship and theatrical productions published or produced worldwide between 1961 and 2008. Publications range from 1961 to 2008. [more]

Journals

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Renaissance Literature
Library Catalogs
Incunabula Short Title Catalogue
http://www.bl.uk/catalogues/istc/index.html
  
The ISTC is an international project to record every item printed with movable type prior to 1501.

Websites
Luminarium Anthology of English Literature
http://www.luminarium.org/
  
Luminarium is a collection of English literary works from the Medieval through the Restoration era, with links to some basic background information.

Mr. William Shakespeare and the Internet
http://shakespeare.palomar.edu/
  

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Renaissance Literature
Dictionaries
Dictionary of Shakespeare Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t57&subject=s13
  

Shakespeare Glossary Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/initRefShelfSearch.do?initialise=true&listType=shakespeare
  

Background Resources and Research Guides
Elizabethan World Reference Library Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9781414410388&v=2.1&u=morenetuomcolum&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w
  

Oxford Companion to Shakespeare Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.oxfordreference.com/views/BOOK_SEARCH.html?book=t117&subject=s13
  

Renaissance: An Encyclopedia for Students Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://go.galegroup.com/ps/i.do?id=GALE|9780684314242&v=2.1&u=morenetuomcolum&it=aboutBook&p=GVRL&sw=w
  

Books/E-books
British Library Catalogue of Illuminated Manuscripts
http://www.bl.uk/catalogues/illuminatedmanuscripts/welcome.htm
  
The Catalogue lists some of the medieval and renaissance manuscripts from the British Library collections. It includes both descriptions and images.

Digital Scriptorium
http://www.scriptorium.columbia.edu/
  
Digital Scriptorium is an image database of medieval and renaissance manuscripts from many diverse collections.

English Short Title Catalogue
http://estc.bl.uk
  
The ESTC lists works printed ca. 1473-1800 in the British Isles, Colonial America, United States, Canada, and other territories governed by Britain, regardless of language, and works in English and other British vernaculars printed elsewhere. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library. [more]

Renaissance English Drama, 1500-1660 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/Ren_dr.jsp
  

Renaissance English Poetry, 1500-1660 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/Ren_po.jsp
  

Renaissance English Prose, 1500-1660 Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://lion.chadwyck.com/contents/volumes-uk/Ren_pr.jsp
  

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog