Arts & Humanities : Religious Studies
Core ResourcesDatabases for Articles
eBooks / Books
Databases for ArticlesDatabases for Religious Studies
ATLA Religion is the database focusing mainly on religious topics. Additional databases contain articles from other scholarly disciplines touching on religion, or articles on religious topics among other topics.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search every word in over 200 encyclopedias and reference books covering all disciplines, including the Encyclopedia of Bioethics, the Encyclopedia of Cancer, the Cambridge Historical Dictionary of Disease, the Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior, The Encyclopedia of Sociology, and many more. A complete list of titles can be found here. The text can be translated into Spanish, French, German, Italianb, Portuguese, Japanese, Simplified Chinese, or Korean. English language MP3 audiofiles are also available from the Tools menu. [more]
ATLA Religion Database
ATLA Religion Database contains citations from 3 print indexes published annually by ATLA (American Theological Library Association). Coverage is 1949 to date. [more]
Search the complete text of 11 journals from the American Anthopological Association, including Medical Anthropology Quarterly. [more]
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Bibliography of Asian Studies is an index to western-language monographs, articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971. [more]
Human Relations Area File
Human Relations Area File covers cultural anthropology, ethnographies of world cultures, especially developing countries and some U.S. immigrant groups. [more]
International Medieval Bibliography (IMB)
IMB covers all subjects pertaining to the European Middle Ages, covering Europe, the Middle East and North Africa in the period 400-1500. The database includes over 300,000 articles from about 4500 periodicals and 5000 volumes of conference proceedings, essay collections, Festschriften and exhibition catalogues in many languages. [more]
A full-text database consisting of the Arts and Sciences I, II, III, IV, Ecology & Botany and General Science Collections which provide access to the back files of over 300 scholarly journals. Areas included are history, sociology, business, economics, ecology, literature, mathematics, music, political science, population studies, Asian studies, philanthropy and finance. Coverage begins with volume one of each title and continues to within 4-5 years of the present. [more]
Luther's Sermons offers searchable full-text of a collection of sermons of Martin Luther (1483-1546). Edited and translated by John Nicholas Lenker. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library. [more]
Luther's Works contains the translated works of Martin Luther in searchable, online full-text. CD-ROM only accessible within Ellis Library. [more]
Online Medieval Sources Bibliography
This database provides a searchable bibliography of texts that were written in the Middle Ages and are now available in printed or online editions and translations. [more]
Covers books and 300 philosophy journals on aesthetics, epistemology, ethics, logic, and metaphysics; as well as the philosophies of various disciplines, such as medicine, education, history, law, religion and science. [more]
PORTAL: The British Academy's Online Directory of Research Resources in the Humanities and Social Sciences
PORTAL covers the whole spectrum of the humanities and social sciences from the history of art to geographical information systems, and from labor history to the indigenous languages of Latin America. [more]
Project Muse provides full-text access to more than 100 scholarly journal titles from the Johns Hopkins University Press and other University presses covering the Humanities, Social Sciences, and Mathematics. [more]
JournalsJournals for Religious Studies
Tips for finding journals and journal articles
Browse Journals on Humanities
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources OnlineOther Resources Online for Religious Studies
A good source for statistical and geographic information on the religions and religious movements of the world. Data is taken from both primary research sources such as government census reports, statistical sampling surveys and organizational reporting, as well as citations from secondary literature which mention adherent statistics.
American Religion Data Archive
Also Known as: ARDA
Funded by the Lilly Endowment, Inc., and housed at Penn State University, the ARDA collection includes denominational family trees, data on churches and church membership, religious professionals, religious groups and the public opinion on religious matters. Document types include maps, tables, graphs, survey questionnaires and learning modules. [more]
Documenta Catholica Omnia
Also Known as: Multilanguage Catholic E-Books Database
Lists holidays for many world religions, by date, for several years into the future.
Pew Forum on Religion & Public Life
Theological Journals Search - Google Custom Search
Cross-search of 300+ theology and religious studies journals available in full text online. Mainly English-language content. Maintained by Sally Jo Shelton, University Librarian at Oral Roberts University.
eBooks / BookseBooks / Books for Religious Studies
Encyclopedia of Religion, 2nd Edition
The online version of the multi-volume standard Religious Studies encyclopedia. The encyclopedia takes a cross-cultural approach and focuses on religion's role within everyday life.
The e-books project is seeking to make wisdom from the past accessible for Christians world wide in a way that allows rapid discovery of the relevant sections of the text on the one hand and a full preservation of the original document in image format on the other.
Internet Sacred Text Archive
Also Known as: ISTA
Site description: "This site is a freely available archive of electronic texts about religion, mythology, legends and folklore, and occult and esoteric topics. Texts are presented in English translation and, where possible, in the original language."
King James Bible
Tips for finding books