Background Information
- Encyclopedia of Religion. Mircea Eliade, Editor in Chief.
Ready Reference BL 41.E36 2005
This multivolume encyclopedia is an excellent source of background information on the religions of the world from a comparative point of view. The reader can look up individual religions or investigate religious concepts or practices, and see how various religions have addressed them. The previous edition of thiw work sits in the regular Reference section.
- The encyclopedia of African and African-American religions. Stephen D. Glazier, editor.
Reference BL2462.5 .E53 2001
- Encyclopedia of Religion in American Politics. Edited by Jeffrey D. Schultz et al.
Reference BL2525 .E52 1999
- Encyclopedia of Native American shamanism : sacred ceremonies of North America. William S. Lyon. Reference E98 .M4 L98 1998
- Encyclopedia of Religion and Society. Edited by William H. Swatos, Jr. et al. (online).
This encyclopedia is written from the perspective of anthropologists, sociologists and psychologists.
- To find more specialized encyclopedias, including encyclopedias of indivisual religions and denominations, try a keyword search in MERLIN. Combine the word encyclopedias with other words or word stems, e.g. encyclopedias and hindu*.
- Sacred Texts: Religion. David Wiley, Webmaster. http://davidwiley.com/religion.html.
This simple web page links to sacred texts from the world religions, including texts of the Early Church Fathers and apocrypha.
- English-language Bibles are located in the library at call numbers beginning with BS 125 and continuing through BS 198. Some Bibles may be checked out; others reside on the Reference shelves.
- To locate copies of other sacred texts, do a Title Search in the library catalog.