Health Sciences Library Health Sciences Library MU Libraries University of Missouri-Columbia

Health & Medicine : Pulmonary Disease

Databases for Articles

Databases for Pulmonary Disease
Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (EBM Reviews) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=basic&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=coch
  
Includes the full text of the regularly updated systematic reviews of the effects of healthcare prepared by The Cochrane Collaboration. The reviews are presented in two types: includes both completed reviews and protocols for reviews in progress. EBM Reviews is integrated with Ovid MEDLINE. When browsing MEDLINE results, click on "Topic Review" to see the related Cochrane review. [more]

EBM Reviews - Cochrane Controlled Trials Register Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=basic&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=cctr
  
Contains over 300,000 bibliographic references to controlled trials in health care which have been identified in MEDLINE and EMBASE and hand searches by members of the Cochrane Collaboration. Over 4000 of the trials included were published prior to 1966, and therefore would not be found in MEDLINE. [more]

Evidence Updates
http://plus.mcmaster.ca/evidenceupdates
  
A searchable database of the best evidence from 110 premier clinical journals. A network of clinicians evaluates methodologically sound articles for clinical relevance and newsworthiness. Only articles that have been favorably evaluated by at least 3 clinicians are included. Users can also receive either daily or weekly email updates.

MEDLINE (Ovid) Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=main&NEWS=N&D=mesd
  
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

PubMed Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/entrez/query.fcgi?otool=umochsclib&dr=abstract
  
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]

Scopus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.scopus.com
  
Search 33 million journal articles, cited references, and patents. Cover-to-cover indexing 1996-date for 14,000 (mostly scientific) journals, with some retrospective coverage compiled from cited references and free web sources. Compile a table of citation counts for a given author showing cited references by year. Discover the h-index for a given author. Search for all cited references for a given author, just a combination of selected references, or a single reference, with an option to exclude self-citations. Locate an article to see Findit@Mu links to all its cited references. [more]

Journals

Journals for Pulmonary Disease
Browse Journals on Respiratory and Pulmonary Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://mulibraries.1cate.com/?category=med.resppul
  

Tips for finding journals and journal articles
  • Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
  • Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab

Other Resources Online

Other Resources Online for Pulmonary Disease
AMA Doctor Finder
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://webapps.ama-assn.org/doctorfinder/home.html
  
A directory of virtually every licensed physician in the United States. Search the 650,000+ entries by name and medical specialty.

American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS): Who's Certified
https://www.abms.org/WC/login.aspx
  

Also Known as: abms ; american board of medical specialties
Verify the physician certification status by one or more of the 24 ABMS member boards, or obtain a list of board certified specialists in a given state or city. Free registration required. Additional biographical details and contact information on the listed specialists is available from the print directory shelved behind the information desk in the Health Sciences Library.

Clinical Cases and Images: A Case-Based Curriculum of Clinical Medicine
http://clinicalcases.blogspot.com/
  
Presents clinical cases, procedure videos, diagnostic images, and answers to clinical questions, all designed to bridge the gap between textbooks and real life in the clinic and on the ward. Created by Cleveland Clinic and Case Western Reserve University. Presented in blog/RSS format. Site content can be translated into 9 languages, including Arabic, Russian, and Chinese.

Congress Resource Centre (CRC): Doctor's Guide Global Edition
http://www.docguide.com/crc.nsf/web-bySpec
  
Access information about medical conferences and meeting events in 83 countries searchable by medical specialty, location, and date.

DailyMed
http://dailymed.nlm.nih.gov/dailymed/about.cfm
  

Drug Information Portal from the National Library of Medicine
http://druginfo.nlm.nih.gov/drugportal/drugportal.jsp
  
[more]

MEDLINE Evidence Based Search Filters
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://library.muhealth.org/search/articles/EBMfilters.htm
  
Use these links to target methodologically sound, evidence-based journal articles in MEDLINE. Choose from therapeutics, diagnosis, etiology or prognosis; then combine the result with the subject of interest. [more]

New Cochrane Reviews
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://ovidsp.ovid.com/ovidweb.cgi?T=JS&MODE=ovid&PAGE=titles&D=coch&SEARCH=new.uf.+and+systematic+review.pt.&NEWS=N
  
New and newly revised systematic reviews from the most recent quarterly update to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews.

University of Missouri Health Care Office of Clinical Effectiveness
http://www.muhealth.org/outcomes/
  
Develops and publishes practice guidelines and patient care algorithms for the University of Missouri Health Sciences Center, using the techniques of evidence-based medicine and continuous quality improvement. Currently available guidelines include: myocardial infarction, acute pancreatitis, congestive heart failure, community acquired pneumonia, intrauterine growth retardation (IUGR), medical error reduction, pneumonia & sepsis in fullterm newborns, pediatric asthma, and venous thromoboembolism (VTE).

eBooks / Books

eBooks / Books for Pulmonary Disease
AccessMedicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com
  
Search a collection of over 50 books in clinical medicine and the basic sciences, including Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, Current Medical Diagnosis and Treatment, Hurst's The Heart, and many more. Click on My AccessMedicine to register for a free password which entitles you to use the Lange self-assessment tool for board preparation, PDA chapter downloads, and podcasts. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. Please logout when finished searching. To locate more recent articles which cite a referenced article, enter the PMID article Identifier here.

ACP Medicine Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.acpmedicine.com
  
Formerly Scientific American Medicine. Contains the full text of the 3-volume loose-leaf of the same name, which covers 15 internal medicine subspecialties. It provides coverage of developments in clinical medicine and is updated quarterly. Coverage includes patient management, clinical diagnosis, basic medical science and drug regimens. To locate more recent articles which cite a referenced article, enter the PMID article Identifier here.

Clinical Evidence Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.clinicalevidence.com/ceweb/index.jsp
  
A compendium of evidence on the effects of common clinical interventions in a variety of medical specialties, from the publishers of the British Medical Journal. Summarizes the current state of knowledge, ignorance, and uncertainty about the prevention and treatment of a wide range of clinical conditions based on thorough searches and appraisal of the literature. Updated monthly.

Current Diagnosis & Treatment in Pulmonary Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=37
  

Diagnosaurus Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/diag.aspx
  
A differential diagnosis tool from McGraw-Hill and CogniQ, included with Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. [more]

Harrison's Manual of Medicine
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://find.galegroup.com/gvrl/infomark.do?type=aboutBook&prodId=GVRL&eisbn=0071476822&version=1.0&userGroupName=morenetuomcolum&source=gale
  
A concise companion to Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine.

Harrisons Online Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www3.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=4
  
The complete text and illustrations of the 16th edition from 2004 of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine textbook, with weekly updates. Drug names are hotlinked to drug information from Clinical Pharmacology. [more]

Merck Manual of Diagnosis and Therapy
http://www.merck.com/mmpe/index.html
  
The complete text, including tables and figures, of this popular handbook of internal medicine.

Murray and Nadel's: Textbook of Respiratory Medicine Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.maheclibrary.org/DirectLink.php?url=http://home.mdconsult.com/das/book/view/1288
  
Jump to fulltext from the table of contents or the index. Resource brought to you by the MAHEC Digital Library. These links take up to a minute to load. Please logout when finished.

PIER Physician Information and Education Resource Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://online.statref.com/default.asp?grpalias=BCR
  
An evidence based decision support tool from the American College of Physicians. The level of evidence is clearly indicated for all recommendations. Please logout when finished searching. MyNCBI account holders can link to articles and ordering options via Findit@MU. To locate more recent articles which cite a referenced article, enter the PMID article Identifier here.

Pulmonary Physiology Restricted to faculty, students, and staff at The University of Missouri
http://proxy.mul.missouri.edu:2048/login?url=http://www.accessmedicine.com/resourceTOC.aspx?resourceID=98
  

UCSF Hospitalist Handbook
http://www.meistermed.com/isilodepot/isilodocs/isilodoc_s_ucsf_hospitalist_handbook.htm
  
[more]

UpToDate Available only from within the Health Sciences Library.
https://healthlibrary.missouri.edu/secure/UpToDate/goto_UpToDate.cfm
  
Aims to provide instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked clinical questions. Over 270 journals and other sources are regularly scanned and synthesized into topic reviews designed to provide current answers to clinical questions. Overall, these original topic reviews consist of over 40,000 pages of text and over 10,000 graphics covering the following areas: Internal Medicine, Adult Primary Care, Cardiology, Drug Information, Endocrinology & Diabetes, Family Practice, Gastroenterology & Hepatology, Gynecology, Hematology, Infectious Diseases, Nephrology & Hypertension, Neurology, Obstetrics, Oncology, Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation, Pulmonary & Critical Care Medicine, Rheumatology, Emergency Medicine and Women's Health. To locate more recent articles which cite a referenced article, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here.

Tips for finding books
  • Looking for a specific book? Try the Book Finder
    • The Book Finder first searches in the MERLIN catalog.
    • If no resources are found in MERLIN, the search moves to the MOBIUS catalog (a catalog of many Missouri libraries).
  • Need to search for a book by keyword or topic? Search the MERLIN catalog