Health & Medicine : Public Health
Core ResourcesDatabases for Articles
Other Resources Online
- Healthy People
- National Center for Health Statistics
- State Health Facts Online
More Other Resources Online...
Databases for ArticlesDatabases for Public Health
Also Known as: CAB Abstracts; CABI
Comprehensive international coverage of agriculture and veterinary sciences. Includes all items listed in Index Veterinarius, Animal Breeding Abstracts, Dairy Science Abstracts, Global Health, and 23 other abstracts journals covering all aspects of agriculture and related fields. Links to fulltext are available for some recent articles. NOTE: to search older literature 1900-1972, mark both CAB ABSTRACTS and CAB ABSTRACTS ARCHIVE before beginning to search. [more]
Encyclopedia of Research Design
Also Known as: Sage encyclopedia of research design
An encyclopedia of information on quantitative and qualitative research design, research methods, statistics and mathematical concepts used in research. Includes reviews of tools and articles that have had an impact on how research is conducted and results are analyzed.
ERIC provides access to the educational and related literature available in periodicals published worldwide and in the ERIC documents microfiche collection. Coverage is 1966 to date. [more]
Grey Literature Report - New York Academy of Medicine Library
Also Known as: nyam grey literature
Locate health policy documents from various health policy stakeholders, such as the Kaiser Foundation, the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the RAND Corporation, the Guttmacher Institute, the World Health Organization, and many more. Compiled by the library of the New York Academy of Medicine. Bimonthly updates available. [more]
The iPOLL database provides access to nearly half a million public opinion survey questions on a wide range of topics 1935 to date, including thousands of datasets with health related variables. Must enter MU e-mail address to use database. [more]
Citations and abstracts to worldwide biomedical literature including research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and healthcare services. MEDLINE references articles from about 4000 journals published in 70 countries. Evidence-based search filters are available to assist in narrowing results to methodologically rigorous articles. To run a cited reference search on an article found in MEDLINE,copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
Native Health Research Database
Indexes health-related articles, reports, surveys, and other resource documents pertaining to the health and health care of American Indians, Alaska Natives, and Canadian First Nations. Can search by tribe, state, region/province in addition to MeSH subject searches. Older literature (back to 1652) can be found in the Native Health History Database. [more]
OECD Health Statistics
Also Known as: OECD ilibrary; OECD health data; SourceOECD; Source oecd
The demand for health-related data is high. One of the main obstacles limiting meaningful analysis of health care systems has always been, and still is, the lack of sufficient coverage and availability of health care statistics. The need for internationally-comparable data is on the rise as national administrations seek to evaluate their health care systems against those of other countries. OECD Health Data 2010 aims to address a sizeable part of these needs for Member countries. The database is designed to further the knowledge of health services inputs and throughputs, highlight differences in common medical practices, help quantify key non-medical health-related factors and, in a world of financial constraints, to describe key features of each system's financing and delivery mechanisms.
PsycINFO with PsycARTICLES
Also Known as: psychological abstracts
PsycINFO contains references to articles in more than 1,300 periodicals as well as technical reports, dissertations, and other materials in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences. With the inclusion of PsycARTICLES, over 149,000 full-text articles from more than 70 journals published by the American Psychological Association and participating publishers are provided. [more]
The National Library of Medicine's free article search engine, containing article references from MEDLINE, PreMEDLINE, OLDMEDLINE, plus some publisher-supplied and out of scope citations from certain general science and chemistry journals, such as Science and Nature. MU users have enhanced MEDLINE search capabilities available to them in Ovid MEDLINE. MeSH subject indexing is not available for very new citations or for citations older than 1966. To run a cited reference search on an article found in PubMed, copy and paste the PMID article Identifier here. [more]
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources, including open access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, abstracts, and patent records. [more]
Also Known as: sociology
Indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. Search and display cited references for key journals published since 2001, and all journals since 2004. Each individual cited reference may also link to an abstract and/or to other papers that cite that reference. Formerly known as Sociofile. [more]
A companion to the TRI Toxic Release Inventory. A geographic information system which provides maps showing the release of toxic chemicals over a geographic area. Search by chemical name, chemical name fragment, and/or location (such as city, state, or zip code). [more]
World Health Organization Library Database (WHOLIS)
Indexes all World Health Organization publications from 1948 to date, plus articles from WHO-produced journals and technical documents since 1985. [more]
JournalsJournals for Public Health
Tips for finding journals and journal articles
Browse Journals on Public Health
Core Public Health Journals
Core list of public health journals developed by the PH/HA section of the Medical Library Association.
- Looking for a specific article or journal? Try the Journal/Article Finder
- Need to search for articles by keyword or topic? Try Databases in the Databases tab
Other Resources OnlineOther Resources Online for Public Health
Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry (ATSDR)
An agency of the Public Health Service in the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Its mission is to prevent exposure and adverse human health effects and diminished quality of life associated with exposure to hazardous substances from waste sites, unplanned releases, and other sources of pollution present in the environment. The homepage provides access points for ATSDR Datasets/Resources such as the HazDat Database, toxicology information, health studies and registries, health education and communication, the Hazardous Substances & Public Health newsletter, a Primer on Health Risk Communication Principles and Practices, congressional testimony and reports to Congress, and access to other related organizations and internet resources.
American Indian Health
Provides links to Web sites, documents, databases, and other resources of interest to Native Americans. From the National Library of Medicine.
America's Health Rankings
Cancer Statistics - United States
Database of promoting health effectiveness reviews (DoPHER)
Also Known as: healthevidence ca ; health evidence ca ; health-evidence canada ;healthevidence canada
Search and browse for systematic reviews in public health. Reviews have been assessed and assigned scores for methodological quality, and many have structured abstracts. From McMaster University. [more]
Healthy People offers national health objectives and health indicators to measure health. New health objectives and measures are developed and evaluated every 10 years (e.g. Healthy People 2010, Healthy People 2020).
Integrated Health Interview Series - IHIS
Also Known as: National Health Interview Survey ; NHIS
Harmonized data from the National Health Interview Survey which allows trend comparisons of over 12,000 health related variables, from health conditions to health care use and access. Extracted from the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) public use data from the National Center for Health Statistics.
One Health Initiative
The One Health Initiative seeks to enhance collaboration among physicians, veterinarians, and public-health professionals. Includes news, publications, and outbreak reports.
Public Health Image Library (PHIL)
Search and display images & multimedia files on public health topics. Most are in the public domain and may be freely used. From the Center for Disease Control.
Also Known as: scan grants
Search for grants for health services research and programs. Emphasizes private foundations, corporations, businesses, not-for profit organizations, and other nontraditional funding sources not found in grants.gov. A free service of Samaritan Health Services Center for Health Research and Quality.
State Health Facts Online
Also Known as: statehealthfacts;statehealthfacts.org
Contains latest state-level data on demographics, health, and health policy. Includes information on health coverage, access, financing and state legislation. Site allows comparison of data for all states. From the Kaiser Family Foundation.
eBooks / BookseBooks / Books for Public Health
Tips for finding books
Basic and Clinical Biostatistics
Encyclopedia of Health and Behavior
Encyclopedia of Medical Anthropology : Health and Illness in the World's Cultures
Encyclopedia of Public Health